We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what i expected.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tazewell Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tazewell Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Tazewell Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“not what i expected.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I booked this room for the price. I got there and paid $15 for parking, which was not listed when I booked it. I stayed in room 202. room 202 was on the floor with a mezzanine, the exercise room, the business center and storage. there was no other rooms on the floor that I could find. the room was big enough for me, but it had a smell to it that I could not identify. when I checked out the person who was working had to walk with me to let me in to the garage, since its an old historic building the city would not let them build anything to connect the two. I have to say the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    98
    36
    23
    26
See reviews for
39
85
28
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is always nice when you can find a hotel downtown without paying a King's ransom and The Tazewell fits the bill. I needed to be downtown and a customer recommended the hotel and said price was not like the others. It was comfortable, quiet and the staff was very helpful. I was also able to park right on the street since there is no meter to feed between 6:00 PM and 9:00 AM. There are probably nicer hotels downtown but you might pay double the cost, so if you are looking for all of the fancy amenities and price is no object The Tazewell might not be your choice but it was just right for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel was a great way for us to celebrate our 45th anniversary. It's central location made it easy to walk to several attractions in the area. It's not the usual hotel, but that's what made it special for us. If you are looking for a unique experience with exceptional staff, this is one for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is sad because it was probably really nice many decades ago. Lobby looks nice, but the halls and rooms are very run-down and need repairs. Elevators were small with tiny doors. Parking garage was nice, but had access issues in that the stairs required a special key that only the front desk had.
Very nice and friendly staff. Extensive water damage was visible in the bathrooms' ceilings. Our first room had a broken wall air conditioner and a portable A/C that wouldn't turn on, either. The staff changed our room instantly. New room also had a broken wall A/C, but a working portable A/C that sat on the floor and ran a tube out an open window. The tube was duct taped there at the open window, and it was super loud, but at least this A/C worked. The bathroom had newer fixtures but they were starting to rust. There was no cover on the sink drain at all so we had to watch out not to drop stuff in there. The floors throughout the halls and rooms were wavy, warped, and uneven. Every time we opened a door, the bottom of the door would hit the floor bumps. Ironing board was new, but the board cover was disgusting and stained with different large spots. There were tons of TV channels, but the TV was about 20 years old. The closet was missing a door but still had the sliding door tracks present. Our door didn't seem to lock correctly and was very flimsy. Our corner room was very spacious with a decent view, but every place in the hotel smelled like a mixture of smoke and mold.
Location wasn't as great as many people claim, unless you really love shopping. We had to drive a good distance to the beach, military bases, recognizable restaurants, large grocery stores, etc. It is downtown, so there were some decent bars in walking distance, but not much more for the average traveler.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Tazewell multiple times, there is something about the hotel that draws me back.

Are there newer hotels? Are there nicer hotels? Are there hotels with better amenities? Are there hotels with more modern and updated furniture? - Yes there are

But there is something about the Tazewell. In my opinion it is in a great location. It is in the center of many different restaurants, bars and shops. It is in walking distance to the MacArthur mall, to the waterfront, to the freemason area, to the MacArthur memorial. So you can park your car in the secure and monitored garage and just about walk everywhere.

It also is in a building that is like 100 years old. So you have that feeling of being in a classic building and almost stepping back in time. So I find the uneven floors some of the décor and the different style of rooms part of the charm of the building.

The rooms that I have stayed in are in need of an update. A splash of paint, updated furniture, flat screen tvs etc...the furniture is not broken or really in need of repair - its just outdated.

The rooms and public areas have always been been clean. The beds and pillows are comfortable and the front desk staff friendly and helpful.

If the Tazewell had the money or would spend the money on some upgrades this would be a top notch hotel in a prime location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was told this was the oldest hotel in Norfolk. The location is great, near restaurants, the waterfront, and businesses. It's stately but in an understated way. Old school elevator. The rooms could be out of the 40's or even older but for the TV, and I liked that.

Positives: amazingly comfortable bed, fully blasting AC (thankfully), access to very well appointed fitness center across the street. Price is reasonable.On the whole excellent service (calling out Samantha, thank you).

Issues: I had several maintenance issues with my room. One caused a worker to open my door without my consent while I was in bed. The hotel in general could probably use some updating/maintenance rejuvenation.

There is no food service whatsoever. Breakfast is coffee and juice and a bowl of apples. Yes, there are plenty of nearby diners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, va
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel was probably really nice back in the day when it first opened, but it has since grown old and sort of dingy. It is nicely located close to the Norva, which is the reason we were in town. The service was fine and if you are just looking for a bed then this is the place for you. But if you are looking for a nice hotel room for a trip this is not that place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tazewell Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tazewell Hotel & Suites

Address: 245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tazewell Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Tazewell Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tazewell Hotel And Suites
Tazewell Hotel Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tazewell Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.