We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and very nice price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502-1813 (Formerly Hilton Norfolk Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Package
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice and very nice price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the DoubleTree hotel in Norfolk Va. Rooms were clean and comfortable. For the traveler with pets great hotel. For a traveler with allergies you may want to think twice about staying and not because of the pets.. The bedding .. Down pillows and duvet. Next time I will know to ask if their bedding is non- allergenic... My allergies kicked into over drive when we tried to sleep. The tags on the pillows or duvet did not specify if nonallergenic.

Staff were very friendly and so accommodating. I was able to check in early. Anytime I passed a hotel staff they always said hello.

The indoor pool and hot tub were nice. The outside pool could use maintenance. Water level too low and filter never ran. And the hotel could brighten up the landscape outside of the indoor pool. Very drab.
The pros out weighed the con's on this stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    50
    37
    24
    8
See reviews for
42
22
8
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I've stayed here many times, as I'm from the area and it a very convenient hotel to the interstate, but...I've told my husband its no longer worth us burning our free Hilton Points here. The last time we stayed (August 10 2014) in had a toilet that was loose, a missing smoke detector, and a tub that wasn't properly fitted. One positive is that the pillows were wonderful and I've even ordered some for our home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the hotel and preferably on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeS680, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for letting me know of these issues! We pride ourselves on continually improving the product and the service levels at the Doubletree Norfolk. I have a brand new Chief Engineer and he is focused on a superior product. Please let me know the next time that you are in town and I will make sure that you have a room that exceeds your expectations!

Sincerely,

Lee Severino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I would like to start by saying this has nothing to do with the staff. They are all helpful and inviting. This starts with the king size room we got at 109 a night. Room is way too small, bathrooms have rust in tub, unfinished walls, too small. The elevators sound like they are going to crash on you. I can hear my neighbors, and their dogs who didn't stop barking for what seemed like hours. I am very disappointed with my experience. I will never stay at a doubletree again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeS680, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
I am glad that the Staff at the Doubletree were helpful and inviting! If you would consider trying us again in the future I will ensure that you are located in a room that is away from the elevators and on our Honors floor. Please reach out to me directly the next time that you visit Norfolk.

Sincerely,

Lee Severino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Im really not one to blast anyone, I had the worst" hotel event at this hotel I've ever experienced in my life!!! July 25, 2014, my family and I checked into this hotel, came to the area for a weekend of fun at Va. Beach! My daughter saw a cock roach in the bathroom. We reported it, but the staff didnt seemed to surprised at all!, Later, we saw a even larger Cock Roach crawing on the bed bottom mattress...This is nasty!!! and should not be at a hotel chain bearing such hight standard....We immediately checked out at 2 AM, inconvienced and looking for somewhere else to stay that time of the morning! Our efforts were unsuccessful, therefore, we began the long drive back to the Maryland area...

I would Not recommend this hotel to Anyone, infact it should be closed and cleaned top to bottom!! It is old,dusty ,and very dirty!!! Upon our arrival, walking through the halls we could smell bug spray!!! a sign to me they know of this infestation problem.!!!! clean it up! as the health inspector would say or shut down.the staff needs to be trained to run the desk in a professional manner!! this hotel is not fit to house guest on any level....

Room Tip: Higher floors have less a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeS680, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments! Unfortunately Norfolk was hit by a series of flooding rains that created this situation. We have ensured that the building is free and clear. Please contact me directly the next time that you are in town and I will ensure you have a great stay!

Lee Severino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

First the good; impressive lobby, comfortable bed, great bar and exceptional bartender. Great breakfast. Now the not so good; no luggage carts available either at check-in or again in the morning. The bathroom was so small while there was a huge amount of wasted space in the room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Excellent amenities for price. For business travel I have spent a lot more for much less elsewhere. Easy access to surrounding areas. Room was well appointed and clean.

Front desk was excellent. Loved the warm cookie when I arrived !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

What a pleasant surprise we received upon arriving in the lobby. This hotel is is super great conditions. Bright hallways, clean rooms, pet friendly, and attentive service. The lobby manager was engaging with people as they arrived on Saturday evening. The hotel restaurant made a meal easy after our long drive.

Thank you DoubleTree!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport

Address: 1500 North Military Highway, Norfolk, VA 23502-1813 (Formerly Hilton Norfolk Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport. Located in the heart of Hampton Roads, this DoubleTree property features complimentary shuttle service to and from Norfolk International Airport. This hotel’s prime location off I-64 offers guests easy access to local attractions from the Norfolk Naval Base to the Virginia Beach oceanfront.Our newly renovated hotel features all of the comforts you expect with DoubleTree. Indulge in our signature DoubleTree cookie when you arrive, make yourself at home in one of our comfortable, stylish guest rooms, check emails with the complimentary WiFi, and settle in for a great night’s rest in our Sweet Dreams bedding. Enjoy the convenience of being just a quick drive from major military installations including Norfolk Naval Base, Little Creek Amphibious Base, and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. In addition, our corporate partners nearby include CMA CGM, Zim American Shipping, Wellpoint, Virginia Oncology, and Sentara Norfolk General Hospital.Visit our onsite restaurant, Max & Erma’s for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Or opt to order room service and dine in the comfort of your own guestroom. If you are looking for a site to host your next meeting or social event, consider the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport. Our elegant banquet space can accommodate up to 300 guests in the Commonwealth Ballroom or 120 guests for a more intimate setting in the Willoughby Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk
Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
Norfolk Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.