We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fireworks and Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town Point Park

Town Point Park
Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 56 things to do in Norfolk
Attraction details
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fireworks and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Was stuck in Norfolk for a day while Hurrican Arthur moved off the Outer Banks. We spent the entire day near Town Point Park, visiting the Nauticus center, taking a waterside tour of the naval shipyard (worth every penny, serious firepower!), eating at Joe's Crab Shack (and Jimmy John's up the street from Nauticus), and watching a day-late fireworks display on the waterfront. Such a cool area! And, there's a ferry to and from Portsmouth, where there is extra entertainment, food and activities for everyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Interesting area on the waterfront.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Entertainment and events for all ages of the family. Felt safe and enjoyed some of the music provided. The time we were there it was not elbow to elbow, so we could pleasurably mosey around and enjoy the events and sights.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank uss-tanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
“Fireworks this year were horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have been attending the 4th of July fireworks show for the last 5 years and this year (2014) was the worst ever. Very boring and even the grand finale was nothing spectacular. Not sure if they switched companies or not but last year it was much better. Would have rather went to the one down at the oceanfront.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tigerw9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and nice walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you are in downtown Norfolk, you must take a walk by the waterfront and enjoy the area! It is peaceful and the view is great! You will see all sorts of boats and enjoy the mermaid statues. There a couple of nice restaurants if you are hungry. Family friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tripper12312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2014 bayou boogaloo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The location is great, the music was fabulous..BUT...$24 for what amounted to a little over 2lbs of boiled crawfish was a ripoff and what I consider price gouging...I am from La and I was deeply disappointed that Shaggy was "shagging us"

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mudbugmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Point Park also viewed

 

Been to Town Point Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing