We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Istanbul Gyro & Kebab

Istanbul Gyro & Kebab
723 Monticello Ave., Norfolk, VA 23510
7573141122
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 613 Restaurants in Norfolk
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Turkish
Description: Turkish and Greek food, Mediterranean cuisine
Restaurant details
Description: Turkish and Greek food, Mediterranean cuisine
Layton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My niece took us to this restaurant because it is her favorite. And to our surprise, we had the best gyro and lamb meatballs we ever tasted. The hummus was fresh and delicious and the pita bread was outstanding and homemade.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Better Than McDonald's and Healthier Too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a pleasant ,no frills place that serves good food that is both healthy and oh so reasonably priced. We had a lamb Gyro and baklava. Excellent lamb and very tasty Baklava. The place was busy on a Wednesday night with locals and bus station drop ins and a few tourists like us. They do a thriving carry out business too. Our bill was less than it would have been at McDonald's and the food was far superior. Don't be turned off by the simple exterior or the location next to the bus station. The restaurant has its own parking lot and we felt quite safe.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This little spot is a hidden gem. Don't be put off that it is next to the bus station. The area is clean and safe. The interior of the restaurant is cozy and spotless, and the aromas will entice you to sit at a booth and relax. When I stopped by two well educated young women were chatting together in a way that said young people gave it the stamp of approval long ago. I had the lamb gyro and it was delicious. I couldn't suggest any improvement on it whatsoever - and for 13 years I lived in the Mediterranean region where sandwiches like this are commonplace. I'm looking forward to returning.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh, healthy, delicious and affordable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Great little Turkish restaurant. Had the VERY tasty roasted eggplant salad, lentil soup, Iskender kebab and baklava. They also serve an absolutely authentic Gyro sandwich. The meat is shaved off the vertical rotissery skewer right in front of your eyes (not reheated or microwaved, as in so many other places!)

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Gyro & Kebab also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul Gyro & Kebab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Istanbul Gyro & Kebab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.