We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, noisy hallways.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not bad, noisy hallways.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have stayed here for business several times now. I try and stay at a hotel 3 times before I submit reviews. Rooms are small but nice. Good flat screen TV's, super comfortable beds and pillows, and delicious Starbucks coffee. On a coffee note, they only provide flavored creamer, which I find gross. It always makes me a little mad that I have to go without creamer when I stay here. Regular cream should always be an option!!
Anyway, the rooms are small, some of them have very nice views of the water. The bathrooms are ridiculously small, you have to juggle with the door to get into the shower and use the toilet. The walls or the doors are really thin, you will hear each and every noise in the hallway and the rooms on each side of you.
WiFi - crazy expensive. I have no idea why hotels still charge for this. I know they offer it free in the lobby, but I don't want to sit in the lobby in my pajamas. And the last thing I want after a long day at work is to stay in my clothes to check up on emails.
Dinner in the restaurant.... Avoid it. I ordered a simple crab macaroni and cheese. It was all breadcrumbs. I'm not kidding. There were only a few noodles, and some shredded crab. Great flavor, but there was about an inch of breadcrumbs. My co-worker and I both ordered it, and were very disappointed, and we both left starving. And it was $18!!!!! The service was terribly slow too. There are lots of restaurants in walking distance, I recommend patronizing them instead.
Front desk is hit and miss. They are never beyond cordial.
Fitness center is great!!! Lots of great equipment. Pool is also nice, but tends to be very crowded.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. As a loyal business guest, your feedback is more than appreciated. For any inconveniences that you experienced with our services, we apologize. It is never our intention for our guests to receive anything less than a comfortable stay and we truly regret if your experience didn’t match the high standards that we strive to achieve. We’d like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding our coffee creamer and can assure you that all of the feedback that you’ve provided will be taken into consideration. We regret if any noise disruptions prevented you from receiving the peaceful night’s rest that you deserve. We hope we get another opportunity to welcome you back, as we’re certain that our staff can help find the perfect accommodations to fit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    160
    137
    78
    75
See reviews for
108
119
46
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 6 or 7 years ago and remembered it favorably so booked again for two nights...so much for nostalgia...rudely treated at checkin twice...despite having a premium reservation and SPG preferred...room on executive floor was small with frig stuck in middle of room...walls were paper thin...despite being a sound sleeper, I was awakened repeatedly by noise from next door rooms and hallways...tried dinner in the restaurant and the waitress spent more time sweeping the floors than waiting on us...had to remind her our dinner must be ready (it was, but had I not reminded her, we might still be there). Will not return and would try almost any other hotel in town as I doubt they could be worse.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
As a SPG member and return guest, we would like to thank you for your feedback. It’s truly disappointing to learn that, not only were your expectations not met, but that your experience wasn’t reflective of the high standards of customer service that we’ve set. We truly apologize for the length of time it took to serve you at our restaurant and can understand any frustrations that you must have felt. I can assure you that your comments are being passed along to our restaurant management. In addition, we truly apologize for any noise disruptions that may have impacted your valued time with us. A good night’s sleep is essential and we regret if any noises disturbed your rest. While we appreciate your review, we hope that you’ll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Initially unhappy that I had to return to this hotel after my previous stay in 2007, I was pleasantly surprised to find most conditions had improved. This uptick can be partially attributed to staying in a club level room which had much nicer amenities, but things do seem somewhat better than my first visit. The breakfast buffet was very nice and the overall experience was positive.
Remaining issues:
1) The $9.95 per day room internet access is just ridiculous; why does Sheraton actually charge for this?
2) This Sheraton needs safes in each room; anything less is unacceptable. My locked TSA luggage lock was visibly damaged and rendered unusable during my stay and I can only assume that someone was tampering with it while I was out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
As a return guest to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, we truly appreciate you sharing your review with us. Our mult-million dollar upgrade has brought many exciting changes to our property including our lobby’s Link@Sheraton, which offers complimentary wireless Internet for our guests to enjoy. For any inconveniences that you experienced with our services, we sincerely apologize. While traveling with valuable items, we encourage our guests to take advantage of our safe deposit boxes that are available at our front desk and regret if these guest services were not made clear to you at the time of your visit. Thank you for sharing your updated review and we hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This Sheraton was originally not on my list of places to stay, solely based on the inconsistent reviews. I own a time share with the Starwood company so I figured I should embrace the company I am paying for. This Sheraton was a nice surprise. I originally wanted a water view, but glad I elected for the city view, as I had a great view of the holiday parade. This staff was pleasant, accommodating and even followed up with a complaint of cigarette smoke from another room. This was a comfortable and very pleasant stay. Be mindful that valet is expensive, but then again parking anywhere within a city limit will be expensive. Enjoy the location, a few blocks from the mall and great shops, and the local treats.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are delighted to have been able to exceed your expectations upon your arrival and truly appreciate you sharing your impressions of your stay. You certainly visited at a great time, as the holiday parade is always a favorite event here in Norfolk! As a smoke-free property, we truly regret any inconveniences you may have experienced though we’re glad that our staff was able to quickly resolve any issues to ensure the best possible experience. While we do find that our parking rates are comparable to our area, keep in mind that self-parking is available for a small fee. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

