We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3.5 rating...better than average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites at Lake Wright

Save Saved
You added Quality Suites at Lake Wright to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Suites at Lake Wright
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6280 Northhampton Blvd., Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“A 3.5 rating...better than average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed here for a special event weekend in early June. Hotel was packed. Rate of $90/night (average), seemed a bit steep to us for a Quality Inn. But location was acceptable...easy access on/from expressway, three miles from one of our special events, 15 minutes from VB boardwalk where we enjoyed the annual Boardwalk Art Show and Festival and lodging at VB oceanfront was "off the charts". The Quality Inn and the Sleep Inn are connected. Appealing from outside...located in front of a golf course. Check in was smooth. Free wireless was appreciated. The lobby was very open and airy. The windows in the lobby area open up to the appealing indoor/outdoor pool area, which we didn't get a chance to use. Pet friendly hotel and a bit pet smelly in the hallways. When opened door of two room suite guest room, there was a whiff of cigarette smoke in the air. Called front desk to request another deodorizing. Sleeper sofa in 'living room of guest room', refrig, microwave and coffee pot. Two televisions in suite. Breakfast was plentiful and much better than experiences at other lodging in this category. Although dining area is small there are many other areas to dine in the hotel (such as the outdoor pool area, or dining area of the Sleep Inn or one or more of the conference rooms that aren't in use). Comfortable beds. Air conditioning worked okay and wasn't 'too' loud. Would I stay again? If I get a better price, probably so.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quality Suites at Lake Wright, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thanks for staying with us, our guests' comments are important to us and we appreciate them.
A note on pricing, it is of course relative to season and availability. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    30
    8
    5
    11
See reviews for
33
14
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bent mountain, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here as part of a bus trip tour. Very reasonable price. Good location. Everything was clean. Didn't have a chance to try out the pool. Breakfast is very good, but dining area is too small to accommodate guests. So you are directed to a very shabby and unattractive meeting room. And forget about trying to eat dinner there. The food is actually pretty good, but the service is awful. Even though the motel knew about our bus tour group, they were totally unprepared for us at dinner and breakfast. The service was so bad, that most of the bus group ate elsewhere for dinner the next night. I stayed behind, and my husband and I were the only ones there for dinner, and the service was still horrible. The bartender and waitress were watching Wheel of Fortune, and we had to wait through an entire puzzle, before the waitress turned around and noticed we were there. It's very offputting for the waitress to have her back to the entrance. The AC doesn't reach into the sitting room area of the suite. The sound of it cutting on is so loud that it wakes you up;,,,then you get too cold and turn the thermostat up, only to wake up from being too hot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Quality Suites at Lake Wright, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you taking the time to list the good and the not so good, it is how we learn. Accommodating large groups for food and beverage is difficult when your dining area is designed for 60 people at a time. Arrangements are made to seat large groups in a meeting room, I apologize that this did not work for you. The service in the restaurant however is inexcusable, regardless of the number of guest in the dining room, service is most always very good, not just OK or good but very good. I am embarrassed you had such a negative experience. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Booked through Priceline, after reading the outline it sounded like a great place with a wonderful breakfast.... checked in with my two boys, got to room (non smoking) and smelled of cigs and cheap wine, decided to stick it out and not complain, went to check out their great indoor heated pool ( as they stated), only to find it was out side with a greenhouse around it and the water was 60 degrees, 10min after my kids went in there lips were blue..... got out and decided to dry off in our room, turned on bathroom light/fan and all i heard is a loud squeal..... at this point i call the desk and complain , was told to call Priceline, and was told the Mgr would reply in the same manner.... Called priceline told them of my troubles, they called hotel and I was directed to leave within 10 minutes (by the front desk) if i wanted a refund..... we did, resting comfortably now at the Hampton Inn and Suites on N.Battlefield Blvd. ( I told them of my troubles and they upgraded us to a wonderful top of the line room to make up for my crummy night)...... My kids have now had the weekend getaway I intended to have in the first place.. Thanks Hampton Inn, Quality Suites, you are far from Quality.........

Room Tip: dont stay here~
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Quality Suites at Lake Wright, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
We are sorry you did not find what you 'expected' at our Quality Suites. As a note we check the pool temperature daily and it is always in the low 80's. However since you declined another room and just wanted to leave, we agree to refund Priceline your room rate. The condition was that you did leave and not stay in the room so we were allowed to clean and resell the room. We are glad you found accommodations near by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed here last week due to home repairs being done. For $90 a night (triple a discount) we got 2 queen bed suite with seperate sleeper sofa seating area and 2 older model tvs. Not bad. Course my husband couldn't say anything positive but that's just him. Rooms are clean and felt safe.
Breakfast included in stay..we were given tickets. Buffet that varied daily. One day breakfast burritos, another sausage, another bacon, and even chipped beef and toast. Make your own waffle always a hit with me not a big fan of there eggs but that's just me. Offer dinner too menu looks o.k. but I didn't go for dinner there.
Nice looking pool didn't use though. I did check out fitness room...jammed packed with equit and laundry room that was adequate. Hotel advertise HBO but no HBO when we were there. It met our needs. Hotel close to airport and highway.

Room Tip: Noisy a/c can be minamized by adjusting fan speed. Will need extra blanket for bed closest to a/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Quality Suites at Lake Wright, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, glad you enjoyed your visit. Sorry about the cable,our cable company has sorted it out. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicora, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My husband and I stay here regularly when visiting his children who live in the area. We always stay in a suite and feel that it is a great price for the value. The hot breakfast is great and always has something that everyone will enjoy. The kids always enjoy the pool and having their own tv!

Room Tip: We liked staying on the first floor with a view of the pool. It's also convenient when you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy U, TripAdvisor Champion at Quality Suites at Lake Wright, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
It's always our pleasure to welcome loyal guests back to the Quality Suites at Lake Wright. There is no higher praise for us! We're glad your family enjoys the breakfast buffet and the kids have fun in the pool. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I truly love this hotel. That staff is amazing. Last time I had I was there I was checked in by the Manager on Duty Nathan...this guy describes what a customer service should be. He is so helpful! The jacuzzi rooms are great!!! I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy U, TripAdvisor Champion at Quality Suites at Lake Wright, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words. Thands so much for mentioning Nathan by name. We will be sure to pass along the compliments to him. We too, look forward to your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here for one night prior to a field hockey tournament at Virginia Wesleyan College. This hotel is literally a two minute drive to the college and just off I-64. It also has restaurants, gas stations and even drug stores less than five minutes away so the location was perfect.

The hallways and entrance foyer smelled like feet so I was a little worried at check-in. However, the room, although kind of dark with dated decor, was comfortable, large and clean. It had two queen beds in one room and a couch with another TV in the front room with an actual, closeable door! The TV's were old but worked fine. The couch was not real comfortable nor was the fold-out bed, but it wasn't bad for a fold out bed.

The room had a microwave, coffee maker and a refrigerator. It had easily accessible outlets to charge phones, DVD players and Ipods.

The breakfast did not have a lot of choices but the eggs and bacon were very good. The staff at breakfast were also very friendly.

This place worked out great for us and I will recommend it to others needing a place to stay in that area off the oceanfront.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a no smoking room b/c their were lots and lots of folks smoking at the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Suites at Lake Wright? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites at Lake Wright

Address: 6280 Northhampton Blvd., Norfolk, VA 23502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites at Lake Wright 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quality Suites at Lake Wright reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites At Lake Wright Hotel Norfolk
Quality Inn Norfolk
Quality Hotel Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites at Lake Wright, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.