We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5600 Lowery Road, Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here one night recently and was very pleased.The staff was very friendly ,thanked me for being a club member and gave me a 5 dollar coupon for the cupboard,very nice.Room was very clean as was whole building,AC system worked well,spotless bathroom,bed very comfortable.
Used the exercise room ,very clean and all equipment worked.Washers ,dryers free use (you pay for detergent) they worked great.I have stayed in quite a few Candlewoods in my travels and found this to be one of the cleanest and most comfortable. Rates were also reasonable,highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    6
    3
    8
See reviews for
11
14
4
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Don't book through Hotels.com b/c the Candlewood Suites will play the stupid hotel vendor.

Arrived 27 September to a suite that smelled like urine in room 119. I was then directed to room 319 which had a worn carpet spot and also smelled like urine. After 5 minutes everyone was sick to their stomach. A small issue but the room came with one bath towel and upon a request for more towels one more was sent.

We checked out immediately after fleas were discovered. The desk staff said they could issue a refund b/c it was booked through Hotels.com but would would not refund any funds even though I left (2 day stay). Rather than deal with crooks I plan to sue the hotel and they can explain to a judge how they can charge a room and not provide accommodations.

This hotel appears to be occupied by homeless folks from the Salvation Army just one block away.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear NorthernVirgin1a,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Norfolk.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is, by far, one of the best extended stay-type hotels I have ever stayed in! Staff was friendly. The room was very nicely decorated. One of the nicest bathrooms for this class and the kitchen was really nice! Very comfortable stay! Proximity to the airport and shopping was good, too.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staff at this hotel makes you feel like family - They greet you as you walk in by name and really do everything possible to make you feel at home. Elsie and staff really go out of their way to accommodate all needs of travelers. Drew and the front desk are always pleasant and willing to help- They have great amenities as well - Full laundry , full size fridge in room as well as oven top and microwave. Again Home away from home at great value

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patuxent River, Maryland, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A pleasant and comfortable stay as expected from a Candlewood Suites. Love the pantry options, the large (clean!) suites, and the comforts of home. Everyone here is friendly and professional. My only gripe is that the shower curtain was actually too short for the shower (not long enough to tuck inside the tub), so water went everywhere. But for a one-night stay with a friend, it did the job very nicely. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very comfortable room and beds. Not really a suite, but had a kitchenette. Close to some shopping and restaurants. Good service. No pool so there are limited options for kids. Hotel felt safe. Backs to an industrial area but hotel was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsie C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport.
The staff here pride themselves in providing the best for our guests. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

After just staying at a Candlewood Suites in Winchester, VA for two nights, this Candlewood Suites was just plain poor. The staff were fine--friendly and helpful. The room and the hotel need help. The room smelled, the air conditioning was not working correctly, however, it was cool enough not to really need it, and the room was missing silverware, tissues, papertowels, etc. The carpet was not clean and I could feel crumbs and dirt when walking around in my socks. The cupboard did not have much in the way of selection and it was pricey for the items they had. The hotel (I think is somewhat new) needs more care and better up keep. The hotel is close to the airport and there are plenty of restuarants and shops near the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear HannahRattigan,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. Thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport

Address: 5600 Lowery Road, Norfolk, VA 23502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Hotel Norfolk Airport (ORF) - Hampton Roads, VA. The Candlewood Suites Norfolk - Airport is a member of the IHG family brands of hotels including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express and Staybridge Suites Hotels. The Candlewood Suites is the perfect hotel for the long term government travelers, project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs. The Candlewood Suites - Norfolk Airport Hotel is centrally located 2 miles from the Norfolk (ORF) Airport on Military Highway between I-64 & I 264; minutes from VA Beach, Chesapeake, Suffolk, Portsmouth. Our hotel is close to Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, USAA, Portfolio Recovery, Keane Inc., General Dynamics, Naval Station Norfolk, Naval Amphibious Base Little Creek, Naval Air Station Oceana & Norfolk Naval Shipyard. The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to meet your extended stay or short term hotel needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee applies) offers studio and one bedroom suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, Flat screen TVs with DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24-hour business center, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard with grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.