We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place at the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 East Oceanview Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
“nice place at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

everything was great-service, place, location, pool, deck, balcony, ocean, close to restaurants, entertainment but private. the neighborhood used to be sketchy but there has been an overall revival, rebuild and the oceanfront properties are now very expensive with a good group of people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHSIS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property, and we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The area has seen many changes though the years and is definitely on a major upswing from what it used to be several years ago years ago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    158
    67
    26
    31
See reviews for
214
108
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

we have been staying at best western for many years. it can't be beat! we enjoy the pool ,beach, the rooms and the great staff that makes everything exceptional ,we just love it here at the best western holiday sands.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHSIS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your many visits to our property, we are glad to hear that you continuously enjoy your stays with us, and hope to see you for many more years to come
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is one of the old-school building blocks exterior walkway variety, but is very clean and has been refurbished recently. It was the week after Labor Day but the pool was still open and their private beach was nice. There was also a newly furnished patio area to overlook the view of the bay. Our room was an AARP special for $65 a night. The room was clean and recently painted with a large flat screen TV. Unfortunately it was also very tiny. There was a path of about 18 inches between the bed and the rest of furniture or the walls. This also meant the old fashioned a/cheating unit positioned under the window blew directly on the bed. Anyone on that side of the bed got an arctic blast when the A/C fired up. We were only there for one night, but that was enough. You get what you pay for. They probably have better rooms. Check before you go.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHSIS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean pool/patio area, and rooms, our maintenance and housekeeping staff take great pride in trying to keep the property in tip-top shape. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room size. From the description it sounds that you were possibly staying in one of our “Singles” which is the smallest room type on the property. We offer 9 different room types that range in size from our “Single” to our Manager's Suite which is a 600 square foot apartment. We hope that if you are ever in the area again that you decide to stay with us, and try out one of our larger rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was excellent for the FULL breakfast service, location on the beach and staff. I only rated it average due to the carpet and sofas in the rooms needing replacing (which was the case the prior year). I would recommend this for a family/friends for an inexpensive vacation on the water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHSIS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, that you liked our breakfast and my staff took great care of you. I would like to thank you for sharing your feelings with me on our carpets and sofas in the rooms. We are currently working with the Best Western design staff and planning several upgrades to the property which hopefully will include carpeting and furnishings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there on Labor Day weekend "it's not worth "200" a night. The only updated part of the hotel is the lobby. Service is great, view is great, but everything else is out dated. The best western is a motel not a hotel. I would not go there just because its just not worth it!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHSIS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking a few minutes to give us your opinion on our property. The staff here takes great pride in trying to make every guest feel like they are special. We sorry to hear that you feel our rooms were dated. Currently we are in the planning phase of a multi-stage renovation project and hope that if you are ever in our area again you give us the change to try to exceed you lodging expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had great time here. Great proximity to the beach very short walk with warm water and calm waves. Perfect for a family with small children. Facility was clean. Pool was warm and clean. towels provided for pool area (which we also used on the beach) Great rock formation down the beach for crabbing. VA beach a short drive away. Decent breakfast for an included breakfast. Friendly staff more than willing to answer questions and help out however they can. Free wifi and parking a big plus. Down size was the very tiny kitchen and one bathroom. Also kitchen was limited to the things the provided for you to use and didn't look like sets sorta hodge podge.

Room Tip: Make sure you request ocean view cause I thought we were getting that but we did not. Cant see water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHSIS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us how you feel about our property, and are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed yourself. Thank you for bringing the kitchen ware to our attention, I will definitely look into that matter. As far as a larger kitchen and a second bathroom, we do have our 600 square foot Manager's Suite, which offers a living room, fully stocked kitchen and dining area, and two spacious bedrooms, each with their own bathroom, they may fit what you are looking for, for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Night Auditor and Desk clerk were very accommodating, caring, helpful, respectful, and most of all, pleasant. The room was very clean and comfortable. The food was o.k., I just wish that they would provide non pork meats. And the only other problem that I had was the cleaning staff knocking on the door before checkout time to inquire if I was checking out. One of the times I was in the bathroom and she actually opened the door. Other then that, it was great..... I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHSIS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will come stay with us again. I would like to apologize to you about your experience with our cleaning staff. I have addressed this issue with the housekeepers and hopefully have alleviated it from ever happening again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 1330 East Oceanview Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#6 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Sands Hotel Norfolk
Best Western Norfolk
Norfolk Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.