We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fireworks and Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town Point Park

Town Point Park
Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 29 Attractions in Norfolk
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fireworks and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Was stuck in Norfolk for a day while Hurrican Arthur moved off the Outer Banks. We spent the entire day near Town Point Park, visiting the Nauticus center, taking a waterside tour of the naval shipyard (worth every penny, serious firepower!), eating at Joe's Crab Shack (and Jimmy John's up the street from Nauticus), and watching a day-late fireworks display on the waterfront. Such a cool area! And, there's a ferry to and from Portsmouth, where there is extra entertainment, food and activities for everyone.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Interesting area on the waterfront.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Entertainment and events for all ages of the family. Felt safe and enjoyed some of the music provided. The time we were there it was not elbow to elbow, so we could pleasurably mosey around and enjoy the events and sights.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
“Fireworks this year were horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We have been attending the 4th of July fireworks show for the last 5 years and this year (2014) was the worst ever. Very boring and even the grand finale was nothing spectacular. Not sure if they switched companies or not but last year it was much better. Would have rather went to the one down at the oceanfront.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and nice walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you are in downtown Norfolk, you must take a walk by the waterfront and enjoy the area! It is peaceful and the view is great! You will see all sorts of boats and enjoy the mermaid statues. There a couple of nice restaurants if you are hungry. Family friendly.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
2 reviews
“2014 bayou boogaloo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The location is great, the music was fabulous..BUT...$24 for what amounted to a little over 2lbs of boiled crawfish was a ripoff and what I consider price gouging...I am from La and I was deeply disappointed that Shaggy was "shagging us"

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Point Park also viewed

 

Been to Town Point Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Point Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.