We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, Shady, and Rough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Lake Wright

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn Lake Wright to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn Lake Wright
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6280 Northampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Grayson, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Noisy, Shady, and Rough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Upon check-in, the hotel clerk asks why none of the king bed rooms are clean; that's terrible because WE had a king bed room! But she checks us in anyway and hopes for the best. Luckily, that worked itself out. There were creepy people in the hallway on the first floor, so taking an elevator to the second floor was scary. Upon our arrival to the room, I check for bed bugs. Luckily, there was none. We left and ate dinner, then came back to the same creepy people walking in the halls. Then, I tried to fall asleep that night, but we heard the hispanic couple next door talking in their normal inside voices, so the walls were paper thin. We got the heck out of there the next morning to drive 8 hours back home.

The only way this hotel is comfortable and enjoyable is if you were the only ones on the floor. I read these reviews before booking, and I don't thinking anyone is being truthful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We are truly sorry that you found our other guests creepy. You can't control everything. We think the reviews are clear. We have faults, we work to fix them. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    40
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
24
22
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Knowing that I was going to be arriving late and leaving fairly early on a recent family trip to the Norfolk area, my primary concern was cost whilst looking for somewhere that served a decent breakfast. On those two factors alone, this Sleep Inn deserves 5 stars. It compares very well with other local hotels at the same price point ($85) and the breakfast is excellent given that it is the usual minimal style buffet lay out - at least equivalent to a Hampton Inn for those of you familiar with that brand.

The rooms were fine but you need to acept that the rooms with two beds are twins, not queens. The beds are not big enough to sleep two adults if you have more than 2 in a room, so expect to be cramped with two in the bed or go with two rooms for 3 or more. My wife's parents had two in a King bed so obviously no problem there.

My biggest beef was the aircon. My son wanted me to turn it off as it was so noisy when it kicked in but August in Virginia is not a good nights sleep without aircon. We left it on and guess what, we were all woken up every hour or so when the aircon came on so the quality of sleep was poor anyway.

This hotel is pretty well run (you can tell by the fact that the manager takes the time to respond to the comments) and good value. Shame about the noisy air conditioining.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with less A/C noise. Another comment said higher floors have less A/C nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you stayed with us. You are correct, when it is in the 90's, the air conditioners do work over time. For those of us who have central air at home it is difficult for some to ignore the unit coming on all night long. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast, it is our full hot buffet that we share with our Quality Suites. Thanks again for you comments, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was a little leery about this place when I read the reviews but all in all it was fine, we only stayed over night but it was comfortable and clean.

You get tickets to enjoy a full breakfast but my boyfriend and I just went out because the lines for the food were very long and we needed to get on the road.

I'd stay again if I am forced to come back to the area :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your comments. We do try to meet all our guests needs. I would guess you were here on a weekend and I must apologize for the breakfast wait. We serve our full breakfast from 7-10am on the weekends, but with no hurry; many, many of our guest wait until 9:30. Weekends at Virginia Beach without lines or waits is norm. We continue to work on ways to accommodate our guests better on a daily basis. We do hope you visit us again, we appreciate you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth city, nc
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We live about 90 minutes away, so trying to catch a 5 am flight to the west coast (or returning at midnight and having to be at work the next day) is practically impossible if we do not stay near the airport. That's why we stay here regularly. The room is always clean and comfortable.

They have a park and fly package, which saves the airport parking fee. Just tell the desk when you check in what time you need the shuttle to the terminal, and they will take you for free. They will pick you up when you return.

The rooms can be small, but not cramped. The free breakfast consists of muffins, bagels, etc, with fruit and yogurt. And I have occasionally been awakened by other guests, but that happens in $300 motels. It is not the Waldorf-Astoria, and it doesn't claim to be. Norfolk is home to the world's largest navy base, so there can be lots of military and their families coming and going. And people stay here in the summer rather than paying twice the rate at Virginia Beach.

Overall, it is a good value for the money, and it is very convenient for our purposes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy C, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and our full hot breakfast usually not found at a Sleep Inn. Join us again, we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrum, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Had a wonderful stay! The hotel was clean, staff extremely pleasant,courteous and professional. Had issues with the room safe not working, reported it and maintenance was quick to repair it. With temperatures in the triple digits my entire stay, on the second day, AC unit was not working properly in my room and again maintenance was called and came up in an appropriate time. The problem was not able to be resolved,and I requested a room change, which was handled swiftly! Thank you!!! I enjoyed the breakfast menu also, food was good! Lenore is wonderful and does an excellent job!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your visit and your kind words. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Arrived around 10 pm, Friday, June 15, 2012 to a busy front desk but the line was quickly handled for easy check-in booked online. The room was compact yet felt spacious. Being pet friendly I was able to take my grand dog who was visiting with me. Everything was clean with nice room amenities including a frig and safe. Plenty of hot water. Pillows fluffy and plentiful. The hot buffet breakfast was a nice surprise with plenty of options for all. We didn't get the chance to try the pool but it was inviting, completely covered. Our time in the hotel was short but we wouldn't hesitate to return. Value for the dollar was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you staying with us, we appreciate your comments and hope to see you agan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Expensive place to stay, had to have my sheets changes once I got there as there was hair on them. Real turn off but no place to go because it was prepaid in advance. Lots of noise in the halls. Place was sold out, coffee room was very dirty, business room was without a/c and the internet did not work. Would not stay there again, probably keep my $100 plus dollars and sleep in the car, would of beena better value expecially with the sheets..

Room Tip: Lots of noise on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sleep Inn Lake Wright, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
We are indeed sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We are glad we were able to fix the problem with your bedding and we did get the Internet, that was knock out by storms, repaired on Saturday. This was a very busy weekend for every hotel near a beach and though we may try we do not always please everyone all the time. Again, thanks for your comments, we learn to do better by them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Lake Wright? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Lake Wright

Address: 6280 Northampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Lake Wright 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn Lake Wright reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Lake Wright Hotel Norfolk
Sleep Inn Norfolk
Lake Wright Sleep Inn
Norfolk Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Lake Wright, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.