We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1157 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 40 hotels in Norfolk
Prince William County, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I read that the hotel is 4 years old. You wouldn't know it. Very attractive décor, and everything was sparkling clean. One of the nicest reasonably priced hotels we have stayed in. The suite arrangement made for a very comfortable stay. Free breakfast and free Wi-Fi, all pluses.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Traveler!

Thank you so much for your kind words and review of our property. It is our goal to provide you with the best experience possible when staying with us, as we are pleased to know that was done.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    34
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
14
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for a month for a business trip. There are many restaurants within walking distance or the van will take you if you dont feel like crossing the busy road. Walgreens in the same parking lot, and Food Lion and Target next door.
The van will also take you to the light rail station about 10 minutes from the hotel.
The rooms were okay, but I would not call them suites. They include a microwave and fridge, which is wonderful to have for extended stay. I did have a whirlpoool jacuzzi in my room.
The business center needs new equipment.
The pool was clean, but the patio could use a bit of decor.
The entire staff was pleasant and helpful.
All in all I was happy with the hotel for a 30 day stay, and would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Greeting Traveler!

Thank you so much for your review of the property! We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with our hotel. I am sorry that you didn’t get to experience one of our suites as it seems that you were in the Whirlpool room during your entire stay, which is different from our standard 2 room suites. Next time you are in the area, please let us know so you can experience the true “suites” experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Outward appearance was clean and neat. But that is where the similarities to a real Holiday Inn Express ended. I am paid to notice detail in my job, I do the same at the hotels I stay at. Below is what I found, in no particular order. Date of visit was August 6-8-2013.
1. Weight Scale was broken in Exercise Room
2. No sanitary solution to wipe down equipment in Exercise Room.
3. No coffee was available at 11:00 am. Had to wait until 12:00 pm
4. Regular Express breakfast last till 10:00, this place is 9:30 am.
5. The breakfast attendant was rude and did not have his shirt tucked in. Sloppy appearance
6. The food at breakfast were biscuits wrapped up in plastic. They looked like someone made them at home and brought them to work.
7. The sweet rolls were cut into quarters for some reason. Must have bought big ones and wanted to make appear to be smaller?
8. The breakfast appeared to outsourced or something.
9. Was presented with no Platinum gift at check in.
10. The printer in the business center was broken. Both days I was there.
11. TV reception was in and out. TV's keep freezing up for several seconds at a time.
12. No newspaper was delivered to room
13. The bill was not delivered to room as with real HI Express
14. The TV in the exercise room had a big black spot in it the size of a basketball.
15. The back door sign said door was locked at 11:00 pm. Was locked at 10:00 pm when I returned with arm full of groceries.

This is not a Holiday Inn Express. I hope HI takes a look at the facility soon. It may not be a bad hotel for the area, but it is not a HI Express. Save your 130$ or more and stay somewhere else until you don't mind the above. I t

Room Tip: It has a pool for the kids, children would not notice any of the things that I did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Greeting Traveler,
Thank you so much for your detailed list of items that were not up to your standards and wanted to address them, as we pride ourselves as being the Top Hoilday Inn Property in Norfolk.

1. The weight scale issue has been reported to Engineering for follow up.
2. No solution being available has been reported to Housekeeping for follow up.
3. Coffee all day is not a brand requirement with Holiday Inn Express. Coffee is only required to be served during the breakfast hours, and anytime after that is at the hotel’s discretion.
4. Regular Express breakfast hours are Monday-Friday 6:00am-9:30am, Saturday-Sunday 7am-10am, per brand standards. If the breakfast was shut down early, please let us know so we can address that with the Supervisor.
5. Your assessment of the Supervisor being rude has been addressed.
6. Biscuits wrapped in plastic are for sanitary reasons and to keep them from getting hard under the heat lamps. The biscuits are made in the kitchen at the hotel.
7. You are correct about the cinnamon rolls, they were cut into quarters because they were so big and to prevent waste as their original size is often times too much for one person to eat and gets discarded. It is our way of assisting to eliminate as much food waste as possible.
8. Not sure what this issue is in regards to exactly.
9. Platinum members are to receive water and a cookie at check in. We apologize that this did not happen, and it has been brought to the Front Desk Manager’s attention.
10. The printer in the business center has been down for a few days while we await a repair piece. A note was placed on the printer stating it was Out of Order, however, it would appear that note was removed.
11. The TV issue your experienced has been reported to the cable provider.
12. News papers are not delivered to the room, they are available at the Front Desk.
13. The bills are not delivered to the room as the bottom of the doors are flush with the floor, so the bills can’t be slid under. For security and your safety, the bills are kept at the Front Desk to prevent an individual from getting your information.
14. The TV in the work out room has been looked at and no spot was found.
15. All doors to the hotel, with the exception of the front door, are locked at all times and require a key to access the hotel. This is for the security of the guest and the hotel.

