We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience I have ever had!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelers Inn

Save Saved
You added Travelers Inn to your Saves list
Travelers Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelers Inn
800 E. Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The worst experience I have ever had!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I looked at the reviews of this motel before I booked, yet there were not many so I weighed the good and bad and decided it leaned more to the good....or so I thought.
The Good:
We arrived at 12:30 PM and the lady who checked us in was very friendly and informed us that our room would be ready by 2pm, and it was. The view was nice of the bay and so was the beach access. Fresh flowers in the room.

The Bad:
When I walked into the room, it smelled horrible. The microwave was dirty and rusted out. There was a plastic bowl of cereal / spoon, half eaten left in the fridge. There was pubic hair in the shower and on the curtain. There was hair behind the cups and ice buckets. Cobwebs along the base of the bed frames and in the corners of the room. The table top was broken, making it unusable. There were burned out bulbs in the fixtures. One of the fixtures was broken. The lighting at the vanity was very dim. Mold around the vanity sink and around the baseboard of the tub. Supposedly, the motel had been remodeled in 2010 however, the matress sets had to be the original ones. They looked old and sagged in the middle. We thought one of the beds was broken because when you sat down on it, the other side flipped up. However, it was only off the frame. I'm not sure how the maid service would miss that though, when they changed the sheets. There were dead bugs on the top of the air unit. Bathroom door was dirty as well as the walls. (Drip marks) We had three people reserved to stay in our room yet we were only supplied with 2 towels, 1 hand towel, 2 washclothes and a floor towel. I requested more towels and the maintenance guy came to give them to me. He had an attitude and told me that it was his day off. I went to the office to voice my concerns. I did get a new microwave along with an apology for that. However, I had to go to the office 3 times to get the bed fixed/back on the frame. The owner asked me why did I not call the maintenance guy instead of coming to the office. I told him that was his job and when the maintenance guy did come to our room, he was rude and let us know it was his day off again. He had the nerve to ask me "what do you want me to do about it?" Really???? I wanted a fixed bed and a clean room! Was that too much to ask? I honestly can't believe that the motel is even up and running. I will be finding the appropriate office to report this establishment to.

So if you are reading this, and are contemplating on staying here, spend the extra money and stay somewhere else, not that this place was cheap! It was terrible. I can't even imagine what the place was like before if indeed it was remodeled only a year ago. I would never let my family stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anish P, Front Office Manager at Travelers Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. we are sorry for all the inconvenience caused during your trip. We will continue to improve our service over the season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

the most reasonably priced motel on the street offering the best view of the chesapeake bay and bridge tunnel both. it is very close from the Ocean View fishing pier, Norfolk downtown granby street festivities and they also have a public park right next to the motel where we enjoyed having our BBQ.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Me and my children absolutely loved our stay at this hotel.. Great Location, they have clean rooms with nice views. Would definitely recommend to anybody traveling to norfolk.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

If you HATE mold, mildew, funk and filth then Don't stay here......otherwise RUN DONT WALK........RUN..........AS FAST AS YOU CAN. This place is nasty and you would be better off staying in your vehicle. It would probably take me 10 pages to tell you all the horrible things about this motel but let me spare you some vomit and me having to relive this nightmare and just say...............RUN!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelers Inn

Address: 800 E. Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Travelers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.