We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What are your standards???” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5600 Lowery Road, Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What are your standards???”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

After reviewing the comments, I decided to book this hotel for my husband and son (As I was staying at another hotel in the area). Since I'm in the travel business, I do not like to send clients to places I can't put my stamp of approval. When arriving, we were greeted and checked-in. "Carmen" was really nice and informative. She let us know things happening at the Oceanfront. We didn't have to ask and this is a plus. When arriving to room 319, it was okay and clean. I was looking for the Wow!! Hotels should give you the feeling of home away from home. It had a queen bed, a recliner, desk and chair. Also a full refrigerator, a burner and other utensils. The bathroom was basic. No DVD as promised. Downfall it was small, no breakfast/restaurant and didn't have a pool. It is for business or couples more than a family hotel. More of a place to stay for delayed flights, home repairs etc. Prices are reasonable. This hotel is in an area of restaurants, shopping and other shops. It takes approximately 15-20 minutes to the Oceanfront. It may take a shorter distance earlier or later in the day. In no way am I suggesting that this hotel isn't a place for some of you to stay. It will definitely come down to your level of standards. Or what your looking for in a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
12
14
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pound
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were a long way from home and the staff couldn't have been more helpful...from directions to Walmart to places to eat. The suites are set up for people who plan to stay for an extended period of time..full size refrigerator with ice maker, two burner stove, coffee pot and all utensils needed for cooking, even dish detergent and towels. The beds were comfortable, bathroom, clean and well stocked, table/desk and chairs, lots of plug ins for make up mirrors and curling irons, phones, computers, etc. And last not but least was a comfortable lounge/recliner chair so you could lean back, relax, and watch your favorite television show. It's a great place to stay!

Room Tip: I didn't use the pool or restaurant, but it does have a tiny store in case you forgot something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed there last weekend, and have stayed many times before but not in a while. I was shocked to see that the service, was definitely not the same as my previous visits. There was no DVD in either the living room or bedroom, the bed was not bolted down, so every time I sat on the edge it lifted by the headboard. Look,My husband and I do this to get away from our 4 kids, but the room above us was having a party all night and I wished I was home with my kids it woulds have been quieter, even after I called the front desk at 12am, NO RESULTS, on top of I walked in for a room and was turned away at the front desk, and went to parking lot and called the 1 800 reservation room and received my confirmation without a problem, so what was the problem with me walking in and getting the same room?? Maybe because I wasn't in a suit in tie, Omar at the front desk doesn't need to judge a book by its cover, and maybe if Wanda the night desk clerk could stay woke long enough, she could handle nighttime discrepancys. I was really looking forward to a relaxing weekend away but after the 1st night I refused to stay the next night.

Room Tip: Choose a room on top floor so you don't have to hear any noise above you, because they won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsie C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and contacting Candlewood Suites regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to bring this matter to my attention and apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the lack of customer service provided to you during your stay.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situation can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to hare your comments with us, we know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to use IHG for your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stay at this hotel regularly and the staff seems to always exceeds my expectations. On Sunday night, I arrived at the hotel late, without reservations in hopes of a room being available. Sara, the front desk attendant, gave me a warn welcome and assigned me a room of my preference without me asking. After I checked in, Sara called my room to make sure everything was to my satisfaction. As always, the room was extremely clean and well supplied. During this same stay, Roscoe, the maintenance man, provided me with his phone charger when I discovered I had left mine at home. Roscoe told me to take my time and allowed me to fully charge my phone and blackberry.
I highly recommend this hotel and the staff that is second to none.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Had a great stay! Thanks Wanda! Nice bathroom, nice bed, very quiet. As mentioned staff was excellent. Would stay here again. Most likely will be back on business again. Parking is good and access to the lobby is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here one night recently and was very pleased.The staff was very friendly ,thanked me for being a club member and gave me a 5 dollar coupon for the cupboard,very nice.Room was very clean as was whole building,AC system worked well,spotless bathroom,bed very comfortable.
Used the exercise room ,very clean and all equipment worked.Washers ,dryers free use (you pay for detergent) they worked great.I have stayed in quite a few Candlewoods in my travels and found this to be one of the cleanest and most comfortable. Rates were also reasonable,highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Don't book through Hotels.com b/c the Candlewood Suites will play the stupid hotel vendor.

Arrived 27 September to a suite that smelled like urine in room 119. I was then directed to room 319 which had a worn carpet spot and also smelled like urine. After 5 minutes everyone was sick to their stomach. A small issue but the room came with one bath towel and upon a request for more towels one more was sent.

We checked out immediately after fleas were discovered. The desk staff said they could issue a refund b/c it was booked through Hotels.com but would would not refund any funds even though I left (2 day stay). Rather than deal with crooks I plan to sue the hotel and they can explain to a judge how they can charge a room and not provide accommodations.

This hotel appears to be occupied by homeless folks from the Salvation Army just one block away.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear NorthernVirgin1a,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Norfolk.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport

Address: 5600 Lowery Road, Norfolk, VA 23502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Hotel Norfolk Airport (ORF) - Hampton Roads, VA. The Candlewood Suites Norfolk - Airport is a member of the IHG family brands of hotels including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express and Staybridge Suites Hotels. The Candlewood Suites is the perfect hotel for the long term government travelers, project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs. The Candlewood Suites - Norfolk Airport Hotel is centrally located 2 miles from the Norfolk (ORF) Airport on Military Highway between I-64 & I 264; minutes from VA Beach, Chesapeake, Suffolk, Portsmouth. Our hotel is close to Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, USAA, Portfolio Recovery, Keane Inc., General Dynamics, Naval Station Norfolk, Naval Amphibious Base Little Creek, Naval Air Station Oceana & Norfolk Naval Shipyard. The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to meet your extended stay or short term hotel needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee applies) offers studio and one bedroom suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, Flat screen TVs with DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24-hour business center, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard with grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.