We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainy Stay on the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 East Oceanview Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Rainy Stay on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Spent the weekend of Sept 15th to Sept 18th at this Best Western as part of a travel package. We were in town to celebrate our Son-in-Law's promotion to Chief in the US Navy. We found the hotel to be the perfect distance to the base with the Little Creek entrance being just down the road. After a hellacious trip from the West Coast we arrived tired, grumpy and hungry and were greated by the friendliest, most helpful desk person. I wish I had gotten her name! We asked if there was anywhere to grab a bite and she said there were quite a few fast food places just down the road. "No sit down and have dinner places?", we whined??? As a young man continued our check in she was on the phone and when we finished up she told us she had just checked a local rib place for us and that they were still open and would wait for us!!!!!! Mojo Bones!!! A local Blues and Ribs bar, pretty empty but open and great food! A tricky local conned us out of a beer as three local guys entertained us from stage with some blues! Nothing better than a fun little out of the way local place to set the tone for the stay! Thanks desk staff for making our trip in feel like fun for the first time all day! The room was spotless, ocean front, and okay the little kitchen area a bit out of the 80's. Amazing view of the coast, just what we wanted. The desk said we could have our granddaughter's little birthday party out by the pool if we wanted!! Seriously, how much more friendly and helpful could that be??!!!! Yes, there was some distance from "the mall and chain restaurants. GOOD! Loved the view and the gracious staff! Wish the weather had cooperated for a walk on the beach but it galed all weekend! These desert dwellers loved being able to see the water again! Was it 5 star? No, but the staff made a 3 star into a 4 star! The staff and the ocean were the stars of this show!

Room Tip: I would choose to stay in what they call the towers. Elevator, elevator, elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    139
    58
    23
    29
See reviews for
184
88
20
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Hotel in the middle of nowhere, 20 minute ride to shopping mall, chain restaraunts. Nearby convienece store very shady. Room itself was very run down. Refrigerator had no shelves or door brackets. Hole in the wall noted upon check. Chair in room never moved, old food and wrappers underneath, never vacuumed. Toiletry items never restocked. Tons of flies in breakfast area, breakfast very basic. Best features should been pool and beach view. Pool was dirty, no towels available. Unsupervised children in the pool making racisit/ anti Asian jokes. Cigarette butts everywhere. For the money this place was a dump.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Holiday Sands right after Hurricane Irene hit. The Hotel is showing a bit of wear & Tear and because of the hurricane they had power issues with there rooms. The Suite we got was dated. But the room was clean and more than enough room. They have a great beachfront area on the Chesapeak Bay and a nice deck & pool area. The pool was closed because of the hurricane. The breakfast in the morning was stanard. They do need to redo their rooms though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This hotel is a bit old. Not decorated very nicely and in the middle of nowhere as far as restaurants and attractions go but most things to do are about 20 minutes away. It's not the type of place where you would walk down the street. No restaurants immediately nearby. For the price it is not bad because we had a ocean(bay) view with a balcony. Walk on the beach is nice. There is a pool that is constantly crowded with people though.The room has a small microwave, stove and refrigerator although they seem to be very old. TV is old too. No flatscreens. Bathroom is extremely small.
If you stay here I would not expect much. Breakfast room is small and food/selection is ok but not great. If you are looking for a place to stay with a water view away from the major traffic of Virginia Beach then it will be fine. But if I returned to Norfolk I would not be anxious to return to this hotel. If you do go stay in the buidling that has the bacony/ocean view. There are 2 hotels here side by side.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This place has good beach access on the bay side. It is a typical beachfront hotel. The room did show its age, but was pretty clean. The breakfast was good. They had cereals, yogurt, waffles, bagels, etc. The morning I ate the breakfast, they were using chocolate waffle batter. It didn't seem very popular.
If I were returning to the Norfolk area again, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed three nights here. Booked through our vacation club. Check in was quick and staff seemed friendly. We were given a suite on the 5th floor, had a complete kitchen and a balcony. Room was very clean and bed was very comfortable. Although after the first night , when we returned the following afternoon, maid had not vaccumed. They did on the second day. This is a primarily residential neighborhood so there are no places to eat close by. If you drive south on RT 60 you can find other eating spots, about 8-10 mi. Since we were sightseeing we ate elsewhere. The breakfast room is VERY small, 6 tables, and it was always packed. They can't seem to keep up with refilling various dishes etc. Everyone wants to make their own waffles so that creates a line. That would be my only complaint about this property. We would probably stay there again. Over all was happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Probably rooms in the 5 story building are the beast as they have ocean views and are elevator assce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We booked online( not knowing anything about this hotel) and drove 10 hours for our vacation and all the while wondering what kind of room did we book? it was scary not knowing all the way if we would have to look for a different hotel but to my surprise this place was awesome.The front desk staff were so nice and anything we didnt bring or couldnt buy they had it,Our room was great we had a beautiful ocean view from the big window and from the kitchen and bedroom too,the room was clean,the kitchen nice and the pool was great...we did not want to leave the staff was wonderfu,l the veiw was beautiful we will be back next year for a week we have found our new vacation spot,thank you

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 1330 East Oceanview Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Green Hotel in Norfolk
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Family Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Holiday Sands Hotel Norfolk
Best Western Norfolk
Norfolk Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.