We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for a decent price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1157 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Essex, Maryland
1 review
“A great hotel for a decent price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend trip to visit his family for the holidays. We stayed in a jacuzzi room, which was definitely worth the upgrade of like $15. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. I usually like a firm mattress and my husband prefers a soft mattress. Neither one of us complained of a sore back the next day or trouble getting to sleep, which is a plus for both of us. On our first night, we had a problem the next morning about the ceiling leaking above us in the bathroom near the toilet. It must have been a leaking pipe or something. We reported it that same morning and they moved us to another room with no problems. It was a little bit of a pain to move, but the front desk staff gave us a choice of floor and ensured us that we would not be charged for the incident, which is always my worry when you have a problem in a hotel room regarding damage. We stayed on the 2nd and 3rd floors and did not have any problem with noise, except when cleaning was vacuuming a nearby room, but that wasn't until 11:15 AM. No problem with that. Also, I love the free wi-fi. That is always a plus in my book when I look for hotels. The only complaint that we had was that the breakfast ended relatively early at 10AM, when it is advertized ending at 10:30AM on the weekends. So, we did not get to sample the breakfast wares and had to go to a nearby IHOP. Overall, we had a good stay and would visit again.

Room Tip: Get a jacuzzi room, worth the extra bit of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Greetings!

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with our hotel. I do apologize that you had to encounter a room with a leak, but an glad to hear that the Front Desk handled the situation promptly and to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed the free Wi-Fi. I am also sorry that you didn’t get a chance to experience our breakfast! Breakfast is served Monday-Friday 6am-9:30am, Saturday-Sunday from 7am-10am for our hotel guests and is always free. When in the area again, I do hope that you will choose us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    49
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
52
24
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a young (4-year old) hotel with big rooms, pleasant service, a big mermaid sculpture at the entrance, and a unique color scheme of teals, greens, and browns. The location is convenient to both Virginia Beach and Norfolk, as well as Regent U. Breakfast is typical of the breed in a pretty roomy dining area. In all, this is an easy recommendation for the price--and thanks for noting if I was able to help you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hello HepAdvisor,

Thank you so much for your recent review of our property. I am glad to hear that you found our hotel to fit your needs when in the Norfolk/Virginia Beach area and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I will be back at your hotel on December 7 and looking forward to the stay as always. When I am in Norfolk, this is the hotel where I stay when I am not traveling with 2 small dogs. The location is perfect for my activities in Norfolk: shopping , the Symphony and the Opera House.

Room Tip: I like the upper floors because they are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello ViolaPlayer!

Thank you so much for your continued patronage and loyalty to our hotel! It is guests like you that make our hotel great and we hope to continue to serve you in such an excellent manner. We look forward to seeing you again in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very nice HI Express that seems to be pretty new and nautical themed. Rooms are huge two-room suites and very clean plus free fast wifi.Bathroom has high water pressure. Staff very friendly all-around. Breakfast has yummy warm cinnamon rolls and location is convenient to I64. Would definitely return if back in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernHotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
HI PlateMan! Thank you for the review. I appreciate you taking the time to share with the world that this hotel is a "great place." I'm glad you enjoyed the cinnamon rolls, free fast Wi-Fi, and the great water pressure in the shower. Your feedback is very important to me.

Thank you!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you are looking for beach front, or middle of the city then this is not the place. If, however, you are looking for something close to the airport (7 minutes), close to restaurants, gas stations, stores, and other points of interest then this is a great location.

I have stayed here multiple times and comparing the value, rooms, and offerings this property can compete with the downtown locations as well. Internet is free and very functional, desk staff has been helpful and freindly.

The rooms are all two room suites with a pull out couch, large bathroom, refrigerator, microwave, seperate bedroom and large tv's. Great beds / bad pillows.

Some things to note...
Breakfast is average and what you would expect for inclusion with your rate. The coffee is hot and good and the cinnamon rolls a good start to the day. The remainder of the breakfast offerings are adequate to include yogurts, cereals, fruit and usually some type of egg and meat and gravy.

A higher floor affords you some reprieve from the plumbing noises in a hotel like this. You can here flusjing toiletes and showers running on the lower floors. As in many properties today the noise cancelling insulation is either inadequate or was never planned to be what is really needed. You can here slamming doors and people in the halls so be prepared for that.

Room Tip: As discussed in the review; a higher floor on the ends is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hello sdf1kks!

Thank you so much for your generous review of our property!

Nothing means more to us than hearing the feedback from our guests and we are delighted that you have continued to stay with us. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I can't say anything bad about the hotel, aside from the normal bad Holiday Inn breakfast. The staff was helpful and the exercise room was well equipped. The decor is interesting. It's a mix of 70s and modern but it looks good. Overall it was a good stay and the bed slept well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Greetings Travelers,

Thanks so much for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was only there for 1 nite and I had a good nite sleep hot pressure shower(shower curtin kept opening) staying there made my early trip to the airport so very easy as well as my return with the shuttle to & from....arrived late & left very early.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Traveler!

Thanks for your review, we are glad to hear that you had a great time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport

Address: 1157 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Norfolk hotel near Norfolk International Airport offers a free airport shuttle! We are three miles from Norfolk International Airport. Centrally located in Hampton Roads with easy access to Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Suffolk, Hampton, Chesapeake, Newport News, Williamsburg. Whether you are coming to Norfolk on vacation or to meet with business prospects, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norfolk Airport offers brand new accommodations to give you the best possible stay. A convenient commute for the business traveler, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norfolk Airport offers easy access to many local businesses: Norfolk Industrial Park, Lake Wright Executive Center, CHKD, Virginia Wesleyan, Norfolk State University, Old Dominion University, NAB Little Creek, NAS Oceana, Fort Story Naval Station, Naval Station Norfolk. Leisure travelers can enjoy a hotel that embodies the spirit of Norfolk and the mermaid legend. Atargatis welcomes you to the city of art, entertainment, culture, and natural beauty! Favorites include: Nauticus, Virginia Beach Ocean Front, MacArthur Center, Norfolk Botanical Gardens, Norfolk Zoo, Chrysler Museum, Scope, The Norva, Verizon Amphitheater, Battle Ship Wisconsin, Norfolk Cruise Port. Then journey to Historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Norfolk International Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.