We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful walk and dog friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Museum and Gardens

Hermitage Museum and Gardens
7637 North Shore Road, Norfolk, VA 23505
757-423-2052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 50 things to do in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hermitage Museum & Gardens, formerly home to the Sloane family, is an early 20th century Arts-and-Crafts estate located on the shore of the Lafayette River in Norfolk, Virginia. Featuring a nationally recognized art collection spanning 5,000 years, the Hermitage is home to the arts. Contemporary exhibition galleries, a Visual Arts Studio, working artist studios, and 12 acres of gardens and grounds offer art and culture to the community, as envisioned by the Sloanes.
Herndon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful walk and dog friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I didn't go into the museum because I was traveling with my little dog. The property contains walking path covered with hay. A portion of the walk is along the river, beautiful view. There is a little rose garden with a small fountain in front of the museum. We spent about an hour there with visiting the museum. The property is a decent size but not that big. It is worth visiting for the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

a lovely place to walk around and sit along the Lafeyette River. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The museum is worth the visit. A Wonderful way to spend the day. During the summer they have bands that play on the lawn.What a way to spend the afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“gem on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fascinating architecture, carving, gardens, and museum-quality art in a former estate on the water. Much variety for a wide variety of guests. Attendance fee less than $10. per person, and less than $5. with AAA card. Fascinating! In an old neighborhood but easy to get to (get a map).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Living Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not just an art museum, but a working arts center. Plus a real craftsman style home created by artists. The woodcarving is exquisite and covers just about every surface. Kids will enjoy the hidden doors, panels, and other secrets. And it contains some really nice art.

The gardens are nice for a stroll along the river. The staff are helpful and friendly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful for a Spring/Summer Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I got married at the Hermitage many years ago but still visit it each year (with our children now) each anniversary. It is, by far, one of the most lovely places for a wedding. We have also done picnics there, too.....but the waterview and glorious flowers that bloom make it the most extraordinary place. Check it out....if you want an outdoor wedding...we STILL have people tell us how gorgeous our wedding was and it will be 20 years ago July 2013!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermitage Museum and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Hermitage Museum and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Museum and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.