We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502-1813 (Formerly Hilton Norfolk Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Franklin, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

They say this place is under renovation but it was not evident. My first problem was I tried to print my boarding passes in the lobby computers. They're running Windows XP (obsolete) and didn't have the required plug ins. The leg of the ottoman in my room fell off when I moved it. THe towel rack in the shower was covered in rust. The caulking had mildew stains and had cracks and missing pieces. My room was on the Hilton Honors floor, reserved for their best customers. The restaurant, Max and Erma's has the worst food. You are forced to check out at the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    48
    37
    24
    8
See reviews for
42
22
8
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was there for three days on business. This is an excellent place to stay. The staff was wonderful, courteous and helpful. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. I had everything I needed. The restaurant food was great as were the servers, but the food was little pricey.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Heights, OH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at this property for three nights in November, 2014. Really have no complaints about the room or amenities. Staff was gracious and helpful. Traffic noise in the hallway was loud because of a youth soccer tournament that was in town the same weekend, but it quieted down later in the evening. Really convenient to the airport and major highways. Generally, a good stay with no complaints. Nothing spectacular, but nothing bad, either.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The first room I was given was not clean and the room furnishings were in poor condition. The room they moved me to had up to stand room furnishings but there was hair in several areas of the bathroom; it was a long day of travel, late and I had to be up early the next morning so I got my clorox wirpes and cleaned it myself. I went to breakfast in the restaurant, was seated at a dirty table of wich I whipped out my clorox wipes and descretely cleaned, ordered hot tea and the hot water for my tea was served in a lipstick stained mug. Being on a business trip I need to be able to work in the evenings from my room, they advertise ethernet internet access but this is not true.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I travel for work every week for 4-5 nights and have stayed in a number of hotels in the Norfolk/Virginia Beach area. This was the absolute worse hotel experience I've ever had. I stayed here in July 2014 and had to switch between 3 different rooms all in the course of ONE night. Upon check in, I noticed there was a dead cockroach on my carpet underneath the dresser. I didn't think too much of it and kept my room. However, upon entering my room during the 3rd night, I found a live cockroach scuttering on my bedspread (picture attached). Startled and disgusted, I immediately packed my bags and went down to the front desk to change rooms. I told the lady at the hotel desk about the bug and its traversing over my bed and she replied while laughing sarcastically, "A cockroach! And you hear that (as she nudged her coworker) it's scuttling!" She offered no apology as she assigned me to a room on the 1st floor. I did a quick sweep of this new room to ensure that it was cockroach-free and then settled into bed. Right as I'm about to turn the lights off, I notice a small ant crawling onto my bed from the headboard. Then after further examination, I noticed 4 more ants crawling on my pillows. Fed up, I packed my bags once more and headed back to the front desk. The lady at the front desk assigned me then assigned me a 3rd room and while doing so, she finally apologized with the excuse that the hotel had undergone a recent renovation and the bug problem was something they could not fix. I spent the rest of my visit in the 3rd room which had no apparent instances of visible bugs crawling around. But I've never been back since as even the hotel staff acknowledged the bug problem and took no action to resolve the issue. Nor did they ever attempt to mollify the problem through a discount/refund or even points.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DellE1992, Executive Assistant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for the review of our hotel from your stay in July 2014, we apologize for the challenges you experienced during your visit. The issues mentioned in your review were quickly resolved and are not indicative of our usual high level of product and service. We take great pride in providing a clean and welcoming hotel. We appreciate all guest feedback and hope you will afford us another opportunity to provide you the product and service you deserve and expect.

Sincerely,

E. Dellinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice all the way around. Entrance walls could use updating. Wall Paper peeling in the upper part of the Lobby and a not so great food quality from the Max and Ermas are the only negatives. Stayed with a pet and had no issues at all. Friendly and helpful staff. Good beds.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DellE1992, Executive Assistant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. Your comments regarding the restaurant and lobby wallpaper have been shared with the Department Heads responsible for those areas. We look forward to the opportunity to be of service in the future.

Sincerely,

E. Dellinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel was below par for Double Tree. The door to my room was barely hanging on its hinges and would not shut properly. I didn't bother to change rooms though, because it seemed every room on my floor had the same issue. The cleaning staff didn't bother to clean my room the day before I checked out. I could hear every TV show my neighbors watched and every conversation they had. Lastly, the gym, which is why I chose to stay at this particular hotel in the first place, was absolutely filthy. I will not consider this hotel an option when I return to the area and I will seriously reconsider staying at any Double Tree in the future.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DellE1992, Executive Assistant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry for the issues with your room during your stay. We will be discussing your comments in our next Quality Assurance Meeting, as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

E. Dellinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport

Address: 1500 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502-1813 (Formerly Hilton Norfolk Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport. Located in the heart of Hampton Roads, this DoubleTree property features complimentary shuttle service to and from Norfolk International Airport. This hotel’s prime location off I-64 offers guests easy access to local attractions from the Norfolk Naval Base to the Virginia Beach oceanfront.Our newly renovated hotel features all of the comforts you expect with DoubleTree. Indulge in our signature DoubleTree cookie when you arrive, make yourself at home in one of our comfortable, stylish guest rooms, check emails with the complimentary WiFi, and settle in for a great night’s rest in our Sweet Dreams bedding. Enjoy the convenience of being just a quick drive from major military installations including Norfolk Naval Base, Little Creek Amphibious Base, and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. In addition, our corporate partners nearby include CMA CGM, Zim American Shipping, Wellpoint, Virginia Oncology, and Sentara Norfolk General Hospital.Visit our onsite restaurant, Max & Erma’s for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Or opt to order room service and dine in the comfort of your own guestroom. If you are looking for a site to host your next meeting or social event, consider the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport. Our elegant banquet space can accommodate up to 300 guests in the Commonwealth Ballroom or 120 guests for a more intimate setting in the Willoughby Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk
Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
Norfolk Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.