We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vineyards

The Vineyards
147 Granby St, Norfolk, VA 23510-1611
757-222-0431
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 613 Restaurants in Norfolk
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The Vinyards Trattoria and pizzeria is an affordable Italian Restaurant with high end quality and ambiance located in the heart of downtown Norfolk, Virginia. We serve only the finest and freshest foods, and bring you a Wine List that is designed to impress!Come down today for a dinner that will leave you satisfied, yet wanting more. Try our Catering Department for your next big event and we will show your guests to delicious refreshments. Restaurant can be reserved for large parties upon request.
Pitman, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This place is on my weekly list. I have been there twice in the past 2 weeks. The food is pretty good. The hand tossed pizza can be a little doughy, but if you ask them to make it a little more crispy, they will. The staff is always friendly and helpful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta GA
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Best flounder I've ever had!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

When I walked in, I certainly couldn't say that I was warmly welcomed, in it was a bit cold with "I only have seats at the bar or in the window" even though the restaurant was 1/3rd full. However after I sat down I was treated to a wonderful meal in fact the best flounder dish that I have ever had!!! I it's made with artichokes, olives, capers and a sauce that is out of the world. This is way better than a pizza dive restaurant. It's walking distance from the downtown Marriott and the Sheraton. Perhaps the service would have been better if I wasn't solo....p.s. the two top table in the back was never used while I was there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Solid but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Food was average, atmosphere was nice. Large amount of food for the price. Limited Italian wine by the glass choices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere+Service, Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had a wonderful meal with fantastic atmosphere and service. Penne vodka sauce was amazing, pasta with sausage and white sauce had sugar added, too sweet, and pizza okay, not great. Prices very good, the entrees come with a salad. Good wine choices too. Delightful, welcoming service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An average dinner but a bit pricie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife and decided to try a new place for dinner. We chose the vineyards in Norfolk because of all the reviews it had. Over all it is an ok place to have dinner. It has about 15 tables so it is a small place an although it wasn't loud it sounded loud. You sould make reservations to ensure you get a tabl an ask not to be seated by the kitchen. When you look at the prices you would think something would jump out at you but nothing does not service, food or the atmosphere it's just an average dinner

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to The Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.