We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Naval museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Roads Naval Museum

Hampton Roads Naval Museum
1 Waterside Drive, Ste 248, Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 322-2987
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 23 Attractions in Norfolk
Type: Military Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Boston
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Naval museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I love military machines and history and this combines both. There are airplanes hanging from the ceiling, there are interactive stations for children, it is set up with plenty of space and amazing things to see. Never crowded and always interesting

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hampton Roads Naval Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a great place to visit in the winter since it s indoors. If you want to see and learn a lot about the Navy and ships, this is the place to be. This trip is good for a half day of reading and learning with props.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Monumental heritage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Owned and operated by the United States Navy it's located on level two of "Nauticus". The museum houses a rich collection of authentic uniforms, weaponry, underwater artifacts, detailed ship models and artwork.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Blast To The Past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I recently visited the museum and it was amazing learning and hearing and seeing what soldiers went through and experienced years ago. I had a amazing time learning some wonderful history. I love going to museums and every time I go I try to learn something new. It was amazing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Overall, the museum was really interesting! I found it was geared mostly towards younger kids but nonetheless still interesting and educational. The USS Wisconsin is amazing to see and learn about. It was a very good museum to spend a couple of hours in.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hampton Roads Naval Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hampton Roads Naval Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Roads Naval Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.