We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Symphony

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Virginia Symphony
861 Glenrock Rd, Norfolk, VA
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recognized as one of the nation's leading regional symphony orchestras, the Virginia Symphony has enriched the cultural life of the Hampton Roads community for more than nine decades. Recent great achievements of the Virginia Symphony under the baton of Music Director JoAnn Falletta include five compact disc recordings for national release, a performance of Peter and the Wolf which was aired on National Public Radio, and groundbreaking performances at the Kennedy Center and New York's Carnegie Hall. Performances are held in various venues: Chrysler Hall, Norfolk, Sandler Center for the Performing Arts, Virginia Beach, Regent University, Virginia Beach, Harrison Opera House, Norfolk, St Bede Catholic Church, Williamsburg
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have had season tickets for the past few years and the Virginia Symphony never disappoints. The musical selections are interesting and beautifully performed.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Music to my ears”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Va Symphony is amazing. I have heard them on several occassions and the music is superb. Different programs throughout the year, but I love the Christmas production the best with all the old fashioned Christmas music. They did a Valvid series one year that was just wonderful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Symphony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have seen many good orchestras and I rate the Virginia Symphony as one of the best. The strings at this concert were especially riveting.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Virginia symphony is very good and has a wide variety of concerts throughout the season. We especially enjoy the performances at Ferguson Center on the CNU campus. A relatively small and convenient venue.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nothing like the VA Symphony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I used to go all the time. My daughter even worked for them in sales. There is nothing to say but perfection at its finist. I love Symphony music and I love what they do with the instruments. It comes alive. And they can make music that anyone age can enjoy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Symphony also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Symphony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.