We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Anniversary Evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spirit of Norfolk

Spirit of Norfolk
Otter Berth, Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA
866-304-2469
Website
Update attraction details
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 14 activities in Norfolk
Type: Boat Tours
Attraction Details
Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Perfect Anniversary Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband & I celebrated our anniversary this year with the 3-hour dinner cruise on the Spirit of Norfolk- we couldn't have had a better time! The staff from start to finish was fabulous. The food was great, & was replenished on the buffet promptly. The ambiance is wonderful- it was so nice to have a fancy romantic evening in this setting. (I do recommend very nice dress clothes (think what you may wear to a wedding), as that is what most people will be wearing.) We really loved the flexibility to move about the ship as we wanted- it was nice to enjoy the food & music inside, but be able to take a little break & enjoy some quiet & romantic time alone together outside on the upper decks as well. The additional low-light bar on the 3rd deck was a nice touch. We also received commemorative wine glasses, which were a wonderful keepsake. We loved the diversity of the music & crowd- they made sure there was something to enjoy on the dance floor for everyone, & the DJ was so much fun. I completely disagree with the reviewer that complained this was something for '20-somethings only'- that was not our experience at all- we found a delightfully diverse crowd- families, individual couples, a small wedding party, people celebrating anniversaries ranging from 1 year to an amazing 47 years married, and we even got to witness a very sweet proposal take place. And my husband and I both are WELL out of our 20's, so would not be looking for a rowdy 'club' type atmosphere, trust me. =). This was an amazing, fun-yet-romantic night, exactly what we'd hoped for. It was pricey, yes. However, the experience is unique & unbeatable. We highly recommend it if you're looking for a special night!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    23
    5
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fayetteville nc
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spirit of Norfolk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Second time around , always a nice 2 hour trip, with buffet, music and dance

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
“AWESOME FAMILY & FRIENDS CELEABRATION ON THE SPIRIT OF NORFOLK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

From the time we arrived it was such a pleasant exprience. The crew was very professional and organized. They met all of our family & friends needs. The food was delicious. We were very impressed with the overall service we received. It was a very comfortable cruise. The only thing that I would like to recommend is that the music be toned down some. We had some older members that could not hear over the loud music. Soft music doing dinner would be more relaxing. Job well done. Our group would like to sail out again next year.

Pat H.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average, not what was advertised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

It was average, that was it. I have been gone for an extended period of time and wanted to enjoy a night on the water with my wife with a nice dinner. Arrival: they say boarding starts at 530pm, we got there and boarded about 525pm and the ship was about 70% full already. This made it difficult to get food, as much of the buffet was not filled promptly. The food was average, maybe just below average. For this price, it should be better. Staff: the manager was nice, but the actual wait staff was HORRIBLE. We had a table of 6 and we had to almost drag the waitress to the table to get help. BAR: terrible service. The ship did NOT open the topside bar, so the only bar was on the food deck-they did not tell you the bar topside was closed, they actually told you to get drinks topside, but there was no staff there. We tried to use the bar on food deck, but the manager told us we needed to stay away from the bar because it was for staff, so we told him our waitress sucked, and he said he would help out-he did not. Getting drinks was a terrible experience. The "dress code" is a joke, it looked like a ghetto on the ship as there were 2 groups that had get together and were excessively loud, dressed like crap and cussed excessively. They need to enforce a little bit of decorum for the meal. This is a cruise for twenty-somethings and no one else.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Perfect way to spend an evening on the water in Norfolk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

From the moment we walked up to the boarding line until the time we departed the ship, we felt the staff and crew were very attentive to our needs. They personally greeted us as well as thanking us as we departed. The ship was very clean and the entertainment was great. Unlike the other review I read, we saw the chaffing dishes filled promptly and the food was hot. We had 4 teenagers with us and all found the food to be delicious. There were two different families celebrating reunions and it was great to see them enjoying the dance floor. If you prefer a quieter atmosphere, the top deck of the ship is available. We saw ships in dry dock at the shipyard, marina's, Fort Norfolk, Portsmouth Naval Hospital, Norfolk Southern's Coal Pier, part of ODU's campus, and many other waterside business. The close up view of the different ships at Naval Base Norfolk and the beautiful sunset were a perfect end to our evening.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit of Norfolk also viewed

 

Been to Spirit of Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spirit of Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.