We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting area on the waterfront.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Town Point Park

Town Point Park
Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 64 Attractions in Norfolk
Attraction details
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Interesting area on the waterfront.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Entertainment and events for all ages of the family. Felt safe and enjoyed some of the music provided. The time we were there it was not elbow to elbow, so we could pleasurably mosey around and enjoy the events and sights.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
1 review
“Fireworks this year were horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have been attending the 4th of July fireworks show for the last 5 years and this year (2014) was the worst ever. Very boring and even the grand finale was nothing spectacular. Not sure if they switched companies or not but last year it was much better. Would have rather went to the one down at the oceanfront.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and nice walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you are in downtown Norfolk, you must take a walk by the waterfront and enjoy the area! It is peaceful and the view is great! You will see all sorts of boats and enjoy the mermaid statues. There a couple of nice restaurants if you are hungry. Family friendly.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“2014 bayou boogaloo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The location is great, the music was fabulous..BUT...$24 for what amounted to a little over 2lbs of boiled crawfish was a ripoff and what I consider price gouging...I am from La and I was deeply disappointed that Shaggy was "shagging us"

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Great location for festivals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Over the years, I have spent many weekends at Town Point Park in Norfolk. I live in Hampton and happily make the trek from the peninsula to southside to go to Town Point Park. Early June, our visit to Town Point Park was for Harborfest. My husband and I got there by noon on Friday in time for the Parade of Sails. The park looked sharp. It was kept clean and there were plenty of trash receptacles. The portable toilets were clean and stocked with supplies. As the day progressed, the crowds increased and the park was still being looked after by teams of workers. We spent the night at a very nearby restaurant and enjoyed Saturday at the Park, too. A couple weekends later found us back at the park for the Bayou Boogaloo Cajun Fest. For some reason this festival is not free. The Park had the same high quality control and children were having fun at the ground fountains, running in and out of the water jets. I miss Waterside being available to come in and cool off, and hopefully it will be rebuilt into the great place it once was.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Point Park also viewed

 

Been to Town Point Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Point Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.