We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 visits and finally a review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Lake Wright

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn Lake Wright to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sleep Inn Lake Wright
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6280 Northampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Moneta, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“6 visits and finally a review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Every September since 2008 I’ve stayed at this hotel as part of a Navy reunion group. Everything has always been fine, but I’ve never written a review until now. The rooms are clean and comfortable. WiFi is fast and reliable and the included hot breakfast contains all items anyone could want. When all tables were full at breakfast, guests were directed to an alternate area in the lobby and then to a meeting room. There’s a nice indoor pool and a small fitness room.
However, sometimes things go wrong and one measure of a hotel is how the problems are handled. In the middle of the night my bathroom floor was being flooded by water flowing through the light fixture in the ceiling. I notified reception. They apologized, moved me to another room and did not charge me for the night.
The next morning as I made coffee in the room I noticed the desk was wet. There was a crack in the reservoir and the water was leaking out. Another call to reception referred me to the coffee available in the lobby while they secured a new coffee pot for me.
That afternoon I returned to my room to discover that the toilet wouldn’t flush. I was beginning to think I was jinxed. After all, it was Friday 13th, but none of my reunion mates were having any problems at all.
Maintenance fixed the toilet problem quickly and there were no other problems after that. While it may seem odd to see an excellent review that lists a series of problems, I was pleased with the speed with which the problems were resolved. My final bill included a charge for the room safe. This charge was removed when I mentioned that I didn’t use it or even realize it was there.
Sometimes stuff happens and the response of the staff makes all the difference in how the hotel is perceived. Good job!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and for staying with us. It does sound like Friday the 13th.
However, I am glad to hear that our staff responded quickly to your needs and you enjoyed your visit. Again, thanks and we look forward to seeing you again next year, not on Friday the 13th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    35
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
20
22
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My teenage son and I were looking for an inexpensive place to stay the night after a concert at the Farm Bureau Live arena. This hotel was is about 15 minutes from the arena. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was small but clean and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us.We appreciate you taking the time to comment and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The rooms were clean and smelled good and the staff were all nice. But, We stayed on the first floor and boy was I ready to leave the next day. The walls were thin & a lot of people were in & out of there rooms in the hall being extremely loud. I would probably consider staying there again if they had security to sweep the halls & assure everyone gets a good nights rest. I wondered if it would've been more quite on the other floors but we needed a non smoking room. At check in we received free breakfast tickets for the next morning but I was so ready to get outa there, that we just passed on that & went to IHOP.

Room Tip: If you want a peaceful nights sleep...Maybe a room on the upper floors or at the end of the hall far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments we appreciate you taking the time. We apologize your stay was disrupted by noise in the hotel. While that can be a problem from time to time, especially on the last summer weekend, it is not always the case. We hope you will give us another chance to be you hosts. Perhaps you will be able to take advantage of our full hot breakfast this time. Thanks again for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've stayed here twice. The rooms are average. The room on the third floor was a little worse. The entire hallway smelled of smoke. There may have been smoking at the other end of the wing. I just don't understand why you have smoking and non-smoking rooms on the same floor. If that's not the case, someone smoked in the hall. It was really strong. I asked for an extension of an hour until noon. It was given. Cleaning people came pounding on my door at 11:15 asking if I was checking out or not. The breakfast is shared with the Quality Inn so it was packed. I was unable to get a seat.

Room Tip: Go to breakfast early or you won't get a seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you taking the time to comment on your stay. We apologize that someone was smoking in your area, this has been a problem from time to time that sometimes can we stop but we can't catch them all unfortunately. Yes, the free hot breakfast is very popular and timing is everything. On weekends we open an additional seat area but during the week it is all about timing. This is an issue that is always under review and we appreciate your feed back. Thanks for staying with us we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A really nice hotel with helpful and smiley staff. The rooms are spacious enough and clean. Very well maintained and everything was working. There is also a restaurant downstairs where you can eat if you like and the food is not bad. The waitress are really friendly and nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us. We appreciate you taking time to comment on your stay. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a good choice for an overnight stay near the airport. The staff is very friendly and efficient, the room clean with all the essentials, the breakfast buffet was good. We had dinner in the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of food/price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments we appreciate your patronage. We apologize for the road work at our entrance, as with most things like that we are at the mercy of the city and their contractors.
Thanks for your support, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times in the past, but it has been a while since our last visit. I find they have made a few improvements since our last time there. The rooms seemed cleaner. I was welcomed as a Choice Privilege Platinum member with 2 bottles of water and 2 bags of potato chips (nice gesture). The have a very nice breakfast buffet set up, but it was so crowded (including the overflow room), that I had to bring my food back to the room.

There is no shopping or places to eat within a reasonable walking distance from the hotel, so the restaurant in the hotel is an option for eating. There is much road construction going on outside the hotel. The entrance has changed since our last trip. You are now taken along a wide loop (beside the golf course) just to get to the room. The driveway is bumpy and had potholes.

All-in-all it is a pleasant place to stay, with reasonable rates (considering the season).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you noted breakfast is very busy, especially on the weekend. We do open addition seating but that doesn't always solve the problem when 400 people all decide to eat at the same time. Sometimes the only fix is patience. Thank you for yours. The new entry the city created is still a work in progress that we hope will finish soon. Again thanks for the kind words, we hope to see you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn Lake Wright? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Lake Wright

Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Lake Wright Hotel
Sleep Inn Lake Wright Hotel Norfolk
Sleep Inn Norfolk
Lake Wright Sleep Inn
Norfolk Sleep Inn
Address: 6280 Northampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23502
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Lake Wright 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn Lake Wright reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Lake Wright, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.