We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the lobby deceive you...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502-1813 (Formerly Hilton Norfolk Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Package
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Norfolk, United States
1 review
“Don't let the lobby deceive you...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The communal spaces and staff at the front desk were very kind and welcoming. My only complaints are in regards to the state of the rooms and the maid service. I am unsure if the maids are told to do this, but after 2 days of being snowed in, working from my room, the maid did not replenish anything besides my towels the next day. This left my toiletries and my coffee bar severely depleted for the next day. Turning over a room the day before a guest leaves seems counterproductive if they only have one day left. The hotel may just be old, but the room itself seems to be in disarray; mostly in the bathrooms. My bathroom had a leaking shower-head, a broken light, paint damage on the ceiling, and tarnished metal everywhere. There were also hairs in the shower and my towels, making me think that some items might not have been turned over since the last guest. I was thoroughly disappointed based on my expectations for Hiltons, but for the price I guess you can't expect much!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    58
    38
    26
    9
See reviews for
45
26
8
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our plane was diverted from Baltimore to Norfolk due to snow/ice on the runway. There was a large group of us who needed to stay at hotels overnight. Many of us chose the Hilton Doubltree near the airport. All of us had a horrible and long day, and the hotel gave us just the experience we needed. They provided quick and efficient shuttle service to the hotel. Although there was a long line waiting to register when we got there (due to all the people stranded at the airport that night), they gave each of us a large cookie and a bottle of water while we were waiting. I was so thirsty and needed that water. The registration went quickly and efficiently even with the long line. The room was clean and nice. The next morning, the shuttle driver said he was not supposed to make another run and we would need to wait for the next shuttle, but when he saw how many of us were waiting, he agreed to make one more trip and take us to the airport. All in all, this was a wonderful experience after being diverted and stranded at Norfolk.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just left after a one night stay. Staff was kind and helpful. Room was clean and modern. Bed was comfortable. Towels were new and fluffy. In room coffee was provided. Water pressure was good. Cookie at check in was a delicious surprise. We did not eat at the property or use any of the amenities so I can't comment on that.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A sincere thank you to all the staff that assisted in putting our son's wedding on at the last moment. With bad weather and a cancelled venue, we asked the hotel if they would be able to host the wedding. In 5 hours they set up a ballroom fro the ceremony and another ballroom for the reception, catering for 90 people. The hotel Mgr, Lee was so helpful and the catering leads, Adel and Montrell did an absolutely phenomenal job. I have stayed at Hilton properties for years with good service but what the folks did for us here inspite of the Feb 17 snowstorm was above and beyond. We will never forget your dedication for serving the customer (and turning what would have been a bad day for our son and daughter-in-law into a magical one).

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A HUGE thanks to the Doubletree staff who were able to heroically pull together and host our son's wedding at a moment's notice! Due to the snow our original venue cancelled and we were faced with a huge dilemma with many guests who had traveled to attend. Not only did the staff create a beautiful atmosphere for the ceremony with a lighted trellis and private room, but they set up tables & a reception room that was fantastic! The food was absolutely delicious & eveyone had an amazing time! To top it off, the General Manager, Lee, arranged a honeymoon suite for the Bride & Groom! We also want to thank Adel and Montrell who were the ultimate in customer service!! We cannot thank you all enough!!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finksburg, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No INTERNET- Technician couldn't fix as they have had always had this problem. If you are a business person like myself, and you constantly want to go to the lobby to use the internet, then this hotel is not for you. Don't use this hotel for business!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Front Desk staff and the restaurant staff were excellent! The hotel was clean and recently remodeled. The location is convenient. Close to the airport. The meeting space was nice. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport

Address: 1500 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502-1813 (Formerly Hilton Norfolk Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport. Located in the heart of Hampton Roads, this DoubleTree property features complimentary shuttle service to and from Norfolk International Airport. This hotel’s prime location off I-64 offers guests easy access to local attractions from the Norfolk Naval Base to the Virginia Beach oceanfront.Our newly renovated hotel features all of the comforts you expect with DoubleTree. Indulge in our signature DoubleTree cookie when you arrive, make yourself at home in one of our comfortable, stylish guest rooms, check emails with the complimentary WiFi, and settle in for a great night’s rest in our Sweet Dreams bedding. Enjoy the convenience of being just a quick drive from major military installations including Norfolk Naval Base, Little Creek Amphibious Base, and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. In addition, our corporate partners nearby include CMA CGM, Zim American Shipping, Wellpoint, Virginia Oncology, and Sentara Norfolk General Hospital.Visit our onsite restaurant, Max & Erma’s for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Or opt to order room service and dine in the comfort of your own guestroom. If you are looking for a site to host your next meeting or social event, consider the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport. Our elegant banquet space can accommodate up to 300 guests in the Commonwealth Ballroom or 120 guests for a more intimate setting in the Willoughby Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk
Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
Norfolk Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.