We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norfolk NS Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 East Oceanview Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Norfolk NS Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We recently stayed at the Holiday Sands for the second time. Both stays were great. A short drive to the base or downtown Norfolk (15 minutes). Just down the road from Little Creek. Norfolk Airport (ORF) and Botanical Gardens about six miles away.The hotel is pet friendly and there are several places to walk the dog. Room we stayed in had laminate flooring, a great idea for a pet friendly room ! Close to restaurants and grocery stores. Has a very good (FREE) breakfast with friendly, helpful staff. Right on the beach - very quiet most of the time. Great view of Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel. Good views of US Navy ships and aircraft headed to NS Norfolk.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are more private, has balcony. Upper floors (has 5) have great view of Chesapeake Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
I am excited to hear that you had a great stay with us for the second time, and hope that you have many more great stays with us if you visit the area again. We do have a great little area here, and as you mentioned we are nicely centrally located to almost everything. 20 minutes to the downtown area, 15 minutes to the airport, 30 minutes to the Virginia Beach oceanfront, and just minutes away from several great eateries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    168
    72
    27
    30
See reviews for
235
112
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainelle, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This Hotel has a very good location only minutes away from Virginia Beach, also has its own private beach, very clean, supportive staff. My second year bringing my family to vacation here.. {We Love It}. Great job to Taneisha and to John for being so helpful. Thanks so much from Kim and Curtis Mcclung

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for such kind words. I am glad to hear that for a second year in a row that you have enjoyed your stay here with us. My staff is always willing and eager to go that extra mile to make sure our guests' stay are as enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This facility was clean, comfortable, service was superior. Location was perfent for beach goers. Breakfast was good. Fitness center needed work, but usable, pool was clean. Bed was extremely comfortable. Pullout sofa was old and not comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for taking a few minutes out of your busy schedule to let me know about you stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had a great time and they staff took great care of you. Then equipment in the fitness room is only a few months old, but we are always open to suggestions and idea about what our guests would like to see on the property. I am sorry that you did not find the sleeper sofa comfortable, we are continually researching and trying new things to improve the comfort and sleep quality of the sleeper sofas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The cleanest, most well ran property i've come across, and i actually manage a best western myself. The quality of this hotel is incomparable to even brand new state of the art hotels. Thanks for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
I am glad to hard that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate the kind words. While we do not consider ourselves to be perfect, we do take pride in doing everything we can to make sure the property is clean and well maintained, and also to make sure that our guests are well taken care of and that they do not feel like they are just guests of a hotel, but they feel like they are a member of the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I chose this hotel for our mini family getaway to the beach. It was perfect, I traveled with the extended family and a total of 5 kids. We reserved 2 rooms each being a 2-Room King Suite. (As I was checking out I got a tour of the manager's suite which is only available by phone but worth the price as its huge (large living room, large gourmet kitchen and dinning room table for 6-8; sleeper sofa, and 2 br, 2 ba - splinting the cost with the family makes it just that much affordable). The beach is on the Bay side (the waves are not as mellow as at First Landing State Park 20 minutes up the road), but perfect for bogie boarding! Note the beach is right out the back door. The pool and patio is fantastic, with charcoal grills available for your use. Most importantly, the staff is friendly and the place is immaculate. If the kids have the need to run to the bathroom while at the pool or beach, there is a bathroom on the lower level in the laundry room so you don't have to run up to your room. The hotel is conveniently near a few fast food restaurants and a grocery store. Overall, it was perfect! way to kick off my summer!

Room Tip: 1) the 3 rooms next to the fitness center on the upper level; 2) the manager's suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
I am so happy to hear that we were able to help make you mini vacation an enjoyable one. We are one of the only hotels in Ocean View that is beach from property with direct beach access. My staff does a great job in making sure the property stays clean and well kept. They also do a wonderful job in making our guest feel like they are at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I realize it's summer and rates are higher than usual, but when I spend almost $370.00 for a TWO night stay at a hotel, I expect much more than the BW-Sands gave for my money. 1. Even though the furniture has been updated, it was dirty. There were very obvious stains and marks on the couch and chair. The desk chair looked it had been scratched up by a dog. 2. The edges of the carpet are fraying and make it easy for someone to catch a heel of their shoe on - which I did and fell into the kitchen area. Not everyone goes barefoot or wears flip-flops in a hotel room, some of us wear heels when we are getting ready to go out for dinner at the Cheesecake Factory. 3. In the shower it is clear that there is water leaking behind the new surrounds, because the bottom always looks wet. 4. The air conditioner in our room - the front was not attached to the unit. Big gap between the cover and the inner works and Noisy! 5. Because we slept in and did not leave our room until after 1 p.m. - we got no maid service! Not a good value for what they charge per night.Probably will look for something at Va Beach next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to tell us about you stay, I really appreciate the candidness of your review and am sorry that we were not able to exceed your expectations. My staff takes great pride in trying to keep the property up and as clean as possible, but sometimes a few little things do slip through the crack. I am hoping that you reported any issues to the front desk as soon as they arose giving us opportunity to correct any issues we may have missed to hopefully make your stay a little better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for two years in a row. It's a nice hotel, good breakfast, good location. The beach is ideal for small kids, the water isn't rough and the beach isn't crowded. We used the pool about as much as the beach. I think you'll enjoy this hotel too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad to hear that for a second year in a row that you have enjoyed your stay here. Like yourself many find the gentle waves and uncrowded laid back atmosphere of the bay the best place to enjoy a nice beach getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 1330 East Oceanview Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Sands Hotel Norfolk
Best Western Norfolk
Norfolk Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.