We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tazewell Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Tazewell Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tazewell Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
A TripAdvisor Member
“Decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2005

Slightly above average hotel . Rooms were clean, well-kept and pleasant to sleep in. The heat did not work well or at all so that was somewhat a problem but manageable.

Location in Downtown Norfolk is good but upon arriving, it was hard finding a place to pull off and check in since hotel is located on busy downtown streets with almost no parking nearby. Instead, they have you park in a lot on a different street(less than a minute walk) and pay $15 for parking/day. I was a bit reluctant to leave me car there b/c it did not seem to be the best neighborhood but everything turned out well.

Staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    90
    34
    18
    23
See reviews for
34
79
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2005

This hotel turned out to be a hidden treasure in the downtown Norfolk Area. We usually stay in chain hotels but since everything else in town was sold out, my wife and I decided to stay at the Tazewell. The moment we entered the hotel, we were amazed at the quality this cute hotel offered. Great staff, lovely rooms and an exquisite lobby. Not to mention, the location of the hotel was nothing short of perfect. The Tazewell certainly made a believer out of us, and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2005

PROS: The location is certainly convenient, the staff are generally quite friendly (but also young, on the whole, and a little confused about some of the details of our reservation, like a request for non-smoking room), the building is pretty. And there is a *fantastic* sushi restaurant down the block (Domo Sushi) -- a single meal with outstanding service there made up for the other disappointments of this place. Also, somehow when we parked down the block, we ended up not having to pay the following morning since no one was there.

CONS: I booked this place partly because of all the commentary about renovations. Well, it seemed like they weren't exactly done in our room: fixtures had fallen out of the wall and the holes hadn't been filled in, there were some water stains on the wallpaper in the bedroom. The bedding and linens were synthetic and cheap. And the room was, mysteriously, missing a phone -- it didn't matter since we had a cell, but that's what I mean about the place being a bit weird. We did book a deal on-line, and I've heard comments about receiving substandard service when you do that (seems like cutting off your nose to spite your face). But we were visiting the area for a special weekend, and I felt a bit conned. The place wasn't dreadful, but I doubt we'll be back.

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARLINGTON
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2005

The best things about the Tazewell are (1) its location, within walking distance of several days' worth of attractions, (2) the relaxing lobby with comfy chairs (a bar or afternoon tea would make it soooo much nicer, though), (3) the steakhouse and tapas restaurants in the same building, (4) the pleasant and friendly staff, and (5) the price -- an excellent value if you take advantage of the specials on their web site and elsewhere.

But if you're looking for beautifully renovated rooms, this isn't the place for you. (I felt a bit cheated based on the comments from earlier reviews.) At least ours didn't look like it had seen any improvements in 10-15 years. All the light bulbs were 60 watts. The TV remote was broken. The bathroom was dark, shower flow puny, and the walls next to the sink still had toothpaste blotches from 2-3 previous guests.

The continental breakfast was quite meager, the coffee dreadful (and not refilled promptly).

At least they put fitted sheets on the king size bed. Too bad the pockets weren't deep enough for the mattress and kept slipping off.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

As fans of historic downtown hotels, our weekend stay at the Tazewell did not disappoint. It's located in downtown Norfolk, a quick 15-minute drive from the airport.

When we first arrived in downtown Norfolk, it was a gray, drizzly Saturday morning. The streets were deserted except for a few sketchy-looking characters, everything was closed. The place didn't seem very happening at all, and we were disappointed. By Noon, however, the sun had come out, the shops and restaurants were open, and the streets were alive with tourists and families of shoppers.

We got a great deal through Southwest Airlines for a deluxe room with king size bed at the Tazewell. We weren't sure what to expect. Stepping into the hotel put us at ease after our initial doubts about the area. The hotel had clearly gone through a careful restoration, keeping the original early 20th century woodwork and fixtures intact while adding modern furnishings and amenities. The lobby area was spacious and pleasant, and the front desk staff remained cheery and patient despite our many questions.

Our room was enormous -- far larger than what we'd expected-- with one of the largest and most elegantly decorated bathrooms we've encountered in a comparably-priced hotel, with nice details like a retractable shaving mirror and Bath & Body Works products. Everything was very clean, with a newish feel. Cranking up the air-conditioning and sinking into the king size mattress for a nap felt like heaven after our long flight.

The immediate area around the hotel had quite a bit to offer, including a huge shopping mall (the MacArthur Center) about a block away, which has Nordstrom, Dillard's, most of the major fashion retailers, a movie theater, and a large children's arcade and play area. There are also some nightclubs in the area (we noticed Whitesnake would soon be playing at one of them). Many of Norfolk's other downtown attractions (the Waterside, the USS Wisconsin, the Chrysler Art Musuem, the Nauticus Maritime Center) are in walking distance or a very short drive from the hotel.

There's a steakhouse located off the lobby of the hotel. The decor looked beautiful, but we didn't have a chance to try it. We did eat at the Irish pub next door, which was friendly and very busy, decorated with nautical antiques. The pork loin and the bangers & mash were delicious and attractively presented, and any pub with hard cider on tap gets my thumbs-up vote. There are several other fine restaurants in the downtown area, such as the Blue Hippo, the Monastery, and a sushi bar close to the hotel that seemed to be an active nightspot.

Since the Tazewell is located downtown, parking is at a premium. The most convenient option was to pay an extra $15 to park in the hotel's own small valet lot on Tazewell Street. It might be a good idea to let them know ahead of time that you'll need parking. Some other options, such as a city parking garage, are available a little farther from the hotel.

We will definitely choose the Tazewell again on our next trip to Norfolk. The hotel had all the charm we expect from a historic downtown hotel, with a friendly staff, great location, wi-fi in the lobby, data port in the room, a/c, travel iron -- everything we needed. They're doing a great job.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2005

I stayed at Tazewell in July '05 for a night and loved its perfect location in the middle of downtown. The hotel has been restored beautifully (with the exception of the hideous faux-oak guest room doors) and the Bath & Body Works products in the bathroom are a welcome surprise. The towels were some of the softest hotel towels I've used.

There are some drawbacks, though. There were multiple stains on the new carpet (some looked like burns) and there was dust all along the baseboards throughout the hotel. It was as if the building went under new management after all the expense of remodeling and the new management is less interested in the day-to-day upkeep.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2005

We were pleased with our recent stay at the Tazewell Hotel, and the affordable rate we found through Hotels. The downtown location is very convenient, a short stroll to the MacArthur Center and the many interesting restaurants along the Granby Street corridor. The parking situation is a bit tricky, however: the hotel has only a handful of spaces directly behind that must be reserved in advance (call ahead!). Off-site parking in a private surface lot is available down the block, but was relatively expensive at $12/day. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the continental breakfast was simple but good. The restored lobby would have been an attractive place to spend time, but was undergoing repairs during our visit and was closed. We would certainly recommend the Tazewell to anyone who appreciates the charm of smaller, historic hotels, and wants the convenience of a downtown location. And yes, the elevators are tiny, although claustrophobics will appreciate the original staircase.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tazewell Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tazewell Hotel & Suites

Address: 245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tazewell Hotel & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tazewell Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tazewell Hotel And Suites
Tazewell Hotel Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tazewell Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.