It is our hope that you reported these issue while on property to the proper management so that an attempt to fix and explain would be made. As an experienced traveler, we know that staying in a hotel is what you know and appreciate your feedback. Hopefully, the above responses can assist in giving you a better idea of our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and invite any more suggestions/concerns that you may have.

Lewis Tedesco
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norfolk Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were just at this Hotel for a cheer competition. Being that our daughter is a competitive cheerleader - we have stayed in many hotels over the years. By far - this is the nicest and cleanest hotel we have ever stayed at. The staff is very friendly and helpful. When our cheerleaders came back with 1st thru 4th place wins at Nationals - they let us have a ice cream social right in the breakfast area and even let us use the big screen tv so the girls could see the video of the competition! They are doing a great job and if Nationals are ever hosted in Virginia again - we will be sure to stay there!! Fantastic place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello Traveler!

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am very pleased that you found our hotel to be clean and our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Rooms were clean and staff was very nice. An added bonus was that they have a shuttle that runs 24/7 that will take you anywhere in a 5 mile radius! That was great in that I did not need a car while near the airport and was able to run to Walmart and close eating places. The shuttle driver (an older gentleman) was great in speaking of all of his grandchildren and wonderful experiences!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Traveler!

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

A hotel I believe almost brand new (less than 5 yrs.) that in perfect condition with location near airport, shopping & restaurants, & abt. 12 miles away from VA beach. It's our 2nd time we now stayed in this hotel & we're very satisfied with the cleanliness all throughout from the rooms (we got 2 rooms this time), lobby & dine area, hallways & elevators, & also with ample parking spaces. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello Toyniki,
Thanks for your great review of our hotel. You are correct, we are less than 5 years old and are very pleased that you found us to still look almost brand new. One of the biggest “selling points” to the hotel is that we are close to the airport for travelers and just a very short drive to the Oceanfront. We appreciate that you have decided to visit us for the second time and that we have met your standard again! We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

My family of 5 (3 children 16, 7, and 2) spent 8 nights here and not once did we feel crowded in the spacious room. The bedroom is separated from the living room by a full wall and door unlike many hotel suites that where the sleeping area is merely separated from the living area by a 1/2 wall. The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly. The free breakfast wasn't nothing special and there were small nits that keep me from giving the hotel a 5. My kids all loved the pool and the hotel was conveniently located.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressNorfolk, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hello Ernest_Schenk,
What a great review! It is always great to hear that families found out spacious rooms to fit their needs! We pride ourselves on having the biggest standard sleeping rooms in Norfolk and are glad that you found it to be true as well. We currently are working on new things for our breakfast line and are sorry that the “small nits” occurred which prevented you from giving us a 5, but hope that you brought it to someone’s attention so we are able to assess and fix.
We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Norfolk International Airport
Address: 1157 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Norfolk hotel near Norfolk International Airport offers a free airport shuttle! We are three miles from Norfolk International Airport. Centrally located in Hampton Roads with easy access to Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Suffolk, Hampton, Chesapeake, Newport News, Williamsburg. Whether you are coming to Norfolk on vacation or to meet with business prospects, The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norfolk Airport offers brand new accommodations to give you the best possible stay. A convenient commute for the business traveler, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norfolk Airport offers easy access to many local businesses: Norfolk Industrial Park, Lake Wright Executive Center, CHKD, Virginia Wesleyan, Norfolk State University, Old Dominion University, NAB Little Creek, NAS Oceana, Fort Story Naval Station, Naval Station Norfolk. Leisure travelers can enjoy a hotel that embodies the spirit of Norfolk and the mermaid legend. Atargatis welcomes you to the city of art, entertainment, culture, and natural beauty! Favorites include: Nauticus, Virginia Beach Ocean Front, MacArthur Center, Norfolk Botanical Gardens, Norfolk Zoo, Chrysler Museum, Scope, The Norva, Verizon Amphitheater, Battle Ship Wisconsin, Norfolk Cruise Port. Then journey to Historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.