We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great funky old hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tazewell Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tazewell Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Tazewell Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Ft. collins, co
1 review
“Great funky old hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great location, many bars and rewtaurants in close proximity. Comfortable beds. Very nice staff. Stayed last week before heading down to OBX and staying again tonite to be nearer to airport. Great place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    96
    36
    22
    26
See reviews for
38
85
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I had a 2-night stay this past weekend. The positives: location (very convenient to everything in downtown Norfolk), staff (friendly and helpful), and price (via Priceline) were all very good. The negative: we were told that they were sold out of non-smoking rooms (we made our reservation ~ 10 days prior to our stay) for the weekend. Sleeping in a room that smelled of cigarettes was a BIG negative as it considerably diminished our overall experience. In my opinion a quality hotel should not have any smoking rooms (especially if they have few overall rooms to begin with as is the case with old hotels). When we go back to Norfolk in the future we'll choose another hotel even if we have to pay more (unless the Tazwell's current smoking room policy has changed.).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you like chain hotels like Hilton or Marriott, you might not agree with this review, but if you like interesting, unique hotels that are still clean and friendly, I'd recommend this hotel. It's older, but well maintained, the staff is very helpful and friendly, and the rooms are spacious and beautiful.

There's no in-hotel restaurant, but it is mere steps away from a lot of good restaurants, both local and chain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatamy, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location for what we wanted to do (visit Nauticus and Town Point Park). Parking is in the garage and you need a code to get in with your car and you need a hotel staff to walk with you to get you into the garage to get your car. The day staff was very nice and friendly. One guy on the night staff was....pleasant enough. My husband wasn't impressed, but I liked to old style of it. Updates are needed, peeling paint, dirty carpets ruined by bleach/carpet cleaner, peeling wallpaper etc... We didn't eat breakfast there. We thought the area they have reserved for breakfast was a little dark, and didn't really want to eat there. It felt like we were window to window with the business/condos across the street, which wouldn't be so bad, I guess, if the curtains actually covered the whole window! And because of that, there was no sleeping late. Due to the very loud noise of bottles clanking at 7:30am and daylight piercing around those curtains, you WILL be an early riser.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor, street/apartment across the street view, and we were woken up around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I booked this room for the price. I got there and paid $15 for parking, which was not listed when I booked it. I stayed in room 202. room 202 was on the floor with a mezzanine, the exercise room, the business center and storage. there was no other rooms on the floor that I could find. the room was big enough for me, but it had a smell to it that I could not identify. when I checked out the person who was working had to walk with me to let me in to the garage, since its an old historic building the city would not let them build anything to connect the two. I have to say the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is always nice when you can find a hotel downtown without paying a King's ransom and The Tazewell fits the bill. I needed to be downtown and a customer recommended the hotel and said price was not like the others. It was comfortable, quiet and the staff was very helpful. I was also able to park right on the street since there is no meter to feed between 6:00 PM and 9:00 AM. There are probably nicer hotels downtown but you might pay double the cost, so if you are looking for all of the fancy amenities and price is no object The Tazewell might not be your choice but it was just right for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel was a great way for us to celebrate our 45th anniversary. It's central location made it easy to walk to several attractions in the area. It's not the usual hotel, but that's what made it special for us. If you are looking for a unique experience with exceptional staff, this is one for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tazewell Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tazewell Hotel & Suites

Address: 245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tazewell Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tazewell Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tazewell Hotel And Suites
Tazewell Hotel Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tazewell Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.