We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #16 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Location, location, location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is super for downtown Norfolk activities. You can also catch the water taxi to Portsmouth from the nearby dock. My Hotwire rate was 2/3 the hotel's rate. The king size room was spacious, neat, and comfortable.
- It's about time the Sheraton Norfolk starts providing free WiFi. C'mon, really, $9.95 per day for a connection?
- The harbor view rooms are pretty cool, with a nice view of the shipyard, but be aware that vessels operating at night use their whistles to communicate. I had an early morning wake-up compliments of a tug operating near the waterside facility.

Room Tip: See my note about the harbor side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
The water taxi is a wonderful option for exploring the local sites. We greatly appreciate you pointing out this great suggestion in your review. While we’re very pleased that our convenient location worked out so well for your stay, we regret any inconveniences with our Internet. We hope you’ll take advantage of our complimentary wireless Internet, which is always available to our guests in our lobby, during a future visit. It is always our intention to provide our guests with the best possible experience and we hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    136
    124
    73
    69
See reviews for
97
106
39
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
VA, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Hot water frequently unavailable. Beds were not initially made up properly (sheets came off during the night). Service was extremely poor. Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
For any inconveniences that you experienced during your three-night stay with us, we truly apologize. Though, we never want our guests to leave and feel that their expectations weren’t met, we greatly appreciate the feedback that you’ve provided. We thank you for taking the time to share your review and hope you’ll someday allow us the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was there for a meeting and we had long days... got back to my room at 11:30 to discover that the thumping bass from the nightclub resonated up to the fifth floor with a dull throb, kind of like someone using a pneumatic drill down the block. Tried to pass out anyway, finally at 1:00 a.m. had to ask to be moved to the opposite side of the building. At least they sent someone up with a new room key .

They told me that nobody else complained... they were either very hard-of-hearing, very tired, or still at the party.

Rooms themselves were nice enough. Never ate there so I can't rate the food.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, avoid the river side on a low floor. Sorry, I meant to make a note of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
A good night’s sleep is essential, especially after a long day, and we sincerely apologize if any noise disruptions may have impacted your time with us. Understandably, you were frustrated and we truly regret if you felt you did not receive the peaceful night’s rest you deserved. We appreciate you addressing this concern to our staff so we were able to immediately resolve the issue and provide you with the perfect accommodations. Whether visiting again for business or leisure, we hope you’ll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Parking options were Valet for $22/night or park in a public garage a half block away for $12/night. Both exorbitant.
Wifi in-room $12.
The weirdest part of my stay was in the morning, about 7:30 I heard maids scrubbing the halls. At about 8am they started scrubbing the outside of my door, then scrubbed it again about 8:45. Finally there was a knock on my door at about 9:15. I didn't open it but said "yes?", the maid asked "when are you leaving?" I told her I'd be leaving about 11:30. She said ok and the hall scrubbing seemed to cease at that point. I found the maid's question odd and rude. And wonder if there were only a few guests in the hotel and the maids were camping outside my door until I left, and finally grew impatient.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions with us though we truly regret to learn that you didn’t find our services to be at the best possible value. While we do find that our parking rates are comparable to the area, we always appreciate our guests’ feedback. We regret any inconveniences that you experienced with our housekeeping department and can assure you that your review is being passed along to our staff. Thank you for sharing your review and we hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Virginia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside hotel again for business in December 2012 was very pleased with the service I received. The location of the hotel is ideal and the cleanliness of the rooms and public areas were great. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, with the exception of the front desk staff. They still need training in customer service and accuracy. When we arrived at the hotel (after a long trip) at 10:00 pm, my colleague was given a key to a room that was already occupied (the same situation occurred to another one of my colleagues 3 months ago), then the replacement room’s key did not work. It took over 30 minutes to get checked in and settled in our rooms. Otherwise, we had a wonderful stay and enjoyed a delicious breakfast buffet at the City Dock restaurant (in the hotel lobby) each morning. The servers and chefs were very friendly and welcoming each morning; they truly seemed to enjoy being there and always had a smile on their faces (it was a great way to start the day every morning!). I recommend this hotel for business and/or pleasure, and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to use valet parking... the parking garage is very inconvenient and almost a block away (not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
As a return guest, thank you for taking the time to share your review. While we deeply regret any inconveniences or difficulties that you encountered during your visit, your feedback is more than appreciated. We’re delighted that you’ve shared your experience at our City Dock Restaurant and we’re looking forward to passing your kind comments along to our restaurant staff. We’re always proud to learn when a guest’s experience has inspired a return visit. Whether staying for business or leisure, we hope to welcome you back soon to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and had a great room overlooking the harbour, you can easily walk downtown to restaurants and the Nautilus attraction. While the hotel is a little dated, rooms were comfortable and well appointed

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
It’s wonderful to learn that our convenient location worked out so well for your visit. After exploring our surrounding area, it was our pleasure to provide you with a comfortable setting to rest your feet. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your two-night getaway and we hope to welcome you back soon to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After a night like this one......I am strongly considering ending my decade long relationship as a Diamond member with Hyatt. The hotel was in a great location, with plenty to do in the surrounding Granby St. location of food and fun. The staff at the hotel was absolutely awesome from the gentleman who checked me in (I feel bad I forgot his name, as he suggested I join SPG as well as so many places to eat) The hotel parking situation was alittle chaotic as well as the excessive noise from all the drunks staying there for a football game day event but that's not the hotel's fault people can't control themselves with liquid courage running through there veins. Rusty at the lobby bar is awesome, such a friendly and sweet woman!! My hat comes off to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside....GREAT JOB GUYS!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your glowing review! It truly warms our heart to read a guest review such as yours and we’ll certainly pass along your kind comments to our staff. We hope any noise disruptions that you experienced were minimal during your stay. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we hope next time you’ll notify us immediately with any concerns so we can create the best possible experience for everyone. Thank you and we hope we get the pleasure to welcome you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Address: 777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;