We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Norfolk Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Plume Street, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great, straightforward hotel for Business Travelers. Nothing posh but certainly very comfortable, clean, large rooms.

Free WiFi - worked a treat in my room.

Staff were very helpful.

The Mall opposite is ideal with an easy walk to the harbor.

Price seemed about right. Thank guys.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nobbyneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Parrow, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for staying with us while in Norfolk. Happy to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. Our location is in the heart of downtown and accessible to many attractions. I am so glad our staff made your stay enjoyable!

Hope to see you again when traveling to Norfolk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Glen Allen, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stay one night. Have been staying with Marriott with business trips before retired. Always Like its cleanliness, comfort bed and friendly staff. This time is no differ. Definetly will stay with Marriott again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, Director of Sales at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi Marilyn,

Thank you for the kind words. We take great pride in the Courtyard Downtown Norfolk. I hope we see you again in your travels to Norfolk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I would not return to this Marriott, though the staff was very nice. There was no help with luggage, and was not at all friendly to older people (the accommodations, not the people) . The sheets and towels were horrible;thin and scratchy. There was a coffee maker with one regular and one decaf packet, the coffee was dirt like at best. It is not a hotel friendly to having to get up and out early. There is no access to room service or coffee before 7am, absolutely nothing there that helped to support a rushed morning. There is no truly close restaurant or store , so be ready for a hike if you forgot to bring anything with you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Parrow, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard. Thank you for your positive comments. Our staff takes great pride in exceeding our guests expectations. We hope to see you again when you travel to Norfolk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It was a pleasure staying at the Courtyard, and we will definitely return if we’re ever in the area again. The entire staff was extremely pleasant and helpful, especially those working on Saturday evening when we checked in. The valet and the young lady at the front desk were very accommodating, and helped answer some of the questions we had about the area. My husband and I had just attended a graduation at ODU and were looking for a place to have dinner with our 3 year old, and we were very happy to find the Bistro on the main level. The food was excellent, all of the staff were friendly and we were happy that we could take everything to our room and relax. The rooms were very comfortable, spacious and clean.

We didn't stay long enough to be able to comment on some of the other amenities offered and the nearby attractions, but it is very close to the shopping mall, restaurants, etc. My sister was attending ODU and the campus is only about 10-15 minutes away.

Thank you again for the high level of service received. After staying in some less-than-desirable places in the area, we definitely consider the Courtyard to be one of the premier hotels in Norfolk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Parrow, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard. Thank you for your positive comments. Our staff takes great pride in exceeding our guests expectations. We hope to see you again when you travel to Norfolk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Everything was fantastic about our one night stay at this downtown Norfolk hotel property. The room was clean, the beds were comfy and the staff responsive.
The only issue is the daily valet only option parking fee is the equivalent of being held up. I am sure there is a good reason for the charge being so high, but it will add $20. Per day to your bill.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much and so glad you enjoyed your stay. We're happy that our parking fees are still the least expensive in the downtown Norfolk market. Hope to see you soon in your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

From check-in to check-out, I had a superb experience at this property in Downtown Norfolk. I was on a trip to Norfolk, Virginia for liesurely activities. The location of this hotel was in the heart of Downtown. Restaurants and shopping were in short walking distance. I was impressed with the speedy check-in process and the eagerness of the staff to give suggestions to improve our stay in the area. The room was in perfect condition with a nice view of Downtown. I was also pleased to learn we were conveniently located by the stop for the Tide, which is a lightrail service that helped us get around easily. As for the hotel itself, the lobby was very convenient, as well as the rooftop lounge and the pool area. We also enjoyed the breakfast cafe downstairs with a variety of tasty treats. I was very impressed and look forward to staying at this property again.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors were my preference to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was easy to find and check in was a breeze. The mall and tons of restaurants were a couple of blocks away. I use the Courtyard brand a lot for business and am rarely disappointed. The rooms are always clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Might want a room opposite of Plume Street. The train can be a bit disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkedcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn A, Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments! So glad you had a good time in downtown Norfolk. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Address: 520 Plume Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Courtyard
Norfolk Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing