We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Midwest USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

This hotel is run down, very poorly managed and has terrible customer service. My room was dusty and shabby. It was inconsistently stocked by the housekeeping staff from day to day as I had to daily request some routine amenity like coffee for the coffeemaker, shampoo or room newspaper.

The internet service did not work; repeated requests for repair fell on deaf ears and met with indifference. There were continual plumbing and air conditioning issues as well. The restaurant was expensive and the food quality completely underwhelming; eat elsewhere.

The location was good, but with other hotel options in the vicinity, I would certainly recommend seeking them out. This hotel gives Sheraton a bad name.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — See the review
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    157
    133
    78
    74
See reviews for
107
118
44
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

Worst hotel stay on my trip through the Americas.

Very dirty, Toilet full of waste, carpet with spots, terrible smell,
lazy, unfriendly andd unprofessional service, no porter
Paid $180.98 plus parking for a "hole" overlooking a parking lot!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastman, GA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

We stayed five nights for a convention. We had an excellent view of the river. The beds were very comfortable, and the staff members were all very friendly and helpful. The drawback is that they are remodeling. The only disturbance we had was a little noise during the day. At other times, the hotel was very quiet. I was concerned about this trip after reading some of the other reviews, but we had a very nice trip. It was not luxurious, but it was clean and comfortable.

  • Liked — Convenient to restaurants and shops
  • Disliked — Remodeling in progress
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

The best thing about the Sheraton is its location. Right on the waterfront in downtown Norfolk.

The hotel is undergoing renovation and will probably be a lot better once the work is done. Our room was reasonably comfortable, if somewhat dated.

The air conditioning wasn't working very well throughout the hotel so the whole place was very warm on a hot and humid day in Norfolk.

We didn't use the gym or restaurant, so I don't know about the other services. The staff seemed pretty friendly.

Overall, a decidely average stay. I'd consider going back once the renovation is done.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

Along the Waterside shopping Mall. Kind of your standard chain hotel. Good friendly service. Location fine.. Nothing exceptional, but very acceptable. Only disappointment is the "gym" - 2 treadmills, 2 x bike machines and a couple of old machines - NO free wieghts, bench, mats...really nothing else and house in a space that can fit much more.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

I stayed at the Sheraton in Norfolk, VA during the Memorial Day holiday weekend. Overall, my experience was average.

PROS:
GREAT LOCATION - The hotel is located in the downtown area, right on the water. It is within walking distance of Waterside (an indoor/outdoor shopping area with several of restaurants). Also attended a local festival in Town Point Park (also within walking distance). The festival offered plenty of food, outdoor vendors, and music throughout the whole weekend. I also liked that the hotel is located close to the major highway. It made it easy to travel to other cities in the Hampton Roads area and the beach.
HOTEL SERVICE - Front desk very friendly and helpful. All hotel employees encountered greeted us with a smile and open to small talk.
HOTEL LOBBY - Open ambiance and clean.
SHOWER - Great water pressure. Temperature easily adjustable. Hot water really HOT, not lukewarm like some hotels.

CONS:
HOTEL PARKING - The valet service was extremely slow. They were very busy (possibly due to the traffic from the festival) We decided to park in a nearby garage (not as convenient, but at least we could get the car whenever we needed it without having to wait forever for the valet). We also saved a few bucks by parking in the garage.
HOTEL ROOM - The room could DEFINITELY use some updating. The curtain sheers were discolored. Not sure if due to sun exposure or just plain dirty. The bathroom counter, shower curtain and floors needs to be replaced. Not dirty, just worn. Also had a few issues with the bathroom door handle (again needs to be replaced). Overall - The room was clean and bearable, just needs major updating.
CLUB LOUNGE - When we checked in, the hotel offered us access to the club lounge. She spoke highly of the free breakfast and appetizers during the evening hours. Unfortunately, we we visited the lounge for appetizers, no one was there nor did it look like it had been in use at all that day.

We did not eat at any of the local restaurants in the area. If you decide to venture out of Norfolk, I would recommend trying Captain Georges in Virginia Beach. They offered an AWESOME seafood buffet at a decent price.

I will note that the hotel was in the process of making renovations during our stay. Obviously the hotel knows they are a little behind the times... If asked, would I stay at the Sheraton again? I would answer yes (especially knowing that they are in the process of updating the hotel).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room needs updating
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Yorks
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

The price of this hotel was comprable with 4* hotels in the area, the reception area looks fine and the location is great. My room on a "prefered" floor was cramped and crunchy feelings underfoot told me it had not been vacuumed for a while and in the bathroom stains on the tub and no bath plug told a similar story and lamps were apparently dangerous going on-off if you walked near. Beds were so badly made that they were uncomfortable and had to be remade. replenishment of suplies and other houskeeping seemed to be on an every other day or so basis. There was a lot of noise, the building work in the day was not so much an issue but the incessent clatter of trolleys through the night was intolerable, Finaly water gushed through the roof, and I mean gushed, not dripped. They turned off the water, not even an appology. When I left it took 25 minutes from me asking them to call a cab to the guy picking up the phone. I was looking for the hidden TV crew.
Definatly a not again destination

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — water through ceiling
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Address: 777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.