We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super service, nice location and accommodations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #16 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super service, nice location and accommodations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Pet friendly which we appreciate. If you are a shopper or historian great location. Right on the harbor. Beautiful. Several ops for dining and close to many more. They have a great breakfast, (love the staff). The dining room and patio have a relaxing view to enjoy breakfast, an evening dinner or drinks. The gift shop has some typical souvenirs but also has a few unique treasures worth a stop.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    136
    119
    72
    68
See reviews for
93
101
39
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The gentleman who checked me in did not seem real familiar with the registration process/software because it took almost 15 minutes to get checked in. My room was very nice, had comfortable beds, and was clean. However, there were a few hairs on the shower wall; otherwise, the bathroom was clean.

The other complaint was that the air conditioner had a serious rattle every time it cut on. This is a hotel that has refurbished its rooms in what seemed to be an older building. Perhaps that is why the air conditioning system was so noisy. When I reported the rattle to the front desk, they were very responsive in having maintenance come and fix the rattle.

The location is beautiful - the backside of the hotel overlooked the Elizabeth River and the wonderful Cannonball Trail can be accessed directly out the restaurant's door. I saw many jogger sand walkers, as well as families out for a stroll. Children can play in a fountain at a park near the hotel. One easily can walk to the mall, historical landmarks, museums, and baseball park. The riverfront area and downtown in general have been recently developed and are a model for what can be done with a rundown area.

Finally, I was impressed with this hotel's approach to environmental protections. There is a recycling can in each room. Also, instead of the standard "hang your towels if you will reuse them" (which, for reasons I cannot understand, most housekeeping staffs ignore) this hotel had a hang tag which one could place on the outer door knob (just like the Do Not Disturb hanger). If one chose to do that, he/she would receive extra reward points or a $5.00 voucher. GREAT IDEA!'

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandston, VA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Been here before. Clean and neat. Close to the venue for the concert we were attending. Biggest problem was the parking. It is really ridiculous to pay $24 for one night parking. Even the $12 for parking yourself and walking two blocks is too much. Guess I have been spoiled by the many first class hotels I have been too. Especially because when I went to pick up my car and there was NO ONE there to bring it around. And they had six cars waiting to be parked. Saved my tip money. Would have rated the hotel very good probably if it wasn't for that.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I don't quite understand the negative reviews. We found the hotel modern, clean, convenient-in a word, pleasant. Yes, there aren't a ton of goodies in the room and there are not standard refrigerators, but the housekeeping staff did a good job. The bathroom and bedroom were on the new side.

The breakfast was a good deal and we especially liked the omelet lady. Our waitress was very welcoming. We were able to walk downtown to eat at the local restaurants.

I agree the parking is a pain, but the location of the hotel makes up for it. We ended up paying for the valet because we came in late and didn't want to bother with the long walk from the parking lot.

This was our fourth hotel in as many weeks and the front desk here was the best. They were informative, pleasant and knowledgable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great rooms, great views of city or river, loved ALL the things you can WALK to very quickly, take the FERRY over to Portsmouth ( walk just right outside the hotel to dock) walk to Eat at Joes Crabs or Outback......walk to McArthur's HUGE Mall............we were there for a reunion and it was perfect thank you especially to housekeepers, for keeping room perfect.....

Room Tip: the higher up rooms give a better view of the city on one side or the river all the way to Portsmout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For the cost the quality of service was not satisfactory at all the quality of their food in their restaurant and bar below satisfactory. Burnt hamburgers salads overloaded with cheese and dressing sweet tea was gross! These are basic foods that are easy to make. The hotel service was great I but I do not recommend the restaurant or the bar for the stay! Don't waste ur money go to Shulas down the street!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We never like to learn when a guest is disappointed with their stay and we offer our heartfelt apologies that your experience in our restaurant fell below expectations. Thank you for telling us about your experience and for giving us this opportunity to improve. Please know that your comments are being reviewed with our management team. We hope we'll have the opportunity to impress you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is very clean, nice view, very friendly staff. I stayed there before in 2010 and last month again and will go again. Loved it.
Very close to downtown, walking distance. Lots of restaurants around.

Room Tip: Get the waterview with a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for being a loyal guest of the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. We are happy to know that we can continue to impress you with our friendly service and clean accommodations. We are glad that our central location in downtown Norfolk works out so well for your needs and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Address: 777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.