We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great venue!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #15 of 40 hotels in Norfolk
Wyoming, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a great venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sheraton was host hotel for Clicker Expo. What a great choice! The presentation rooms were spacious and all the AV equipment worked beautifully. A few of the rooms were a little cool during the presentations, so I would recommend layering your clothing. The event rooms were easy to get to even though they were on different floors. The event lunch food was very good with good variety and great desserts. The restaurant/bar was great with really friendly and helpful staff, and a great view of the harbor. The valets and desk staff were very efficient and moved the process along efficiently. Our room was super comfortable and quiet, with most amenities, except for a refrigerator. Parking was easy and the bonus was being in walking distance to restaurants and the USS Wisconsin and Naval Museum. There was an off site event, and the hotel even provided us with a shuttle to and from it, for which we were very grateful. All in all, the Sheraton provided us with a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
It was our pleasure to host the Clicker Expo at our hotel. We greatly appreciate your kind feedback and compliments regarding our facilities at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. We work hard to ensure that our services are superior and we are happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and cater to your needs. We do regret if the temperature in our rooms was not to your liking, as we always want to ensure that each and every one of our guests enjoys a comfortable visit. If I can ever personally assist you in any way, I hope you won't hesitate to reach out during a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    125
    108
    68
    65
See reviews for
88
88
37
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for three night during a recent business trip. The hotel is located right on the Elizabeth River, so there is a nice path to take a stroll along the river (or jog if you are so inclined). There are several historical sites, museums, and plenty of nice places to eat nearby, so you will never be without something to do. The beds are quite comfortable and the free coffee in the morning is fresh and tasty. It cost approximately $27 to get their from the airport, but you can take the hotel shuttle for free if they happen to be making their rounds picking up or dropping off a flight crew. I'll be sure to stay here again if I'm in town.

Room Tip: Get a room above the 3rd floor in order to make sure you can look over the trees or other objects th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
You are correct! There are several historical sites, museums and restaurants located around our property. We are happy to know that you were able to discover many of these exciting attractions during your recent business trip with us. It seems that our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed left a lasting and positive impression and we are happy to know that you enjoyed a good night's rest. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The plus for this hotel is that it is dog friendly. The downside is that it charges $10 a day for wi-fi in your room. The lobby and meeting rooms are nice. The hotel rooms were okay but were missing some amenities like a refrigerator and convenient plugs for charging devices which many less expensive hotels and motels provide (along with free wi-fi). There were several nice places to walk the dogs. The boardwalk along the river provides a good exercise area and there is a gym which was very adequate. I attended Clicker-Expo at the hotel. The restaurant, City Dock, left a lot to be desired, Go next door to the Outback to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
It was a pleasure to welcome you and your four-legged companion to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel for the ClickerExpo. While we do regret if you encountered inconveniences, please keep in mind that complimentary Internet is available in our lobby and refrigerators are available upon request. It is wonderful to read your positive feedback regarding our fitness center though we sincerely regret to read of your disappointing experience in our restaurant. Thank you for letting us know how we can improve our guests' experience and we hope you'll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to fully impress you in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was nice, had a great view whether your room faced the city or the waterfront and the staff all were professional, friendly, helpful and knowledgable! I plan to stay there again, on my next trip to Norfolk . . .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel and for sharing your warm remarks regarding our friendly and attentive customer service and breathtaking views. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here for one night and was impressed with the hotel. I had an amazing view from my 8th floor room. All of the staff were lovely. Wifi is $10/ day and parking is something like $23 if you let them valet it for you or $13 if you park in the garage your self (not too far of a walk). Everything was clean in the room and the rest of the hotel was very impressive. I unfortunately did not get to check out any of the amenities. Only downside was that someone had set the alarm to go off at 6:30am so I woke up a little earlier than I had intended. I unplugged it to ensure that it did not go off for the next person staying in the room.

Room Tip: Waterside rooms have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are delighted that we could impress you with our services. We'd like to mention that our current parking rates are $22 a day for valet and self-parking is $12 a day with in and out privileges. We regret any inconveniences that you endured during your visit and we hope you'll have the opportunity to visit again and enjoy everything the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very comfortable bed and very clean room. Radio alarm clock did not work but I received a replacement in half hour. My room had waterfront view of a ship yard.Their recommended cab company, Black and White, performed well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit with us at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. We do regret that your alarm clock was not working during your stay and we are glad that you brought this concern to our attention so we could immediately rectify the issue. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel was very nice. Right on the water. We ended up getting an upgrade to a corner room with a partial (nearly full) water view. Bed was comfortable, room was clean. It lacked a fridge or microwave and the balcony overlooking downtown Norfolk was quite loud due to the street noise. Room service was pricey, but overall a great stay. Parking is either valet (right in front of the hotel) or self park which is a good little distance from the hotel. Guess that is the cost of being on the water. Priceline was the way to go on this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We're delighted that you enjoyed your upgrade and views of the water. Keep in mind that a refrigerator and microwave is available upon request. We do regret any inconveniences with room service and we will keep your feedback in mind. If you'll be traveling back to our area, we hope you'll choose to stay with us again at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton
Address: 777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.