We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying Hard but needs some help.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tazewell Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Tazewell Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tazewell Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Trying Hard but needs some help.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

Frequent traveler to Norfolk. Stumbled on the hotel by accident while eating at adjoining restuarant . The gentlemen at the desk sold us on trying the hotel. I was impressed with his excitement and information about the hotel. The Tazwell has charachter, lobby was nice, plenty of history. Rooms seem to have had some remodeling, but lighting was extremely poor for anyone trying to work in their room. Bed was slightly uncomfortable and unfortunately the pillows, while there were many of them, they were completely flat. Bathroom was clean and my room came with a refrigerator and mircrowave. No comfortable seating for viewing tv and desk had no lamp on it. I hate to say it, but because of the lighting, it appeared dingy. My room was on the 3rd floor against the street. Norfolk was completing some very loud sewer work and the windows offered little shield against the noise (not the fault of the hotel). No matter which entrance you arrive at, you will have to carry you bags up up some steps, not always an easy task. Parking was an issue. If you get on the street after 6:00 and leave before 9:00 am it is free and can be quite close. If you have to park at the recommended garage it is a short walk, but I was not comfortable with the area I had to walk into. I leave for work very early and this was not an option when parking in the garage and walking in the dark. I had breakfast one morning, nice but basic. Included in the price so who can complain? My overall impression was with a few minor changes and an a better parking arrangement it could be a really nice boutique motel. Maybe they will read this and make some improvements. Great potential

  • Liked — Boutique hotel, great location, nice staff
  • Disliked — Poor Lighting, flat pillows,uncomfortable be, off-site parking
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    90
    34
    18
    23
See reviews for
34
79
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

I called and made a reservation on June 14th. When I arrived on July 22nd, I was informed they had no reservation for me. There was also no parking on site, the nearest parking a few blocks away, no place to even unload luggage so I had to carry it. While staying at the Tazwell, plaster fell from the ceiling of the lobby (!) damaging a table below.
Later, I found out that in addition to loosing my reservation, the hotel charged me a no-show for the 12th of July. They further refuse to refund that charge or even respond to my emails about it. So, in addition to bad service, no parking and an unsafe hotel, they are charging me $107.22 extra because their front desk staff lost ye reservation and they refuse to do anything about this mistake.

Next time I’m in Norfolk, I’ll stay elsewhere and you should as well.

  • Liked — Location was downtown
  • Disliked — Being charged extra becasue THEY lost my reservation
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

After previous staying at the at the Marriott Waterside ( $249 per Nt )
I found the Tazewell hotel website ( $ 94 per nt) I was a little apprehensive about booking. Nevertheless, I found the Hotel to be just fine. Although the décor is a little dated, the rooms are Large & Clean. The lobby is nice & quiet & Hotels location is great. Parking at the muni lot two blocks away was $ 8-15 per Nt depending on the option you chose. There are two restaurants adjoining the hotel Sterling’s Steak House was very good as was the Tapas bar. There are also numerous restaurants & a great shopping mall within short walk of the hotel.
Norfolk waterfront & the battleship are also nearby. There is construction going on just around the corner but we never heard much if any noise. Hotels staffs was friendly & helpful even got us free desserts a Sterling Steak House
We stayed 3 nights checkout was a little confusing but we worked in out in a few minutes. Overall, for a moderate price hotel in Downtown Norfolk is was a great deal

  • Liked — Location & room Price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2007

The Tazewell is an old hotel in downtown Norfolk that was supposedly renovated a few years ago. At the moment there is a condo being built right next to it and the street is closed off. To park your car, you have to take it to a parking garage a couple of blocks away, no valet. The hotel is very dirty, and David the fellow who checked us in was extremely rude and unhelpful when I asked to view my room before checking in. Anyway, do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

my wife and I stayed at the Tazewell for a "getaway weekend" in Norfolk. My recommendation to stay at the Tazewell will definitely depend on your reasons for being in Norfolk.

If you are looking for a basic hotel within walking distance to dozens of bars/restaurants, sights, museums, ferry, etc then this is definitely a place to check out as it is the most centrally located hotel for that purpose. But, beware this is not a new structure and be prepared to make some concessions on the decor of the room. Specifically you'll see cracks in the wall, below-average plumbing and water pressure, and some other various annoyances you would not find in a new building. But the tradeoff is being able to walk half a block for great food and drink.

If you're in Norfolk on business or with children do not look here for a hotel option.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room amenities
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, VA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

The Tazewell was a great hotel to stay in. It had a great location, tasteful decor and staff that went above and beyond for us. Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

The only thing that was a slight inconvenience was the parking situation. However, apart from the parking situation (off-site, $15.00 per day), we enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Staff & Decor
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

the room was alright . our problem was with the service. the hotel billed another guests room to our credit card. it has taken so far 4 long distance calls to get the problem fixed and no one has gotten back to us. the person we call just keeps taking our number and says the manager will get back to you, because he is busy at the moment.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room was not as nice as expected
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tazewell Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tazewell Hotel & Suites

Address: 245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tazewell Hotel & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tazewell Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tazewell Hotel And Suites
Tazewell Hotel Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tazewell Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.