We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #16 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Chesterfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very nice overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this property for 2 nights as part of a business group. We ate several meals there and used a number of meeting rooms.

Pros:
Front desk and banquet service were great.
Banquet food was really good! A notch above what I've experienced at other hotel-based meetings.
Close proximity to local attractions such as bars, restaurants, shopping and museums.
Starbucks coffee in the room and in banquet areas.
Bed and pillows were comfortable.
Flatscreen TV in the room.

Cons:
A few dings on furniture and walls in the room.
I like it cool but some of the meeting rooms were cold at times.

Very positive experience overall!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
We are pleased that you received an overall positive experience during your business trip and your comments regarding our banquet service are sincerely appreciated. We regret that your guest room's appearance was not at its best during your stay and can assure you that your comments will be shared with our maintenance crew. We want our guests to enjoy a comfortable experience with us and regret that we did not have the opportunity to adjust the temperature for you in our meeting rooms. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and whether staying for business or pleasure, we hope that we get the chance to welcome you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    134
    118
    71
    68
See reviews for
92
99
38
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Conway, Arkansas
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Rooms have had an upgrade, Big flat screen, nice toiletries,new single cup coffee maker, new bedding was nice. I had a wonderful view, nice room, nice rest. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
With our location right on the water, the views certainly can be the highlight to any trip! As you mentioned, we have recently received an exciting upgrade, which expanded our property and brought a fresh look to our guest rooms, and we greatly appreciate you mentioning our amenities that can be found within our rooms. Thank you for sharing your review and we hope that we get the pleasure to welcome you back to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

The only thing good I can say about this hotel is that I got it cheap on Priceline. The rooms are very small by today's standards. The decor is bland, and the rooms feel dark and cramped. Soundproofing is poor.

Evidently, the hotel has undergone a major renovation. Whatever they did still didn't bring the property up to the expections of most business travelers. Starting with no Wi-Fi in the rooms. What hotel in 2012 has no in room Wi-Fi? The excuse is that guests can use the Wi-Fi in the lobby. So? That arrangement hasn't been acceptable since the early 2000s. Your average no-tell motel has in room WiFi these days. Major fail.

I was not impressed by the service either. The front desk staff was distracted and poorly trained.

I'm not a TripAdvisor troll who delights in slamming every hotel I visit. Most of my reviews are positive. But the Sheraton Waterfront was the most disappointing hotel stay I've experienced in a LONG time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
It is never our intention for our business travelers and valued guests to receive anything less than a pleasant stay in all areas and we sincerely regret any inconveniences during your visit. We will be certain to share your feedback with our entire staff to re-emphasize the high standards of customer service that we have set. Since we are continuously looking for ways to improve for our guests, we are happy to announce that we are currently in the process of installing wireless Internet throughout the hotel. As you mentioned, we have recently experienced exciting changes to the property, which included new decor, upgraded lighting and stylish furnishings, and while we can appreciate that this may not be everyone's taste, we hope that we someday get the opportunity to welcome you back again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Great Location - within walking distance of local attractions and restaurants. Smaller size rooms.

Room Tip: ask for water view - upper floor -
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
With shopping and dining located close by, a stroll to the local attractions sounds wonderful! To ensure that our guests receive a comfortable stay, we offer a variety of room types for our guests to enjoy. From our City or Harbor View Rooms to our spacious Suites, we are certain that our staff could find you the perfect accommodations for your next stay. Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The Sheraton is top notch. Business center, gym, restaurant and comfortable/clean rooms. Sits on the Elizabeth River, walking trails, mall nearby, Nautical Museum, etc.

Room Tip: A view of the River is nice, sun comes in in the evening. I've also had a room facing the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
As downtown Norfolk’s only waterfront hotel, our location not only offers beautiful views, but puts you in the heart of all the great attractions, shopping and dining nearby. With so much to see and explore, we appreciate the time you’ve taken to share some of the highlights this area has to offer. Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel once again and we hope we get the chance to welcome you back for another stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

For two years straight, my husband and I would stay at Waterside and enjoy the New Year's Eve cruise on the Spirit of Norfolk. Well this year one of the valet parking attendants vomitted on my jacket that was lying on my back seat,balled it up and left it there. When we noticed the next morning and notified a parking supervisor,he suggested maybe my jacket fell out of the car onto someone else's puke. I kindly asked "Why would anyone need to be in my back seat to park my car 50 feet away?" They assured me it would be cleaned and sent to my home. It's now March and still no jacket. I called yesterday and no one seems to know anything. this is a really nice hotel just don't expect much from the staff. Needless to say this is the last trip to Waterside for us!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for reaching out to us once again, although we truly regret the length of time that has passed since this incident first occurred. The frustration that you must have felt during this time is understandable, and for that we apologize.

Your jacket was shipped that same week, and we then confirmed with you that your belonging was on its way. We couldn’t have been more disappointed to learn months later that your jacket did not arrive as we had hoped. We’re glad that we recently had the opportunity to connect with you to find a resolution and appreciate your patience and understanding.

We will use this opportunity to strengthen our commitment to avoid future similar circumstances, but we are saddened that we may have lost the opportunity to welcome you back. We hope we have the opportunity to make it up to you in the future and would be honored if you chose to stay with us again at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had a prepaid net rate of $129 for a Friday night, had we paid more I would have been disappointed. Location is good on the waterfront, view is facing a working hardbor and not that scenic. Within walking distance of MacArthur complex and waterside shops and a few chain restaurants (OutBack & Hooters). Rooms are okay, could use some updating. Beds comfortable with the new Starwood bedding. We had access to the Club Lounge. The gentleman staffing on Friday night was very helpful and nice. The food selection was okay (chips, dip, cheese slices, zucchini slices) but overall the items had been setting out way too long. The pretzels were stale, cheese no longer cool or the zucchini. Cocktails/Beer/Wine $4 which is a decent price over the bar prices in the lobby. Breakfast in the Club Lounge was okay, dry cereal, sticky oatmeal, Jimmy Dean type egg mcmuffins, stale pastries and bagels. Fresh fruit was excellent, yogurt selections good and very good coffee. Over the course of my two visits to the Lounge, I encountered way too many dirty dishes/silverware. I am not sure if the Lounge staff is required to do the dishes but it appeared the dishes had not been run through a dishwasher. I would recommend self parking for $8, valet parking was very slow (hotel was crowded). Front desk staff very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
It sounds like you really enjoyed the most out of our location and your detailed review about the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is greatly appreciated. Our newly renovated look features new decor, upgraded lighting and furnishings, which include the 2nd generation Sweet Sleeper Beds. We regret that your impression of our Club Lounge was not more positive and your comments will be shared with our staff, as we find this appearance to be unacceptable for our guests. Thank you for your recommendation and kind words about our staff and we hope we get the pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Address: 777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.