We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   865 N. Military Hwy., Norfolk, VA 23502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is one of the best places to stay when visiting norfolk va. The staff is wonderful, friendly and respectful. The place is clean and the rooms smell nice. You are across the street from the mall and there are wonderful sites to see. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    3
    1
    7
See reviews for
7
1
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

During my stay i met the employees they were all respectful, understanding and very nice to all the customers that were staying in at the hotel. My room was always clean when i returned. I would tell anyone to come to this hotel if they needed somewhere to relax and enjoy themselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

my trip began as a solo trip, and a few days later graduated to a family trip. i spent well over 300 dollars going day to day instead of a weekly price. refrigerator didnt work, still got charged for it, tv didnt work very well, no channel list. thugs in the parking lot all day and night, screaming fighting and messing with everyones door knobs. i felt like i needed a gun to exit my room. cops were there constantly, due to people in the parking lot fighting. continental breakfast was toast, and you had to eat in the lobby, toast. when all was said and done, i know its not their responsibility to accommodate me in any way,but my last day there, was payday and i actually wouldve bought another week, because of the location, they,wouldnt allow my family to stay there for an extra couple hours until i got paid. i wouldnt recommend this hotel to someone i hated. good job in opening my eyes econo lodge, ill be traveling alot and i now know to never ever stay in your p.o.s. hotel chain ever again

Room Tip: go next door to the motel 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is so nice, staff,management and room are very nice. Quite decent cleaned also room rate also resonable. I am defiantly go back there. Breakfast area is like you eating your own house. Milk cereals,coffee,juice,toast,muffins,etc. And fresh.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, Netherlands Antilles
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have read both the good and the bad reviews. In general I would say I found the positive ones overly positive and the negative ones overly negative. I recognized some of both. The hotel rooms are decent by themselves. I found the service reasonably friendly, but the so called free breakfast is laughable. There were just white slices of bread with nothing on it and then there was cornflakes. They also had coffee and juice. The hotel has a very weird entrance and you have to watch out what you are doing. The wifi worked fine. The best feature of this motel is their location, right opposite the Military Circle Mall which offers a lot of food options. There is also a movie theatre right oppositve the motel. All in all it`s about as good (or as bad) as you could expect for a motel in this price category.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal P, Manager at Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We will look forward for your future stay.


Sincerely

Vishal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was so happy and my stay wae wonderfull, me and my co partner was driving by and staid at econo lodge on US-13 and stay was excellent. rooms are awesome, breakfast even WI-FI was fast and secure. we staid there before like 2 years ago. and now its awesome. beds are very comfortable too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal P, Manager at Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We will look forward for your future stay.


Sincerely

Vishal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is ok.they could spray more for bugs!!! Shantane is a hotel clerk that works their & her customer service skills are superior to any I have experienced!!! They have more channels than the hotel next to them :) also you can bring pets,that's a good thing.the managers will help no matter what the complaint or problem is they will try to make it right,I like that.they remodeled & the place looks a lot livelier & more colorful.I have been frequenting this hotel for about a year.oh yes the prices are not bad,except when they raise them :( it's pretty quiet around here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal P, Manager at Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We will look forward for your future stay.


Sincerely

Vishal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University

Address: 865 N. Military Hwy., Norfolk, VA 23502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University 1.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Norfolk
Norfolk Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Near Norfolk State University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.