We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Norfolk Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Plume Street, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mons, Belgium
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Convenient location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This newer hotel is in a great location and is within walking distance of everything downtown. The room was large but the walls were kind of thin as we could easily hear everything in the room next to us. The staff was friendly; especially the valets.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank your for sharing your comments with us. We appreciate your business and are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff at our next meeting. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    54
    38
    16
    6
See reviews for
43
43
18
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel visit was wonderful. I can not say enough about the staff because it was a step above everyone else. Every staff member helped and say hi at every moment possible. When we needed something - they made it seem like we were the only ones there and we weren't. They were very accommodating and helpful to each and every request at ALL parts of the hotel - from the front desk, to the pool attendant, to the bar, to the valet. Just amazing. They only negative thing I could say is the Air Conditioner was not working properly at all in the room. When we called for service they came - and fixed it, but it was not pushing out the cool air as we would have expected it to. But I blame it on the old building, not the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms were newer and nicely decorated. 7th floor had a great view. The room was spacious and very cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us. Our goal is to make every guest's stay an enjoyable one. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff as well. I am having the engineering staff check the HVAC unit in that room to find the problem. Thank you for letting us know. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

The best thing (and it is noteworthy) was the super friendly and courteous staff...especially the valet parking attendants. The room was adequate and a good value, but definitely beginning to show some wear and tear. Regardless, it was a convenient location for my business meetings and easy to hop on the highway to Virginia Beach.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you sharing your comments about your recent stay here with us at the Courtyard Downtown Norfolk. We strive to make each and every guest's stay a comfortable one. I will be sure to share you comments with our staff.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

What a pleasure to check in here. Staff acted like they knew we were coming and everything was ready. Like all Marriott's, impeccably clean room, "can do" friendly staff. Nice little store adjacent to the counter. Surprisingly wonderful right in the heart of downtown. Walking distance to where I have meetings all week. Don't have to pay tp park at both places. Frank S. loves this place.

Room Tip: Any room. Small refrigerator to stash your cokes and insulin in. Hilton, Hampton, Sheraton eat your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Frank,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us! Our goal is to provide the highest customer service level possible to each and every guest. We thank you for your business as we know you have other choices available to you. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I've been visiting this hotel since January 2013- May 2014, and I can honestly say I LOVE IT! My husband is in the Navy and so I chose this hotel because it is fairly close to the base. The rooms are always clean, the amenities in the hotel and around it are wonderful and the staff are so so friendly. There are two in particular that are my favorite. You have Jeffrey at the front desk, who I may add is a very respectful young man. He greets you walking in and out of the lobby, even if you're just passing through. And also exceptional in making sure your stay here is as comfortable and enjoyable no matter what. And is also very funny :) And then you have Alauna at the Bistro. She has such a calm and sweet approach and she makes sure you have everything you need. And may I add, very good company :) Overall this hotel has my vote hands down!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for the kind remarks about our hotel. We appreciate all feedback and will be sure to share your experience with our staff members. Thank you for your business and we look forward to serving your future lodging needs when in Norfolk.

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very clean hotel with a friendly staff, valet parking was a plus. Right across from the MacAuther Center, and a 15 minute ride to their beach. Breakfast was delicious as they serve Starbucks in their Bistro. Would definitely visit again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your recent stay with us. We work hard to ensure every guest has a positive experience. We will use your feedback as further training for our staff members. Thank you for your business and look forward to serving you future lodging needs when in Norfolk.

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very clean and comfortable, have stayed here any time I am in Norfolk and will always return. Directly across the street from a mall so very convenient to food and shopping. Walking distance to the Norva concert venue. Keep in mind that there is a $19 parking fee per night, but it is safe and secure onsite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley D, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks about your recent stay here with us at the Courtyard Downtown Norfolk. We appreciate your business! I will be sure to share your comments with the staff as a part of our ongoing training process. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs while in Norfolk.

Sincerely,

Wesley Dove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Address: 520 Plume Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#9 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Norfolk Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.