We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 East Oceanview Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This hotel is conveniently located near the airport plus it has beautiful ocean views. It is affordable and the staff is friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the carpets in our room had been recently cleaned and were still wet which was very unpleasant. The complimentary breakfast was better than some.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    189
    82
    31
    34
See reviews for
272
123
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This hotel has clearly deteriorated since the pictures on the website were taken. The sign is smashed out; the property is run-down: peeling paint, scruffy carpets; adhesive squares in the dirty elevator where signs have been removed, dingy hallways. The room smelled both musty and of cigars, despite the "no smoking unit" designation. There was a half-empty can of soda in the sink. We checked out at once, and the front desk staff said there would be no refund. I filled in the survey sent afterward by Best Western, and corporate gave me a full refund. But I would never make a reservation at this property again.
A

Room Tip: For a few dollars more, head down to Virginia Beach . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Spent the weekend of Sept 15th to Sept 18th at this Best Western as part of a travel package. We were in town to celebrate our Son-in-Law's promotion to Chief in the US Navy. We found the hotel to be the perfect distance to the base with the Little Creek entrance being just down the road. After a hellacious trip from the West Coast we arrived tired, grumpy and hungry and were greated by the friendliest, most helpful desk person. I wish I had gotten her name! We asked if there was anywhere to grab a bite and she said there were quite a few fast food places just down the road. "No sit down and have dinner places?", we whined??? As a young man continued our check in she was on the phone and when we finished up she told us she had just checked a local rib place for us and that they were still open and would wait for us!!!!!! Mojo Bones!!! A local Blues and Ribs bar, pretty empty but open and great food! A tricky local conned us out of a beer as three local guys entertained us from stage with some blues! Nothing better than a fun little out of the way local place to set the tone for the stay! Thanks desk staff for making our trip in feel like fun for the first time all day! The room was spotless, ocean front, and okay the little kitchen area a bit out of the 80's. Amazing view of the coast, just what we wanted. The desk said we could have our granddaughter's little birthday party out by the pool if we wanted!! Seriously, how much more friendly and helpful could that be??!!!! Yes, there was some distance from "the mall and chain restaurants. GOOD! Loved the view and the gracious staff! Wish the weather had cooperated for a walk on the beach but it galed all weekend! These desert dwellers loved being able to see the water again! Was it 5 star? No, but the staff made a 3 star into a 4 star! The staff and the ocean were the stars of this show!

Room Tip: I would choose to stay in what they call the towers. Elevator, elevator, elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Hotel in the middle of nowhere, 20 minute ride to shopping mall, chain restaraunts. Nearby convienece store very shady. Room itself was very run down. Refrigerator had no shelves or door brackets. Hole in the wall noted upon check. Chair in room never moved, old food and wrappers underneath, never vacuumed. Toiletry items never restocked. Tons of flies in breakfast area, breakfast very basic. Best features should been pool and beach view. Pool was dirty, no towels available. Unsupervised children in the pool making racisit/ anti Asian jokes. Cigarette butts everywhere. For the money this place was a dump.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
262 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Holiday Sands right after Hurricane Irene hit. The Hotel is showing a bit of wear & Tear and because of the hurricane they had power issues with there rooms. The Suite we got was dated. But the room was clean and more than enough room. They have a great beachfront area on the Chesapeak Bay and a nice deck & pool area. The pool was closed because of the hurricane. The breakfast in the morning was stanard. They do need to redo their rooms though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This hotel is a bit old. Not decorated very nicely and in the middle of nowhere as far as restaurants and attractions go but most things to do are about 20 minutes away. It's not the type of place where you would walk down the street. No restaurants immediately nearby. For the price it is not bad because we had a ocean(bay) view with a balcony. Walk on the beach is nice. There is a pool that is constantly crowded with people though.The room has a small microwave, stove and refrigerator although they seem to be very old. TV is old too. No flatscreens. Bathroom is extremely small.
If you stay here I would not expect much. Breakfast room is small and food/selection is ok but not great. If you are looking for a place to stay with a water view away from the major traffic of Virginia Beach then it will be fine. But if I returned to Norfolk I would not be anxious to return to this hotel. If you do go stay in the buidling that has the bacony/ocean view. There are 2 hotels here side by side.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This place has good beach access on the bay side. It is a typical beachfront hotel. The room did show its age, but was pretty clean. The breakfast was good. They had cereals, yogurt, waffles, bagels, etc. The morning I ate the breakfast, they were using chocolate waffle batter. It didn't seem very popular.
If I were returning to the Norfolk area again, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
7.5 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
7.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
4.7 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 1330 East Oceanview Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#5 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Sands Hotel Norfolk
Best Western Norfolk
Norfolk Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.