We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“appreciation of staff in conducting convention and support, aug 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Norfolk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norfolk Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Norfolk Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
jacksonville, al
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“appreciation of staff in conducting convention and support, aug 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I would like to recommend this hotel and their staff if you are just staying as an individual or using it as place to hold a professional conventional. It was my pleasure to be a guest at this hotel, a delegate at the convention for the US Women's Army Corp, and responsible for opening/operating a hospitality room for the convention delegates and their guests for a period of five(5) days.
Angelo Economou, Director of Catering; Larry Sauger, Dir of Guest Satisfaction; Anthony Sellers, Chef; Sean Bradley, Morning Buffet Server; Johnny Ethridge, Morning Cook; Amber, #1 Bartenter; Sheena King, Telfq Pettaaway @ the front desk all did their very best to make a very enjoyable, smooth working occasion for myself and the convention attendees. Running a hospitality room for that period of time is usually very difficult but this staff made it work. many thanks from many veterans. p.s. I was also impressed by the present of a security officer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about our staff. We pride ourselves on the level of service we give to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    36
    25
    28
    20
See reviews for
37
27
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel needs upgrade; Internet only worked on upper floors; only one (of 4) elevators worked. Hotel made special inexpensive menus in the bar when our convention didn't have meals. No gift shop. Hotel was NOT handicapped accessible. Many stairs to get in/out of the hotel.

Room Tip: Internet doesn't work on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff. We strive to make sure we have the best people in the industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is allright and the furniture is outdated and the hallways were so stinky you could barely breathe.
It had 4 elevators and only 1 worked, it used to be a crown plaza but now it is only a plaza and it shows, it is right in downtown but is lonely in the area so you cant walk any where cause is a bit scary

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are working hard to improve the hotel and we appreciate the time you took to write with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I had a really great stay at this hotel. The hotel staff, namely Cheryl Taylor and Evelyn the hotel supervisor, are excellent in their great care, pleasant personality, and quality of service. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. We strive to hire and train the best in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olongapo City, Olongapo, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I enjoyed my stay in the hotel because the staff made up for any of the short comings in maintenance.
PROS - When I returned from work my room was clean and ready to for my stay that day.I just want say the lady who took care of my floor (Monique) always did an exceptional job and always had my room taken care of before I returned during my stay.

CONS -There is one working elevator still after 2 weeks here and that includes the cleaning staff must use it as well so at peak times on the weekend it can get annoying for everyone involved. When I used the luggage carrier all the wheels have low air pressure.

Room Tip: Any room on the 11th floor if you really need good dependable internet. Stay off the 10th floor I co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff. We are striving to provide the best staff to make all of our guests enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The company I work for has a partnership with the hotel. Staying for the first time I didn’t know what to expect. Upon arrival the décor is appealing and relaxing. The location was ideal for entertaining with a great view of the city. I stayed at the hotel for approximately two weeks. The staff were pleasant and very accommodating. The guest service personnel, Monique was very kind, courteous, and professional. If you’re looking for an ideal hotel in a great location and good staff consider the Norfolk Plaza.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff. We strive to provide the best service possible to all of our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We'd read the reviews, and were prepared for the worst. There have been many improvements in the past month, and it's very obvious the staff is working hard, but it's an uphill battle. This is an older hotel, sold by the original chain (InterContinental), and now under different management.

First the good news: The hotel is located close to downtown Norfolk, and in walking distance if you're a walker to several important highlights (MacArthur Center, USS Wisconsin, etc.).

The pool has been renovated and is open -- it's lovely! It's crystal clear, spotless, and a great way to spend an hour to two or get in a good swim (it's a very nice size). Beware, there is no railing to help you when you get in or out, so if you need a bit of help take a strong friend. You'll also have to go down some stairs to get to the pool. The fitness center has two new high end treadmills with TV monitor (so new the monitors weren't hooked up), but a nice surprise after the ratings. There's also a stationery bicycle and an elliptical (didn't try either, but both were in use).

Breakfast was excellent. A small buffet, kept replenished and fresh. Excellent scrambled eggs (and I'm not a fan), bacon, mild sausage, grits, oatmeal (this too was fresh and good), selection of bread, rolls, muffins, fresh fruit, juice, yogurt, coffee, tea, etc.

The front desk, maintenance and cleaning staff were all excellent and were as responsive as they could possibly be. Then can't change the physical deficiencies quickly, but they did everything they could to assist. The front desk clerks were particularly helpful recommending restaurants and directing us to them -- this help was outstanding.

Now for the not so good: the hotel sits up, you can drive up a ramp to the front door and unload (the main entrance is OK, but ramp from or to the parking area is very tight), but there are only two or three handicapped parking spots at the top of the ramp. Otherwise access from the parking lot is by a rather long and steep staircase. There is NO elevator access from the parking area which is one story below the hotel entrance. Normal rate is $10 per day to park.

One of the maintenance challenges is drain for the wall air conditioning unit in each room. These drains become easily clogged, and once clogged the condensation flows onto the rug with predictable results. The first two rooms we were in smelled musty and had wet carpet under the A/C (if you stay here check this first!). We also had a problem with the security latch (missing), but it was quickly fixed.

One elevator reliably works, a second was available at times.

The worst experience was a series of banquets hosted at the hotel. Unfortunately it was painfully obvious that the serving staff had zero experience serving! At one a young woman approached our table with a tray of salads and handed them to us to pass around to the others. The same happened with the main course handed to us complete with covers. The hot meal was not even luke warm. Pasta had long since soaked up sauce and we asked for more. The request was promptly filled, but the server brought the stainless kitchen container complete with large ladle. Well, got our sauce. This is clearly an experience and training issue. The other two banquets had similar issues. I've never seen service like this at a banquet, and seldom at a restaurant.

Bottom line: They're trying, and their attitude goes a long way to making the stay acceptable. If you need accommodation due to a handicap you need to stay elsewhere. Catering staff needs much work.

Room Tip: First, smell the room. If it's musty ask for another. Second check the rug by the A/C unit to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Norfolk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the improvements we have tried to make at the hotel. We are always looking to the feedback from our guests in order to improve all aspects of our guests stay. I am sorry the banquet you attended did not go completely right, but we will make every attempt to solve these problems in the future.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Norfolk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Plaza Hotel

Address: 700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Norfolk Downtown)
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norfolk Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norfolk Plaza Hotel is an upscale newly renovated hotel with a retro flair. We are one of the best values in Norfolk and have the lowest parking fees of any hotel downtown. We have 15,000 square feet of meeting space with state of the art capabilities. High Speed wireless internet access the entire hotel. Olympic size outdoor pool. New fitness equipment and free weights in our large fitness room. Dining on property at our upscale Black Tuna Grill serving breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Norfolk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;