We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 East Oceanview Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chester, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The most spectacular views of the bay and at night the Chesapeake bay bridge all lit is beautiful. I have seen dolphin and a stunning array of birds. Also being so close to the navy when the ships go by you can feel proud of our mighty force. Overall this is my favorite retreat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for the great review, I see that you are a returning guest and appreciate your continuing patronage. While the view you get of the bay from our balcony rooms is stunning in itself, it does add a little majesty seeing the dolphins and seabirds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    136
    58
    23
    27
See reviews for
178
87
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I took a 2-night retreat at this hotel in order to get focused on my writing and between the friendly staff, accommodations and GREAT VIEW of the Chesapeake Bay, sea grass, dunes, water and sunrises I was able to concentrate with ease and get a LOT of work done. I stayed at the 5-story oceanfront suite (refrig. and stove were all in good working order!) of the building in early January and only paid $80 per night which was a very good deal (not great) for this time of year--the breakfast is exceptional (two hot breakfasts including two types of waffles) and coffee and juice was available 24-7. Great time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
I am ecstatic to hear that you had such a great time with us. I am sure that after your stay with us, you have no problems believing when I say we have had several writers spend weekends with us to have alone time for their writing. With the spectacular view of the bay, beach, dunes, and Bay Bridge Tunnel, how could one not be inspired to write?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. It is always clean and staff is helpful with directions. Love the view of the beach and the kitchen in the room. Breakfast is fine - hot foods and a nice variety.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
I am glad to hear that you had another enjoyable stay with us, and also glad to hear that my staff once again took good care of you and helped with making sure you knew where to go for some of our local favorite restaurants, and attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife, mother-in-law, and I stayed here for one night on Thanksgiving Day (11/28/2013) after driving 6 hours from Pennsylvania to Virginia. My wife & I had room 710, and my mother-in-law had adjoining room (711), and she is 91 years old with very poor eyesight due to macular degeneration. Thankfully, my wife was with her at 10:30pm to help her for bedtime. After pulling back the bedspread, the bed was visibly infested with bed bugs. I put three live bugs from the sheets into a plastic cup, and took them to the front office. Front desk clerk David saw the live bugs and was very apologetic, and told me he credited the full cost of that room. The three of us stayed (because it was already late at night) in room 710 but spent a lot of time inspecting the beds. Needless to say, we didn't sleep much that night. In the morning, the dayshift desk clerk Tamisha told me that both rooms would be fully charged to my credit card, and that the night shift clerk David was wrong, and that an 'investigation' needed to be performed. I demanded to see the manager, but he wasn't available. She gave me a 2-page form (Incident Report) which I filled out thoroughly. I asked for a photocopy, but she refused saying that their insurance did not allow staff to provide patrons any copy of the report (that I filled out)! After 20 minutes of complaining, she finally did give me a 50% credit for the one infested room. A couple days later, another employee Joe called me and told me both rooms would be fumigated, and that he got the manager to approve the other 50% on room 711. I now see many other reports of bed bugs at this same location. Shame on you, Best Western. I have been a Rewards Member for several years, but will never again stay at a Best Western hotel. And I will make sure my friends and co-workers are also aware of how this terrible incident was so poorly handled.

Room Tip: Do Not Book This Hotel - Bed Bug Problems, and Very Poor Customer Service by Staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
I am sorry that your stay with us was less then stellar and that you had some problems while you were here. We take any and all reports of bedbugs seriously and as soon as a guest reports even the possibility of bedbugs we shut down the room, and contact our pest control contractor (Orkin) to come out and due a full and complete inspection on the room, and treat it if need be. I am not sure where the miscommunication about credits and such was with my staff, but we have since had a meeting and reviewed policies to make sure they are all aware of how to handle situations like this. I once again offer my sincerest apologies to you and your family for us not exceeding your expectations while staying with us over the Thanksgiving holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I think Best Western has the best beds. We always look for a Best Western first on our travels. Tiffany at the front desk was great. S he printed out directions and a map for a stop we needed to make and suggested a great seafood diner spot right down the road , Mr Groovys. It was great !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are glad that you could find a good night sleep with us. Unlike the story of Goldilocks & the Three Bears, when staying at a hotel it is not as simple as simple as just moving from bed to bed until you find one you like. We do take great pride in having comfortable beds here; we would not put any beds for our guests out that we would not sleep on ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I had two dogs. Large dogs and the hotel was very clean and I liked the suite. It is hard to find a hotel that accepts large dogs. The deposit price and nightly dog fees were reasonable. Will definitely stay here whenever I come home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are glad to hear that you and your two traveling companions had a great stay with us. Although more and more hotels are starting to accept dogs, you are right in that fact that many still do not accept larger dogs. While we do have a weight limit on the dogs we accept, at 85 pounds, we are able to accommodate larger dogs here on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

A great stay due to a wonderful staff. The view with the balcony rooms are nothing short of fantastic. The staff are there for you for all of your needs and are proud to serve the guests. The beautiful view of the bay is absolutely beautiful as the Navy ships and civilian ships pass by through the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel. The visit is wonderful and relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking time to let us know out your stay with us, we are really glad to hear that your stay made a memorable impression on you. From your description of your view, we are guessing that you stayed in one of our tower rooms. They have by far the best view of the bay in the area. Next time you are with us, besides the ships in the bay, if you keep an eye out closer to the shore line, there are dolphins regularly feeding and playing right behind the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 1330 East Oceanview Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Best Value Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Best Western, Venere and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Sands Hotel Norfolk
Best Western Norfolk
Norfolk Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.