We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean; great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #16 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Southwest Virginia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean; great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Sheraton at Norfolk's Waterside is an ideal location for restaurants, shopping and business. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, but the parking is awful. The parking garage (for self-parking at $13 per day) is about a block away (in the Dominion Tower Parking Garage) and the parking spaces are only large enough for a small economy car. Parking and getting out of a SUV or minivan is almost impossible unless you can find 2 spaces together. It is also dark and uninviting for a single female arriving at night. If you are a female traveling alone, stick with valet parking… even though it is $22 per day. The hotel restaurant offers great food (I recommended the crab cake- it was delicious!) and a wonderful view of the harbor. My only concern with this hotel is the lousy service at the front desk. First of all, the front desk staff were not very friendly when I checked in (it was almost as if they were just smiling because they had to). Then, twice in one evening (at 2 separate times), the front desk clerk gave two of my colleagues the same room (# 952)... which was already occupied by someone else! The first colleague checked in around 4:30 pm, and found a man in the shower when she entered the room (a very uncomfortable situation for both of them)! The second colleague checked in around 6:30 pm, and was given the same (wrong) room, # 952… luckily the man was not in the shower this time! Apparently the front desk clerks were not paying attention when the first person was given the wrong room (and it was the same clerk both times). So, be sure to use the latch on your door so no one else can enter your room! The manager did give one of my colleagues a free room and complimentary breakfast. The other colleague rec’d a different room (not free) and complimentary breakfast as well (I don’t know if the man in room 952 was offered any consolation for his inconvenience). Overall, I do recommend this hotel because it is very clean and comfortable, and in a great location. Just beware of your safety in your room and in the parking garage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, and the waterfront view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your impressions of your stay though we sincerely regret any inconveniences with our parking service. The safety of our guests is always our primary concern and while we can assure you that our hotel security works around the clock to ensure a safe environment for our guests, valet parking is always an available option. For any inconveniences, we truly apologize. It's disappointing that your experience with us was not reflective of the high standards of customer service that we've set and your review will be immediately passed along to the appropriate departments. We greatly appreciate you sharing your experience at our City Dock Restaurant and we're certain our chef will be delighted to know that you've recommended the crab cakes! Thank you for your detailed review and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    132
    121
    72
    67
See reviews for
94
101
39
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel every time we are in Norfolk
There has always been a history of terrible service at the bellman and valet
Management shows complete disregard for this problem and this visit it was worse than ever
Make a decision ...either offer bell and valet service and manage it properly or change the flag to Motel 6
We will never come back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
It is truly disappointing to read about your recent experience with us. This doesn't reflect the high standards of customer service that we've set and your review will be passed along to the appropriate departments. We highly value the feedback that we receive and as a loyal guest to our hotel, we hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to fully impress you in all areas. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Went with women's ministry from church to do the Spirit of Norfolk. Hotel was perfectly located for this and had great resturants nearby. Didn't like that it was pet friendly as I have allergies. (I didn't book this hotel.) There was cat hair on the chair in my room so I couldn't sit there. Was especially displeased when someone's dog escaped their room to run the hall. Loved the valet parking - worth the cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
While it was our pleasure to accommodate you after your Spirit of Norfolk cruise, we truly regret to learn of the inconveniences you encountered with your accommodations. Though our hotel is pet-friendly, we want each and every one of our guests to experience a comfortable stay and wish we had the chance to address these concerns with you at the time of your visit. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and can assure you that the head of our housekeeping staff will be looking over this review. Thank you for sharing and we hope that we get another opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Bluff, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you're visiting the Norfolk Waterside are this is the perfect place to stay. The rooms are large, comfortable, clean, and secure. The atmosphere is quiet and peaceful. Access to Waterside is so convenient, everything you want to do is within walking distance. I absolutely loved this place!

Room Tip: The corner suites are large and sunny, two walls of the room are windowed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
It's wonderful to read how much you loved your time at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. Learning that you consider us to be the perfect place to stay in the area is one of the best compliments we can receive. We're truly grateful that you've taken the time to share your recent experience and the next time you visit Norfolk, we hope you'll stay with us again. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I got a great night sleep on this one night visit.. The comfortable bed impressed me the most. The room was very clean and quiet. Unfortunately the two bottles of water that are provided in the room have a $2.50 fee. It's sad that something that only costs them $.12 can't be provided. They do have high-speed Internet and charge for it, but it's only wired there's no Wi-Fi available, however I carry a small pocket router which I highly recommend. For me it's about a good nights sleep, so a good bed and lots of comfortable pillows is important. Therefor I would recommend this hotel. Have a great stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that a good night's sleep is essential for our guests which is why we couldn't be happier to read that you were most impressed with our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. We regret any inconveniences with our charge for bottled water. Since it's always our intention for our guests to receive the most out of their stay, your feedback will be taken into consideration for the future. Keep in mind that complimentary Wi-Fi is available in our lobby's Link@Sheraton. Your recommendation is truly appreciated and we hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back for another comfortable stay at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there twice in one month for business. Nice location on the water to see navy ship. The bathtub had not been more than rinsed out in a while. White bedding looked comfortable but the matresses were not at all. Need to be replaced. No free wifi. Both times ordered an omelette for breakfast room service. 2 different omelettes same artificial eggs. Tasted terrible. I would never stay @ this hotel for a vacation. As I said, I was there on business.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Though we are grateful that you've shared your recent business experience with us, we can't help but feel saddened that your stay didn't reflect the high standards we've set. Your feedback is more than appreciated, as it will give us the chance to make the necessary improvements for our future guests. We'd like to mention that complimentary Wi-Fi is available in our lobby's Link@Sheraton. We truly regret that you were not pleased with our breakfast room service and hope you'll give us another opportunity to welcome you back to provide you with the 5-star stay we know we are capable of. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bloomfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our SGMP Convention was in Norfolk and this was one of the hotels we stayed at. It was very nice and really close to the river. I took my daughter with me and there was plenty to go do and see. The battleship Wisconsin is only a couple of blocks away. It is huge and really a lot of history there. The hotel was clean and we had no complaints at all. A really great place to stay while in Norfolk.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your stay at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. We're glad to read that you and your daughter had a great time exploring the attractions in the area, as the battleship Wisconsin is certainly a must-see! We hope that you'll get another opportunity to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Address: 777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.