We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross and Old!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Gross and Old!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Not a fan of this hotel for it is gross and old. Better to stay elsewhere within the city besides this dilapidated hotel. I would definitely choose something in Virginia Beach instead. I like to say that I am not a fan of this hotel. Although, there is a water view, there is nothing to see here. Even the mall with restaurants they tried to create has died next door. That is saying something.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are saddened that you were not overly impressed with our waterfront location, as there are many excellent restaurants and shopping centers just minutes away. Guest feedback is always welcome and we hope you'll someday allow us the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    157
    136
    78
    74
See reviews for
108
118
46
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We all enjoyed our stay here at The waterside,especially the bed. The check- in process was very smooth,but traveling with three other couples we had all requested rooms on the same floor, and my room was different ,however the check-in person changed it. We were there for a special week-end and enjoyed breakfast and a formal dinner at the hotel. The hotel was very close to the Sandler Performing Arts Center where were attending a concert, so it was very convienent. The only thing that we didn't like about the hotel was the parking arrangement.

Room Tip: Choose a room witha view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are delighted that you chose the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel for your special weekend getaway. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and your group during your visit and we apologize for any inconveniences that you may have encountered at check-in. We are pleased to learn that our staff was able to quickly resolve any issues to ensure the best possible experience. We hope to welcome you back soon for another comfortable stay in our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

staff nice, waterfront rooms have great views. Located on working river, fun to watch the tug boats and the big ships come by while having breakfast in the restaurant. Ferry out back goes to Portsmouth, great ride and scenery. Next door is Waterside, shops and restaurants and entertainment. Town field is close walk and has concerts all summer. Good location to jump in car to VA beach for day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
The morning views and breathtaking scenery can certainly make the perfect backdrop while dining with us for breakfast. Thank you for sharing your story at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope you'll visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
414 reviews 414 reviews
196 hotel reviews
Reviews in 204 cities Reviews in 204 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I got a great deal with Priceline for this hotel but I was hit by too many fees!!!

$12 self parking in garage nearby, $10 for Internet... Only drink the free complimentary water bottle ;-)

First room I was assigned to was occupied !!! Yes someone was still in the room... Very inconvenient when you have a cart full and you need to go back to front desk to ask a new, hopefully clean and unoccupied room... And no appologies, no discount on services or for my trouble... I guess it's normal here...

The room I got was very nice (finally) and spacious and I got a fridge upon my request... Nice touch...

Internet was very slow considering the $10 fees!!!

Nice small Flat Screen TV...

Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I'd like to offer my sincere apologies for any inconveniences with your assigned room. This oversight from our staff is unacceptable and we deeply regret any frustrations that you experienced as a result. Please know that it is never our intention to mislead our guests and all of our extra charges are clearly stated on our website. We regret if you experienced any inconveniences with any of our services. Complimentary Internet is always available in our lobby. Thank you for your detailed review of your stay and we hope you'll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back for a much-improved experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice hotel. Clean, big rooms. Did not use much of the services at the hotel, but the staff that we did interact with were courteous and friendly. Close to local attractions/restaurants and about 20 minutes to Virginia beach. I used a Hotwire hidden deal and scored a very good price. Overall a really nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive impressions of our property. We are very pleased to learn that you found us to be of good value and we hope you'll have the opportunity to visit with us again to enjoy all of our services at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

It's an average hotel. Here is my bucket list:
1. Staff try to help guests, but they have zero sense of urgency. It's very frustrating.
2. Rooms are clean and semi updated, but walls are thin! There is no balcony that anyone would have any interest in hanging out on. Don't spend extra money for that.
3. Floor 10 has an excellent continental breakfast for guests that includes cereals, bagels, oatmeal, fruit, full drink refrigerator and coffee/espresso machines.

Would we stay again, yes. For the price it's "ok." I'm sure the Marriott across the street is nicer and newer but not sure how the price point compares.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We aim to provide an experience that is unmatched by others. It is disappointing to learn that you've rated your experience as only average, as we do strive to exceed our guests' expectations at every turn. As Norfolk's only waterfront hotel, we are excited to offer our guests stunning views from our balconies. Many guests find this to be a highlight of their stay and it is disheartening to learn that this was not the case for yours. We take all guest feedback seriously and will keep your constructive comments in mind for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just had a wonderful Labor Day visit at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. The hotel was exquisite, clean, and catered to its guests. We enjoyed several late nights in their onsite restaurant. The bay views were wonderful. It is in close proximity to many popular restaurants (Outback, Joe's Crab Shack) and a great mall. If you're in the Norfolk area, this is the place to stay. The only downside was the parking lot for the hotel was a little jaunt and not right onsite.

Room Tip: If you like rooms closer to the elevators, choose lower numbered rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are delighted that we had the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel during the Labor Day holiday. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions and experience in your City Dock Restaurant. Many guests find that the views of the water create the perfect backdrop for their dining experience. We are pleased to know that our central location worked out so well for your stay. Please keep in mind that valet parking is always available, as we want to ensure a convenient stay from beginning to end. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Address: 777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.