We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very moving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Armed Forces Memorial

Armed Forces Memorial
Town Point Park, Norfolk, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 29 Attractions in Norfolk
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Cultural
Attraction details
Westfield,WI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My niece took my daughter and me here and we read all of the letters. I left this memorial in tears it moved me so much. A must see.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is just a few minutes from the nautilus and week worth the find. One of the most moving military memorials I have ever been to. If your in Norfolk, well worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This memorial is fantastic...very creative. It is in a kind of odd place, sort of out of the way in the park. It is a must see if you are in the area. Right next to the Nauticus museum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“How moving.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was a bit confusing to find this memorial we walked around & past it a few times because this memorial is mostly on the ground, it has these large bronze "letters" that look like they have been scattered by the wind.

I think there were around 20 of them, written from the 1800's until Iraq war. Letters of service memebers mostly to their mothers & family. The dates the letter was written along with the dates the service memeber died were inscribed on the big bronze papers.

It was a no-attention grabbing memorial, nothing flashy or large, just the words of service members missing their loved ones & dealing with the scars/reality of war. Very powerful. One of my favortie memorials I have ever seen & I have been to MANY!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIN
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Solemn, Inspiring, Touching... A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This memorial is inspiring, touching and extends the true psychological meaning of appreciation for the brave. The letters to which we are instructed to "give...their meaning" were artistically replicated and designed as blowing in the wind along the shore. They were truly touching, tear-inducing and eye opening. Every citizen should visit this memorial and REALLY read these letters: "give them their meaning" as the dedication has asked.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armed Forces Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Armed Forces Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armed Forces Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.