We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and courtesy staff. Hotel was nice room very nice on the small size it was very tight in the room the bed was very comfortable. The parking was not good. Even though there was a valet it was hectic as well. It was a big busy weekend and there was too many cars for the little bit of valets that was available.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
While we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we regret any difficulties that you experienced with our parking. We can understand your frustration and hope any inconveniences were minimal during your time with us. Thank you for sharing your impressions of our hotel and we hope we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    145
    127
    74
    72
See reviews for
102
110
40
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A very good hotel, parking was $12 a night. Room wasa bit on the small side, but not crowded. Everything was super clean, lobby is becoming outdated though. I'd stay here again. We didn't try any of the in-house restaurants

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We hope you’ll have the opportunity to enjoy our City Dock Restaurant during your next visit! Thank you for sharing your review and impressions with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night when we were in town for a concert. The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful. They printed directions out for us twice so we could get where we were going. The room was very clean and well appointed. We chose to park in the parking deck next to the hotel rather than paying for the valet parking. I don't really know why people reviewing this make it sound like you have to walk a country mile to get to your car. It is right beside the hotel, well-lit, and safe. We got a great deal on Priceline, and would happily return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for making us your hotel of choice while in town for the concert. We pride ourselves on offering exceptional customer service and it’s always a pleasure to learn when we deliver on that promise. We’re glad that our convenient location to the nearby parking garage worked out so perfectly for your stay and we look forward to your return to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I absolutely love this location.
My husband and I have stayed at the Sheraton Waterside a number of times.
We are both originally from the area and know first hand that this is one of the best hotels in the area. We have never been disappointed with our room and the customer service is always top notch.

Our most recent stay was just a month ago and once again we were not disappointed.
My husband wanted to surprise me with with a few gifts in the room. Several employees went above and beyond to help ensure that things were set up exactly as he wanted them. Even making sure that things that needed to be refrigerated were taken care of while we were away. This type of service is what keeps us coming back.

The rooms are always very clean and the beds, oh my goodness. I really wish I could take one of them home with me in my suitcase. The beds are so very comfortable. We always end up with the need to call the front desk the next morning in hopes that we can be granted a late check out because we just hate to have to leave those beds.

The rooms with the view of the River and Downtown Portsmouth are great and provide such a relaxing atmosphere at night by opening the curtain to allow the glow from the light to enter the room.

The only thing I would like to see change would maybe be the room decor.
Its can be a little dull however as I previously stated the rooms are clean and comfortable so the decor is no deal breaker for me.

The location is great. I love that Macarthur Mall is just a few blocks away.
There are also a ton of other restaurants in the area.

The parking is another story. The Valet servce is a bit on the expensive side however the service that they provide is great so we dont complain.
There is a parking garage that can be used but during the winter months, that walk can seem much longer than it actually is when trying to make it from that garage, down the street, and back to the hotel as the wind blows over the cold river water. So this is another reason we go ahead and dish out the money for the valet service.

Room Tip: Request a room one of the higher floors with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
As a loyal guest to our hotel, we can’t thank you enough for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. It’s wonderful to read so many positive comments regarding our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds! Your honest feedback regarding our room decor is truly appreciated and will be taken into consideration for the future. We are delighted that we were able to once again live up to your expectations of our services and we hope you’ll have the opportunity to stay with us again. It’s always our pleasure to welcome you to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
416 reviews 416 reviews
165 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed one night during the motorcycle event and at te same time a marine ball. Boy, there was a lot of people! Especially the motorcycle people smoking their lungs out outside of of the hotel since the hotel is smoke free.

I thought I was not going to be able to sleep, but I'm glad the hotel out big signs on each floor by the elevator reminding. The group not to make noise at night. It was not noise free during the night, but it could have been worst.

The rooms are very comfortable with a large king bed and very comfortable pillows. Best so far.
Glad to know the hotel provides two complimentary bottle of water. The room had an oversized red lounge chair. The bathrooms are small and tight. Nice counter space, but maybe it took away from the actual bathroom space

I read one of the reviews that the hotel had a restaurant and room service, but there was no menus in the room and mine didnt have one.

The hotel is right by the water and a few restaurant just a few blocks away with a mall across the street.

If the motorcycle people were not at the hotel I probably would have enjoy te amines of the hotel better. But I guess every group has to have a place to meet even thought is bothersome to others. Ill ask around next time around for any events.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your perspective with us though we deeply regret any inconveniences or noise disruptions that may have impacted your time with us. We do try our best to minimize the noise level on each floor to ensure that all of our guests receive a good night's rest. Since we are a smoke-free property, we try to offer plenty of outdoor space for those guests who choose to smoke and truly regret if you experienced inconveniences during this time. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and please accept our apologies if our restaurant menu was not available in your room. We hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed there for business in January. The rooms are well appointed, great breakfast, convenient location. The hotel is right on the water with great view of the harbor and many Navy vessels. Waterside is right off I264 so going to the Airport or VA Beach is easy. Next to the hotel is Waterside park with a few restaurants. A few blocks away is the best mall in town, and around the corner the USS Wisconsin is open to the public. Great for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience and we thank you for pointing out our location to the nearby attractions. It seems like you may have discovered a few favorite attractions during your stay! Whether visiting for business or leisure, we hope you'll have the opportunity to visit with us again at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great comfy rooms on club level. Breakfast & lounge were great additions. Comfy beds, speedy checkout, attentive staff! In room internet charge seems ridiculous in this day & age. Computers in lobby are clunky. the entrance is hard to find. Thy need more signage at the end of the parking lot.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
It was a pleasure to learn of your stay on our Club Level floor. We always appreciate receiving feedback from our guests, as we are continually striving to improve our services. For any inconveniences you may have encountered with our Internet charge and parking, we truly apologize and appreciate you sharing your honest and helpful feedback. Thank you and we hope you’ll have the opportunity to visit with us again at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Address: 777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.