We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodations and staff were exceptional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Norfolk Plaza Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
boone, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Accomodations and staff were exceptional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights in a wonderful suite.. It had two double sleep number beds that were super comfortable, and the suite was very spacious. Our suite was neatened every day by a quiet and discreet housekeeping staff. They had a business center where we could use and even print for free. There were a few minor problems that kept us from giving 5 stars. The toilet was located very close to the wall, which made it very cramped. Also there was no vent fan in the bathroom, so it fogged up for a while. Also the parking lot was disconnected and there was no elevator down to it. But these are minor issues, and the rooms and staff more than made up for them. Overall, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    39
    29
    35
    26
See reviews for
45
33
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

There was a seven dollar nightly parking fee. when I went for ice I hit two floors above the 7th and then 1 below, and having no luck called front desk. The desk informed me there were only 2 machines on the 2nd floor or the 11th floor. Iasked are you kidding and he said no. There was an odd smell in the hallways, suspect it was wallpaper glue, very noxious. Surrounding area seemed a little rough for wandering around in. Under the circumstances rates should have been a lot lower.

Bill

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

I used the name your price feature on Priceline.com and got an excellent rate of $45. The hotel has been refurbished and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The facility is dimly lit including the bathroom. The hallways and lobby have a very odd smell.

I also did not have hot water or water pressure during my stay. I made several complaints to the front desk staff and they were not able to correct the problem.

All around, this is a nice property...but I would have been very disappointed if I paid full price for a room

Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

We stayed four days with the first being 6 days after the hotel had re-opened, this time under the Crown Plaza brand The hotel is totally refurbished (although not a high end refurbish/finish) and is the old Holiday Inn. It is across the street from the Scope which is the concert hall/auditorium. It is not in the best part of Norfolk; it is away from the water and across from the Greyhound Bus terminal. Nice property, beautiful pool, big grounds, nice beds, and the kids had fun, but I would not venture off the property at night unless by car with locked doors,

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

Stayed at hotel for 12 days, must say after reading reviews was a little leary due to the length i would be there. I was very much surprised....suite was large and spacious and relaxing. Located right downtown had no problems finding places to eat, and the hotel had a nice pub downstairs and the food was good and priced well. Staff was helpful and very friendly, maid service went out of there way to make me feel at home and personally asked if i needed anything every day when i got back to my room from work. I would stay there again. there is construction around downtown but i had no problems dealing with that. Once the pool and the grounds get done it will be very inviting in the summer. See you next trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNGM, General manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2010
Thank you for your comments, we are happy that we were able to make your stay with us more enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit. Our Brand Promist is for a better meeting experience and a better night's sleep, thank you for choosing the CROWNE PLAZA NORFOLK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown

Address: 700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Norfolk Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.