We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 East Oceanview Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pleasant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Checking in at the Best Western Holiday Sands is like going home. The staff greets guests with a "welcome home" attitude. they are very pleasant and work hard to accommodate. I stay at this hotel frequently and will continue in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    139
    58
    23
    29
See reviews for
184
88
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

First the good: Bathroom had been updated, large screen tv, large patio and beachfront(would be good in season. good breakfast(best part of stay), friendly staff.
The bad: Hotel was designed and built in another era. Room was very small and had little room to move around. This could be worked around if the mattress was not the most uncomfortable ever. My wife an I both could not sleep. Certainly not a Plus level hotel except for location.

Room Tip: Ask to check the mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stay at this hotel every time I come into Norfolk for both business and pleasure. It is the nicest hotel in Norfolk that is ocean front. If you stay in the towers every room has a balcony that faces the ocean. The room is wonderfully decorated and always clean. Breakfast is great and they have fresh coffee in the lobby 24 hours a day. All new fitness equipment...staff is friendly and bends over backwards to help. I just love this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We are glad to hear that you love our property and staff, and continue to stay with us. Hopefully we will continue to be your choice of lodging when in the Norfolk area for many many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great place to stay for a winter meeting that is held annually in this area. Hotel staff is very accommodating from the time of the original reservation until check out. They've recently updated the interior of the room, which is a plus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs while here for your meeting. We are glad that you enoyed the updates that we had started makeing while you were here. We are currently in the process of a 36 month renovation and hope that you will come see us again when you are in the area to see what other exciting updates we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk, va, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel has the very best staff we have encountered. The rooms are small and old, but very, very clean. WE were totally pleased with this stay in spite of the cold weather there at our return stay on January 23. Their breakfast is excellent as are all the staff we encountered. A new light bulb was installed immediately upon notice. The price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
I am glad to hear that my staff took great care of you and made your stay memerable. They take great pride in their southern hospitality and making all of our guests feel like they are home and part of the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We booked and paid extra for an ocean view room in January, thinking it would be beautiful to see the ocean any time of the year, but didn't realize how old this "hotel"/ MOTEL really is. The wind and cold air was so strong coming into the room that I had to block the balcony door opening with all the bed pillows and lean the desk chair against them to hold them in place... it was the only way to stop the deafening wind sound and keep the cold air from coming in. The pictures on line make the rooms and motel look more luxurious than they are in person. They are nicely painted and clean but should not be charging the regular Beat Western premium rates given how out dated the building is. Plus we had to go outside and get in our car to drive to the room where they offered the free breakfast in a room at the bottom level of the motel portion. I thought I was booking a hotel room that had an ocean view and a lobby etc so I was disappointed to have to travel in and out plus the fact that my "in" was cold and windy didn't help...at a premium price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay while you were with us. The bay is gorgeous any time of the year, but I do understand how it would be hard to enjoy when there are issues. I don't see it mentioned, but I am hoping that if you did report the issue to my staff that they did everything in their power to try and make your stay better.

As far as having to leave your room and go outside to go to the lobby and breakfast room, the online pictures do show that we are an exterior corridor property, but would like to apologize if any of our pictures lead you to beleive anything else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Decent/large rooms, and an amazing staff! Great value! The area is a bit shady, but that's not Best Westerns fault. Highly recommended. I've stayed twice now. Once for about 10 days straight. The cleaning staff returned a fairly expensive video game system and games when they could have easily pocketed it. The associate at the front desk called me, and even held on to it for a few days until we were able to pick it up.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed both of your stays with us, and that my staff took great care of you. If you are ever in the area again, please come see us again, and see all the exciting updates we have in the works.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 1330 East Oceanview Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Sands Hotel Norfolk
Best Western Norfolk
Norfolk Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.