We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best Mexican food i town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oro Azteca

Oro Azteca
8001 Hampton Blvd., Norfolk, VA
7574230325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 613 Restaurants in Norfolk
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout
Description: This is a new restaurant near the Joint Forces Command in Norfolk. Its near the corner of Terminal Blvd. and Hampton Blvd.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Probably the best Mexican food i town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I've eaten at probably close to a dozen Mexican joints in town in my few years here, and some of them were good, some not so much. I never even gave this place a shot, even though its just down the road from base. Half of the time it looks abandoned, so I didn't think there would be much to it. But I went in finally ... oh man. It is GOOD. The mushroom quesadilla was just ridiculous! Good vegetarian options.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, Washington
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Went for lunch. Great lunch specials. Great service! Go early. They have plenty of tables but by 11:25a there was a short wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Awesome food..very friendly staff..huge portions...great prices..you cant go wrong eating here!! Very nice atmosphere condusive to a mexican resteraunt

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Very Fast Lunch Service, 06 Sep 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

As busy as it was on this Friday at lunch, the service was very fast at Oro Azteca. Despite being alone and the small place being packed, I was seated within only a few minutes. Chips and salsa was delivered before I could open the menu and the waiter was asking what I wanted to drink. Things really move at lunch time.

My tea was promptly determined and I still hadn’t had enough time to location the lunch section of the menu. I decided on one of the lunch specials, all at very reasonable prices, and placed the order with the waiter.

The chips were served with the traditional tomato-based salsa and also a white sauce, which I was unable to determine the ingredients. The standard basket of chips is enough for a table full of patrons, so I certainly did not put a dent in it quantity. My meal arrived in less than ten minutes (one Taco, one Enchilada and Rice or $5.75).

The food quality was good; but not fantastic, and quite plentiful. I was unable to finish all the Rice.

Turnover at lunch time is very quick here and as a party finished and left their table, another party was promptly seated. The place remained packed throughout the time I was there. It is not a large place and parking wrapped around the building, which can get tight at lunchtime. The restaurant sits adjacent to a road which has a traffic light, so it is easy to make a left turn across Hampton Blvd, if you need to go north. This makes it easy for those working on the Navy Base and the Shipping Terminal.

A lot of food quickly served and very reasonably priced. Add to this easy an easy left turn onto Hampton Blvd, if needed. I’ll return for lunch again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in Norfolk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was introduced to Oro Azteca when I first arrived in Norfolk and proceeded to visit at least once every two weeks until I left (about a 6 month span). This place has great service, delicious chips and salsa, and not an item on the menu that I didn't enjoy. And did I mention the margaritas? Because they're fabulous! My favorite dish was the fajita quesadilla. Great for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oro Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oro Azteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.