have to say the view wasnt bad. extremely overpriced, poor parking, a restaurant that needs tobe condemmed.
room had a tiny fridge that was sitting in the floor. Mattress about as comfortable as a bale of straw.
wi-fi is $9 a day extra. adjacent to a defunct mall, 1.5 blocks to parking, which is an extra $13 a day (only $8 if you are starwood preferred guest)
tiny room, small bathroom and noisy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
While your feedback is always welcome, it's disappointing to learn that you weren't satisfied with your stay. For any inconveniences that you experienced with our parking and accommodations, we apologize. It is never our intention for our guests to receive anything less than a comfortable stay and we hope that next time you will notify us immediately of any concerns. As a convenience for our guests, complimentary Wi-Fi is available in our lobby and we also offer valet parking. While we never like to read when a guest hasn't fully enjoyed their visit, we always appreciate the feedback and would like to thank you for sharing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. My room was modern, clean and comfortable. I also loved the balcony overlooking the water. However the walls and doors in the room were paper thin! I stayed at this hotel on a Friday night so I understand that guests are going to be out late, but I was woken up by every conversation in the hall.

If you are planning to stay here on a week night, or are a hard sleeper, I'd say go for it! You will probably love the otherwise gorgeous hotel. But if you value your sleep, especially on weekends you may want to consider a different option.

Room Tip: As far away from the elevator as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
While we appreciate you sharing your kind description about the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, we truly regret if any noises disturbed your rest. Understandably, you were frustrated at this time and we wish we could have had the opportunity to address this concern during your visit. We hope you'll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to provide you with the peaceful stay you deserve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rooms are basic quality; top floor concierge room initially provided would be much better if it had a balcony instead of a window that faced the lovely river view but could not even be opened...not great in the way of amenities or service; especially since I identified myself as a Starwood Preferred Member at the PLATINUM LEVEL. Took several days/attempts to get moved to a quieter room, and it finally did not happen until the last night of my stay. Still, in general this is a nice hotel with very comfortable beds, great location and lovely bath amenities (the loofah bath puffs in the bathroom are an excellent added plus with nice bath gel provided as well). I would still recommend giving it a try, especially compared with other hotels in the area. Great concierge level lounge breakfast if access is provided on 10th floor.

Room Tip: Very thin walls, especially with adjoining rooms; try for one of the secluded rooms on the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. As a SPG Platinum member, we truly regret any inconveniences that you experienced with your accommodations and apologize for the length of time it took to relocate you. While it's disappointing that you weren't fully satisfied with all areas of your stay, we're glad that you enjoyed our extra amenities in our bathroom and truly appreciate your recommendation. Since more than half of our rooms and suites feature a private balcony, we hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to provide you with the perfect accommodations for next time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Address: 777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.