We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1570 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very nice, clean hotel. The suite has a balcony. Wedding packages are also available. The staff was awesome! If you want snacks you may want to purchase them before you arrive, a small bag of chips are $2.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Elabosha,
Thank you for the wonderful reviews. We work very hard to think of all the little things guest want need or want during their stay. We are so happy that you found our little store convenient and satisfying.
We look forward to your next stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    27
    26
    5
    8
See reviews for
31
12
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Arkansas
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Needed a hotel in the Virginia Beach area for Labor Day. Most of the decent hotels in Virginia Beach are quite expensive this time of year so I decided to get an inexpensive room near the airport.

The Pros. Inexpensive compared to hotels in Virginia Beach. Close to the airport. Very convenient to the freeway. Safe location. Clean room with microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Staff was exceedingly friendly; gave directions, recommendations for eating out, and provided extra coffee and sugar upon request. Hotel has indoor pool and hot tub, as well as a decent exercise room. Near IHOP, Target and Wal Mart, so if you need to grab something that you left at home it is right down the street.

The Cons. Norfolk, with the exception of downtown, is a working class town that does not really cater to tourists. I am from a poor town and found myself thinking of just how much Norfolk reminded me of a bigger version of my hometown. I didn't see any nice restaurants near the hotel. Housekeeping did not clean my room either of the three days I was there. I did not ask for housekeeping to do so but found it peculiar that it did not. No hair dryer in room.

All in all I found this hotel very good, especially for the price and recommend it to people on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback with your stay at the Holiday Inn Norfolk. I was pleased to see you found value in our hotel and recommended us to others. The City of Norfolk is growing by the day and and has changed over the last three months!! You would be so shocked to see it now, as oppose to September.
We also want to apologize for the lack of housekeeping service in your room. We have placed our staff through training in December to remind of the things that matter. Hopefully, you will be able to stay with us again and we can showcase our new housekeeping standards.
Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your next trip to the area!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The room was fine. Though the 2 beds promised were not delivered. Apparently this is an issue with all 3rd party bookings: priceline, hotwire, etc. Maybe not their fault but still not as promised. Not the way to end a day when you are tired to have one or more people sleep on the floor.

Room Tip: Call ahead to guarentee rrom typw. Also research neighborhood for safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Smudge282,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable we fell short of your expectations this particular day. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

During my vacation to go to Virginia Beach we stayed here. As far as it's location it was very convenient there was plenty of food and shops in the area and the beach was at most 20 minutes away. They rooms were very well updated and clean as well as the hotel itself. The only issue I had with the hotel was the bed was a little uncomfortable but other than that I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Norfolk. We were happy that you find the hotel a great value and up to date. We continue to look for ways to keep our guests happy and satisfied. We are definitely looking into options of bedding for the upcoming years, we will keep you updated on that change, so you can come back and check them out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We arrived after midnight and left at 8am but our arrival and check in was smooth, our room was clean and beds were comfortable. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Staff was smiley too! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My family and I stayed here en route to a quick VA Beach getaway. Very clean and quick check in. would recommend to someone staying in the area. I didn't visit the pool/spa personally but my wife and kids said it needed cleaned. Not much more to say, which is good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a late check in and still experienced excellent customer service upon arrival. Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. The only reason I did not rate service as excellent is that they do not offer a complimentary breakfast to guests.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for rating our hotel. We understand the importance of value and will continue to run promotions and such to include breakfast to our very valued guests. Please keep us in mind for your next stay and see about the breakfast included in some of the rates. We would love to see that perfect score and make your stay the best!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport

Address: 1570 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. The Holiday Inn Select Norfolk Airport, Virginia is easily located only two miles from Norfolk International Airport and central to every city in Hampton Roads including Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Suffolk, Hampton, Norfolk Downtown. The prime location is near several office and industrial parks, including Lake Wright Executive Park, Norfolk Commerce Park and Norfolk Industrial Park. Local companies include: Boeing Norfolk, Northrup Grumman, Booz Allen Hamilton, CMA CGM, HDR Engineering, USAA, Zim Shipping and Nextel. Nearby government facilities comprise of Little Creek Amphibious Base, NAS Oceana, Fort Story Naval Station and the Norfolk Naval Station and Shipyard. Other local attractions within close proximity of the hotel are Nauticus, Norfolk Cruise Port, MacArthur Center, Norfolk Botanical Gardens and Virginia Wesleyan College. The hotel feature s 5,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and banquet accommodations for up to 400 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Norfolk Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.