We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel in Downtown Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Norfolk Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Plume Street, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Chapel Hill, NC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel in Downtown Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Do you like the sound of the streetcar going by your window most of the night? I kind of liked it, although I can see how it might drive some people crazy. Norfolk has a new trolly symstem that runs rights past the hotel and ding, ding, ding goes the trolley. In other respects, this is a nice hotel that is comfortably appointed. My only odd complaint is that Courtyard advertises that it is a hote for business people. That makes sense in that they do not have a pool or other things business people may not have time for. But they also have a shortage of electrical outlets, and I found that a problem. No outlet near the head of the bed. One outlet at the desk. I found that odd and inconvenient. The restaurant is really a quick meal place for breakfast. The menu is very limited and heavy on bread (e.g., breakfast sandwiches). But the staff is very friendly and quick. There are other restaurants for dinner withing walking distance, but for breakfast, this is pretty much your only choice.

Room Tip: Ask when you check in whether your room is on the street side in case you don't enjoy the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    51
    37
    16
    6
See reviews for
43
43
18
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Marriott Courtyard are a fine niche propert for gues who need a well presented functional hotel without a lot of destination hotel services and amenities.

This particular hotel stood out to us for the attitude of the staff which was both professional and friendly at every interaction and level.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I recently had the opportunity to get away for one night in nearby Norfolk. The Courtyard was in a great location, clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful, Our room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and all in all the room was perfect for the occaision. We enjoyed a light bite to eat at the Bistro in the evening and then breakfast there in the morning. Both were very tasty. I would recommend this hotel to either business or personal travel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

From the time we were greeted at the entrance(before we even got out of our truck) till when we left, the staff was great! There was never a time that I did not see a smile on their face. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. Any concerns we had were taken care of very quickly and courtiously. We will continue to use the Courtyard Norfolk Downtown and tell all of our friends to give it a try.Thank You for making our trip a very pleasent one.

Room Tip: Stay on the side closest to McArthur Mall. The train passing to the front of hotel can bother some p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, va
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I travel a lot, and am in hotels maybe 100 nights a year, from 5 star places in Paris and Park City UT to roadside hovels in the middle of Louisiana. I can tell you that the staff at your hotel are among the best trained, most polite, most helpful people in any hotel I have ever stayed at. You are doing something right. The rooms are clean, and the cleaning ladies polite. The front desk women are awesome! The breakfast bar people are super nice. Your parking attendants are superb. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I had a great experience at the Courtyard Norfolk Downtown. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My room was great…..super clean and comfortable. I stayed at this hotel several years back and I really like the new lobby. It is very classy but comfortable at the same time. The Starbucks coffee was a huge plus with me as well. I will definitely be back very soon!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Been staying here for the past 3 years off and on for business. Great place to stay. Very convenient for downtown; it is literally right next to McArthur Mall. The rooms are clean, and the staff is friendly. The lobby is newly renovated and the Bistro serves good food quick. Lots of amenities including free wifi and fitness center.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Address: 520 Plume Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Norfolk Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.