We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Average Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Norfolk Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Plume Street, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Batavia, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Average Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Downtown Courtyard where we stayed for 5 nights. The property lobby area has been renovated like most Courtyards by now - the rooms are a bit worn but were clean and comfortable. We had a problem with cigarette smoke coming from the floor below, but the manager did a nice job of taking care of us and moving us to different rooms. Overall, the hotel was just your average Courtyard from a property standpoint, but the staff really made the difference. The front desk employees, especially Devon, were outstanding, friendly and easy to talk to every day. Our valets were great guys and very quick to get our car and make sure we were taken care of. We really had a fun time with the cafe staff every morning who were great to talk to and made great french toast - that the majority of the family ordered every morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with us about your recent stay. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff members. It is great to hear that our staff members made your stay a memorable experience. I too believe that our staff is what sets us apart from our competition. Thank you for your business and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    46
    36
    16
    6
See reviews for
40
43
16
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was a great place to stay. Hotel is clean and the employees were exceptional. The 2 folks at the front desk shaniqua and Rhenado could not have been kinder or more helpful. Location is great for restaurants and granby st. It is also very close to the main highways. I will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind remarks about our hotel. Our goal is to make every guest's stay as enjoyable as possible. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff members. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I wanted to like this hotel due to location and having stayed at several Courtyard brands before. It is an average hotel. Nothing spectacular other than the friendly staff. I found my room on the 6th floor to be little noisy with street and trolley sounds coming in. You have to valet park and it was not cheap. I did eat at the bistro and food was good. It is about 12-15min from airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I appreciate the positive feedback about our friendly staff and Bistro food. I apologize for any noise issues you may have experienced with the train. We had every room near the train double paned to alleviate the train noise levels. Since the installation 3 years ago, the noise levels are minimized and we rarely have any issues whatsoever. We appreciate your business and surely want to have you stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel room was average – pretty basic,it had a mini fridge, and had a window facing another building (not very scenic). We stayed for 4 days. The location of Downtown Norfolk is kinda crappy, it’s close to a mall and a few restaurants but there is construction going on almost every block, not very walkable. They kept closing roads down for construction work and it made it hard to get back to the hotel. We had to stop and get directions from the locals many times during our stay at the Courtyard.
The staff is ok overall but the front desk people were the worst. I realized I left my contact solution in my car and had to get it out the parking garage, the front desk lady had to find the valet (what is he doing at 12 and can’t be found?) and when I got my things from the car I tried to swipe my card back in and was locked out the hotel. I had to run around the hotel to get back in. I was pissed off because I asked the valet to walk with me but he said that he was busy parking cars to help.
When we left I would say that I’d rate this hotel a 3/5 for basic rooms and lazy front desk staff but the day we left we checked our credit card and noticed that we’d been billed twice. When we checked in initially there was a mixup in credit cards and we were charged on both cards- I thought this was reversed the day of but it was still “pending” 4 days later. We’re still need to contact the Marriott for a refund but try to avoid this location. Overall it was a bad experience staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am disappointed that you did not like the hotel location. Our hotel is centrally located to all that the Downtown Norfolk area has to offer including many restaurants, events and attractions. I will investigate the issues you had with our front desk and valet staff to ensure they are rectified immediately. Thank you for your business and I trust we can earn your business in the future.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed at this hotel over the weekend and had an amazing time! The hotel was decently priced and in the heart of downtown Norfolk. It is walking distance to some amazing restaurants! Rama Thai and Hobodiko (sp?) were amazing. The beach is about a 15-20 minute drive which is not too bad considering the price of the hotel.

The hotel was clean and contemporary! I loved the pool and balcony on the 6th floor. The gym was clean and well equipped.

The staff was friendly and helpful!

Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The room on the 6th floor adds for easy access to the pool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. We strive for perfection with each and every guest and we are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garysburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The staff there was great. Knowledgeable and friendly. However, we were disappointed that the cost of parking was undisclosed during booking. The upkeep of the pool and terrace could have been better also. However, we did like that it was in walking distance to McArthur Center. The view was nice and we did enjoy walking around downtown.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your recent stay. I apologize that you were not aware of the parking fees. We do disclose on all websites and reservations. I will be sure to pass along your positive comments about our staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This newer hotel is in a great location and is within walking distance of everything downtown. The room was large but the walls were kind of thin as we could easily hear everything in the room next to us. The staff was friendly; especially the valets.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank your for sharing your comments with us. We appreciate your business and are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff at our next meeting. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Address: 520 Plume Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Norfolk Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.