We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Norfolk, VA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tazewell Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Tazewell Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tazewell Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
“Trip to Norfolk, VA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I took a trip to Norfolk for a football game. We loved the look of the Tazewell and the proximity to the stadium. The bed was a King size and very comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful!! There are lots of eating places nearby. Also, there a some bars downtown as well. We definitely would stay there again. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vin_L_Tazewell, General Manager at Tazewell Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank for choosing to stay at the Tazewell. I am happy to learn that both you and your husband enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

Vin L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    91
    34
    18
    23
See reviews for
35
80
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our dogs in December. We chose the Tazewell because the conference hotel was sold out, and we wanted something pet-friendly. Next time we have to go to Norfolk, Tazewell Hotel & Suites will be our first choice.

The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. The room was large (especially for an older hotel in the middle of the city), comfortable, and clean. The location is wonderful--a few blocks away from parks to walk the dogs, very close to restaurants and an upscale mall, close to the waterfront. I felt safe walking around in the neighborhood.

There is a parking garage next door, which is not connected to the hotel, but when you are ready to go get your car, security escorts you over and unlocks the door for you. It was pretty convenient. To be honest, after we checked in and parked the car, we didn't need it again until we were leaving--everything was walkable.

There is no room service, but there are two restaurants/bars right off the lobby, and a bunch of delivery options.

I would definitely recommend the Tazewell Hotel & Suites to anyone traveling to downtown Norfolk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vin_L_Tazewell, General Manager at Tazewell Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I am happy to learn that your stay at the Tazewell was a good one. We hope you will come back and see us again very soon!

Regards,


Vin L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I booked this when the conference hotel was busy, and it was a short walk from my meeting at the waterfront. The Tazewell is in a great location, lots of dining / bars available, including the absolutely exceptional Empire Little Bar Bistro downstairs. The hotel itself has potential greatness to be a grand old hotel, but it's a little run down - perhaps going through "charming" on the way to 'decrepit'? There was an offensive odor in the lobby that fortunately was not present in the room. The room (King Bed Suite) was small but not unduly cramped, clean, and the bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly and efficient in my limited dealings. Business center and wi-fi were free, nice touches, although I didn't use the wi-fi so I don't know how well it worked. Bottom line - it's a good option for a tolerant traveler who wants a value in this area; don't take someone there to impress them, unless they remodel it first!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vin_L_Tazewell, General Manager at Tazewell Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Tazewell. I am sorry to learn that your stay was less than satisfactory. The hotel staff is diligently working to resolve the issues pointed out in your review and we hope you will consider staying with us again.


Regards,

Vin L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at the Tazewell my first time a few months ago. I travel a lot to Norfolk on business and had been staying in the larger chains and was looking for a change of pace. The building is tucked away on a corner right downtown. The staff was professional and polite, the rooms were clean and open, and the amenities were good. The staff was responsive to my requests and were genuinely happy to help. There are two funky/cool restaurant/bars right off the front entrance and you get the feeling that if you were staying here more than a couple of days, people would start to call you by your name. There is a huge mall to the front and the waterfront right in back. The neighborhood is so eclectic and interesting you can spend a lot of time exploring and never get bored. Overall I would say the experience at the Tazewell was definitely a good one and I have now found my preferred place to stay whenever I am in Norfolk.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMT1976, General Manager at Tazewell Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am happy to learn that the Tazewell will be your hotel of choice in Norfolk and the hotel staff is looking forward to your next visit.

Vin L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a fabulously romantic weekend last November. The room was clean, spacious, and quaintly quiet. Several great restaurants and entertainment venues were within walking distance. For a great old-fashioned hair cut, visit Tony's Barber Shop on Granby.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMT1976, General Manager at Tazewell Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to learn that you and your husband enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Vin L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Drove in on Motorcycle for a concert at the Norva. Great Location. Bedding was nice and comfortable. Hotel was clean and great price. For a small fee, hotel provided parking at garage close by. Nice place to eat next to hotel with access to hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMT1976, General Manager at Tazewell Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind review. The staff at the Tazewell is looking forward your next visit.

Regards,

Vin L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I drove up to Norfolk for a concert at the NorVa theater around the corner and didn't want to make the 4 hour trip back home afterwards, so we stayed at the Tazewell. If you're going to the NorVa, it's perfect because it's literally two blocks away. The people were great on check-in, and there's a indoor parking garage attached to the hotel itself ($15 a night) with a locked entrance, so I felt very safe leaving my car there.

The room was a decent size and everything was very clean. It was an older building, and the floor sloped just enough that when we were sitting in bed, the wardrobe facing it was at a bit of an angle.... It never felt like an old threadbare building that was about to fall apart or anything of the sort - just like an old, well-loved building that was very comfortable and warm. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMT1976, General Manager at Tazewell Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dharmesh,

I am elated to learn that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at the Tazewell. We are looking forward to your next stay with us and sincerely hope that you will be visiting us soon.

Regards,

Vin L
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tazewell Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tazewell Hotel & Suites

Address: 245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tazewell Hotel & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tazewell Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tazewell Hotel And Suites
Tazewell Hotel Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tazewell Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.