We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should defenitly stay at The Tazewell Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tazewell Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tazewell Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Tazewell Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Norfolk
Lewisburg, West Virginia
1 review
“You should defenitly stay at The Tazewell Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed at The Tazewell for an event within walking distance of the hotel, beautiful location, friendly and professional staff. I had zero problems. The room was very clean, and I most certainly will stay at this hotel next time I'm back in Norfolk, VA.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    102
    38
    30
    37
See reviews for
47
92
31
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Everyone was friendly & informative!... Hotel was clean & I loved the setting & fixtures. I wound recommend my friends & family to come stay. The beds were comfortable, my room was cozy. Location was good because it's downtown.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have stayed in Norfolk several times and each time I seem to be drawn back to the Tazewell.
There is just something about the charm of staying in a building that is 100 years old. Are the rooms perfect - no. Is the furniture brand new and the most modern - no. But to me that is the charm of the place. I like the uneven floors - the creaking of the floors or the old style stair case. It does make me feel like I am back in the 1930s.

I have never had an unclean room. The beds have always been comfortable and the staff has always been great. The Tazewell is also in a great location. Its in walking distance to most everything so whenever I stay I park in the secure parking garage they use an end up walking everywhere. Great location, clean rooms, great staff and great rates - you can't beat that!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel is at a VERY convenient location in downtown Norfolk, within walking distance of numerous restaurants, bars, and clubs. It is the ideal stay for a weekend with friends where you want to be able to go out and have fun without worrying about driving or cab fare.


It is also very reasonably priced with modest rooms and free wi-fi. The bathrooms have Bath & Body Works products and the coffee provided in the rooms is Starbucks!


The building itself and lobby area is very charming and maintains its original style from whenever it was originally built. The front desk and maintenence staff are courteous and very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. You can park in a parking garage nearby to the hotel, or you can often find free street parking even closer to the hotel, which is what I've done--I've stayed here twice in the last 2 months!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

If your catching a show at the Norva or Hanging out downtown don't miss this Gem, rooms are always clean, staff is great & location couldn't be better..great place to stay with several choices just outside the front door...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife an I are locals, this was our second stay at the Tazewell in two months. We like to go to concerts, drink a little and not drive home. It is centrally located to downtown Norfolk, concert venues, sporting events, and even theatre. We stayed in a King bed room at a very reasonable price. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. It has older tube type TV's the floor and stairs squeak, but it is over 100 years old. The AC and Heat work, the bathrooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. I will stay there next time My wife and I want another "night on the town"

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Beautiful hotel, GREAT staff! No hot tub, pool, or free breakfast, but location and courteous staff makes up for that. Walking distance from the NorVa, which is great when you're tired after a concert. Awesome location for other downtown exploration as well. But be careful in guest bathrooms because the floor is marble and very slippery when getting out of the shower. And the price is amazing for the quality. Stayed here back in May 2013 and I've already got them booked again for the end of this month :) my rating for swimming pool and room service are N/A bc I did not use room service and as far as I know, there isn't a pool

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tazewell Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tazewell Hotel & Suites

Address: 245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tazewell Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tazewell Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tazewell Hotel And Suites
Tazewell Hotel Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tazewell Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.